PDA

View Full Version : Hardware Temps.



DSTM
15-05-2008, 06:16 PM
I ran SIW, and concerned the CPU Temp, on my Desktop, may be too high.
Wondering what is the accepted limit,and if you Guys think too high,what should I do? Thanks.

http://i25.tinypic.com/2hd01nr.png

Wolfeymole
15-05-2008, 06:25 PM
Why did it not list the CPU temps Dougie?

The others are fine.

DSTM
15-05-2008, 06:40 PM
Under Hardware C/F Temp Sensors,That is all that is listed.
Clicked on the rest and nothing related to CPU Temps.
Any other way of checking?Wolfey.Thanks.

Wolfeymole
15-05-2008, 06:45 PM
SIW should have picked it up Dougie.

Try some of these instead.

PC Wizard (http://www.cpuid.com/) can be found at CPUID

Belarc Advisor (http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html)

Everest (http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html) Download from Major Geeks

AIDA32 (http://www.majorgeeks.com/download181.html) Download from Major Geeks

DSTM
15-05-2008, 07:05 PM
CPUID My PC runs 18hrs a day and the longer it goes the lazier it gets.Thats why I wanted to check .How does this look? Thanks.
Information.
http://i30.tinypic.com/mrs4dv.png

Wolfeymole
15-05-2008, 07:07 PM
There's absolutely nothing wrong with them Dougie mate. :)

When's the last time you had the side off to dust it out?

DSTM
15-05-2008, 07:22 PM
About a month ago, I blew everything out with compressed dry air and a soft brush.Full of Cat hair and the fans were pretty choked with dust also.
Did find today the Ram sticks were different speeds so if the temps are ok, I read somewhere they should be matching.I have 2 sticks in total of 768. Upgrade to 1 gig,you think may help?If not,I will look for a new machine.

Wolfeymole
15-05-2008, 07:27 PM
If TMPIN2 is indicating the second slot Dougie then get the correct speed, either one or the other.

DSTM
15-05-2008, 07:35 PM
Thanks so much for that help Wolfey.Much appreciated. One final question, if you don't mind. How do I tell how much Ram this system can handle?

Wolfeymole
15-05-2008, 07:50 PM
Have a look here at Crucial Doug mate.

Memory upgrades, flash media, and usb storage at Crucial.com (http://www.crucial.com/)

DSTM
15-05-2008, 08:13 PM
Run scan.Mother board only has 2 slots. System can take 2048 MB
I have 768mb,so will get 2x1 Gig sticks.Should see an improvement. Thanks Wolfey for sorting this out so fast.

Wolfeymole
15-05-2008, 08:19 PM
No problem mate. :)

Consider informing other quarters that the replies furnished with alacrity are the norm on a proper tech forum.

petef
16-05-2008, 08:09 AM
CPUID My PC runs 18hrs a day and the longer it goes the lazier it gets.Thats why I wanted to check .How does this look? Thanks.
Information.


If you suspect that the computer is running slower over time as
a function of overheating, you could try recording the current
temperatures as your baseline data. Then open the case and
and aim a small household fan into the case while monitoring
the temperatures to ensure the computer is operating at a
lower temperature. If you could get the temps to run 5 to 10
degrees lower than your baseline data, that would be good for
this test. Then see if the computer is running any better over
time. If you see any improvement, the you will know it's a heat
related problem and not something else that is occurring over
a period of time.

---pete---

DSTM
16-05-2008, 06:19 PM
Hi Pete,will do these tests. Bought 2 x 1 GIG DDR 400 sticks of ram today; and put them in.ATechy ages ago left the side off.He said it would run cooler. Will also replace side, and take some readings.Sorry,I was late responding to your Post.

maynardvdm
16-05-2008, 10:51 PM
Hi Pete,will do these tests. Bought 2 x 1 GIG DDR 400 sticks of ram today; and put them in.ATechy ages ago left the side off.He said it would run cooler. Will also replace side, and take some readings.Sorry,I was late responding to your Post.

Having the sides off does NOT make it run cooler. Cases are designed to optimize airflow over vital components. So its better to have the sides on.

DSTM
16-05-2008, 11:20 PM
That's what I was thinking, Maynard.Cases are designed to have the sides on to get max circulation. Latest tests show system within limits but the TMPIN 2 slot is still running at 58c which is a worry.Same before I fitted the new Ram in that slot today.It's in firmly and the 2 white plastic holding clips are in place.Even with the cover on I'm sure it will have no bearing on this 1 slot.Will take another test and put the side on and see any difference.I have plenty of Fans that I have pulled out of huge copiers,so I will pick one with about 3500 and train it on the Mother Board where the Ram Sticks are.
If that makes little difference then I will just have to bear with this till something gives up.Thanks for your advice,much appreciated.

petef
16-05-2008, 11:50 PM
Having the sides off does NOT make it run cooler. Cases are designed to optimize airflow over vital components. So its better to have the sides on.

Yes, it's often true that certain components will run cooler with the
case side in place if the case design is critical. However, it's not
always true and the best way to find out is by actually monitoring
temperatures of key components such as the CPU, and hard drives.
I've actually seen CPUs and HDs run cooler with the case side off,
but it all depends upon the case design.

For what DSTM is trying to do, I'm suggesting that he remove the
side cover and go brute force with a 6" to 8" household fan which
would circulates enough air to dramatically cool the entire PC.
This would help to determine whether he has a heat related problem
as he was originally suspecting. It the cooling the entire PC doesn't
make a difference in performance over a period of time, he will know
to look elsewhere for the problem.

