PDA

View Full Version : Dereck



motelknowhow
30-04-2008, 05:37 AM
I have downloaded a copy xxclone but it will not seem to recognise my D:drive although I have formatted it and the disk management software recognises it - have I missed something? have rebooted computer several times - if you can help it will be appreciated - thank you

RandyL
30-04-2008, 06:41 AM
Hi Dereck;
I've never used the software although I have heard of it. I'm sure others know something about it so please be patient for an answer.

AdvancedSetup
30-04-2008, 07:28 AM
Is the D: drive a separate hard drive than the C: or is it just a secondary partition on the C: drive?

Have not use the program myself but similar programs want the destination drive to be another drive, not a partition of the same drive.

motelknowhow
30-04-2008, 07:43 AM
[QUOTE=AdvancedSetup;13332]Is the D: drive a separate hard drive than the C: or is it just a secondary partition on the C: drive?

Have not use the program myself but similar programs want the destination drive to be another drive, not a partition of the same drive.

Thank you for the reply - yes it is a separate slave drive properly partitioned and formated.

Wolfeymole
30-04-2008, 09:41 AM
Did you install the software on D:?
Do so and run it from there and place the cloned image on the D drive

motelknowhow
30-04-2008, 01:20 PM
Thanks for the advice but the D: has no os and the strategy did not work.
Anything else that may be at fault ?
even uninstalled the original from C; and rebooted before installing on D:

Wolfeymole
30-04-2008, 05:23 PM
I think we have crossed wires here Derek.
Install the xxclone .exe program to the D: drive.
When you click install it will seek the OS which is on C: obviously.
Clone the OS and if it allows, copy it or send it to a folder on the D: drive.

JEBWrench
30-04-2008, 05:27 PM
Is the D: drive the same file structure as the C: drive? (FAT or NTFS)?

motelknowhow
30-04-2008, 10:14 PM
yes both are ntfs

motelknowhow
30-04-2008, 10:20 PM
no matter what I seem to do both source drive and target drive remain the same.
should i just get a copy of gjost or something commercial. All I want to do is make a cloned copy of my hard drive which is fully bootable , any other suggestions would be very helpful - thank you again

Seth
30-04-2008, 10:42 PM
Download copying and migrating software for transfering all your data to a new HDD (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/migrateeasy/)

motelknowhow
01-05-2008, 12:01 AM
thank you seth will let you know how it goes.
cold day her in Dunedin but clear and sunny 6 degrees

motelknowhow
01-05-2008, 12:43 PM
yes that worked just fine - thank you very much for your help

Seth
01-05-2008, 06:05 PM
Excellent.

Thank you for the update:)