---pete---

maynardvdm
16-05-2008, 11:57 PM
Good point Pete.

I was actually refering to more modern cases that airflow was actually considered unlike some old cases.

Lets see what DSTM says after a few days of monitoring.

petef
16-05-2008, 11:59 PM
I have plenty of Fans that I have pulled out of huge copiers,so I will pick one with about 3500 and train it on the Mother Board where the Ram Sticks are.


With that in mind, you could also aim the fan at other components, such
as the Power Supply (PSU) or the Hard drives to selectively cool different
components and see if the problem goes away. The PSU can also act
flakey if it gets too hot so don't rule that out yet. That's why I suggested
using a large enough fan to cool everything and save a lot of time cooling
individual components.

---pete---

DSTM
17-05-2008, 12:04 AM
Will give all these ideas a try. I have so many fans in the shed,all sizes,but not a household fan,so will try a few combinations.Thanks Guys and will check back when I run all these tests.

DSTM
18-05-2008, 01:01 PM
Update.
Well I tried types of Fan cooling sizes,right up to 40 cm (15") in size and made no difference really.Pulled other side panel off as well.
Cleaned out Tower again with air and a brush.Unclipped CPU fan and heatsink,and found the white thermal paste dry and hard.Cleaned with Metho,bought some new grease and applied.Can't find Tower Side panel as I put it somewhere so I wouldn't lose it.LOL.After 2 tests of 15 odd hours this is the reading now which it is staying around.I just feel better theTMPIN2 is lower than previous,graph I posted.Will not bother to find cover,and put back on, if it stays around these figures.
Thanks Guys, for you help, and I am still amazed, how quick members problems are attended to.Keep up the good work.

http://i29.tinypic.com/1yssqh.png

Wolfeymole
18-05-2008, 01:11 PM
I'll keep my eye's peeled for any suspicious side panels lurking around Dougie :D


Thanks Guys, for you help, and I am still amazed, how quick members problems are attended to.Keep up the good work.

It's because FPCH are professionals Dougie. :)

petef
18-05-2008, 01:50 PM
Update.
Well I tried types of Fan cooling sizes,right up to 40 cm (15") in size and made no difference really. Pulled other side panel off as well.

Cleaned out Tower again with air and a brush.Unclipped CPU fan and heatsink,and found the white thermal paste dry and hard.Cleaned with Metho,bought some new grease and applied.


Good job on applying new heat sink grease.
That 10 degrees decrease in temperature on TMPIN2 (CPU) is substantial.

The big question now is;
Did the combo of fans and new heatsink grease solve your original problem?


I suspect you will not see a great change in temperature by adding
fans unless a particular component is getting excessivley hot.
One way to to get the CPU cooking is to run a scanner program
such as SuperAntiSpyware or AVG for about 10 to 15 minutes.
You should see the CPU tempterature rise significantly during
the scan.

It would be interesting to see you run a scanner program for 15
minutes with all the extra fans going while monitoring TMPIN2 (CPU),
then stop the fans and see how much the temperature increases.

---pete---

DSTM
18-05-2008, 03:29 PM
I ran SAS for 15 mins and these are the figures.I'm happy.
If anyone else thinks they may have a heat problem,by all means, you are welcome to post in this thread.:)

http://i29.tinypic.com/28typtv.png

Wolfeymole
18-05-2008, 03:35 PM
We'd prefer it Doug that if other members do have issues of this sort that they post as a new thread in the Hardware forum.
Thanks though mate. :)

DSTM
18-05-2008, 03:43 PM
No problems Wolfey.Just being friendly so if it did happen,I wouldn't feel as though, it was Hi-Jacking. My issue has been solved, and I understand where your coming from.:)

petef
19-05-2008, 02:04 PM
No problems Wolfey.Just being friendly so if it did happen,I wouldn't feel as though, it was Hi-Jacking. My issue has been solved, and I understand where your coming from.:)

That's good news, but just to claify, in post#5 you mentioned that the
computer was getting "lazier" the longer the computer was on, so I'm
wondering if applying the new heatsink grease which lowered the CPU
temperature by 10 degrees actually solved that problem.

---pete---

DSTM
19-05-2008, 02:26 PM
Hi Pete, All seems more even now.I am not experiencing any change or slowness after a long period,like I was before.Appreciate you staying with this problem I had.Off Topic.The only thing that is annoying me is the slow download time of this site,compared to like sites.I have ADSL2 and 4000+ bs/s so I shouldn't be experiencing this,but something I have to live with.This has been discussed at some lengh but not convinced it's on my end.
Thanks again for everybody's help.

Wolfeymole
19-05-2008, 03:03 PM
Well from what I read Doug it comes down to;

1. Client's connection
2. Server status (then - whether its dedicated/managed or shared environment)
3. Coding (whether its static, dynamic etc...)
4. Other scripts added to the site (external coding)

DSTM
19-05-2008, 03:37 PM
Wolfey,I had this same problem with another site,and complained no end.
Site owner kept saying it's your ISP,nothing on our end.Eventually other members admitted slowness also.He updated his servers and no problems since.Might find your servers are slow. If I can access any number of sites in seconds and FPCH takes 4 times as long,I honestly doubt it's on my end. Will not mention this further.