PDA

View Full Version : Ram Question



flockers
08-06-2008, 06:12 AM
One day while playing an MMORPG called "2moons" a friend came over and saw that the game was lagging quite a bit. He suggested that it was the ram (minimum needed for game 512mb, I had 768 at the time) So I upgraded to 2GB. I havent seem much of a difference in lag. Same lag I've always had in crowded areas. I've seen videos where players breeze through crowded areas while recording with no lag whatsoever. What do they have that I don't? I'm not sure on how to get all of my system specs BTW. If someone could tell me I'd appreciate it.

Seth
08-06-2008, 06:24 AM
Welcome to Free PC Help Flockers.

Software manufacturers have to account for the fact that most home computers run very poorly due to lack of proper maintenance. As such, you can usually get away with half the recommended ram provided that you have a clean and lean running system. I suspect that you do not, and that's why the ram upgrade produced no speed increase.

We can use a program called HijackThis that will show what's running on your computer:

Please download the latest version of HijackThis from Trend Micro (http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/threat_analytics/HJTInstall.exe) and click on Download Hijack This Installer and save it to your desktop.

Doubleclick HJTInstall.exe to install HijackThis.
By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis .
Click on Install.
It will create a HijackThis icon on the desktop.
Once installed, it will launch Hijackthis.
Click on the Do a system scan and save a logfile button. It will scan and the log should open in Notepad. Include this log in your next reply.

Notes:
Do not use the AnalyseThis button, its findings are dangerous if misinterpreted.
Do not have Hijackthis fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless, or required for your computer to run like it should.

Goku
08-06-2008, 06:27 AM
I am not much experienced in these matters Flockster but I think that what you needed was a bit more of Video RAM that is to say that you needed to upgrade your Graphics Card. You already had more than enough RAM needed to run the game previously, so upgrading the RAM wouldn't lift the lag. You must have experienced a performance boost due to it but there might not have been any difference in your gaming experience. So, to overcome this lagging, you need to upgrade your graphics card. Lets see what the experts have got to say on it. :)

-- Goku

Seth
08-06-2008, 06:31 AM
A new video card may be a possibility Goku, but we'll look at a software issue first. Plus, with all that extra ram, a good chunk can be allocated to the video card from within the bios:)

RandyL
08-06-2008, 06:33 AM
Hi flockers;
First of all look at this support page (http://phpbb.acclaim.com/2moons/viewtopic.php?t=63686&sid=8842ff2e1c25965d62f10a4166b1c273) on lag from their site.

Wikipedia says these are the minimum requirements.
1 GHz CPU
512 MB RAM
GeForce MX Video card
Sound card
DirectX 9.0c or above
Broadband Internet Connection

Typically I would suspect double the RAM and a much faster processor is needed for these type of games. I don't know about the video card.

Run this program to help you figure out what you have. SIW (http://www.gtopala.com/)

RandyL
08-06-2008, 06:35 AM
You guys are fast. I'll step out now. You're in good hands flockster.

flockers
08-06-2008, 06:45 AM
Thanks alot guys..appreciate it
I defragged my PC
performed a disk cleanup
deleted many old programs that I didn't use
checked for reg errors..corrected them
How can I get all of my pc specs, or compare them with whats necessary for the game?

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 12:47:03 AM, on 6/8/2003
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16640)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXPPS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate\AluSchedulerSvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\SYMANT~1\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = Live Search: (http://g.msn.com/0SEENUS/SAOS01?FORM=TOOLBR)
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = Live Search: (http://g.msn.com/0SEENUS/SAOS01?FORM=TOOLBR)
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = MSN.com (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157)
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = MSN.com (http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157)
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = Live Search: (http://g.msn.com/0SEENUS/SAOS01?FORM=TOOLBR)
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R3 - URLSearchHook: AOLTBSearch Class - {EA756889-2338-43DB-8F07-D1CA6FB9C90D} - C:\Program Files\AOL\AOL Toolbar 2.0\aoltb.dll
R3 - URLSearchHook: (no name) - {00A6FAF6-072E-44cf-8957-5838F569A31D} - C:\Program Files\MyWebSearch\SrchAstt\3.bin\MWSSRCAS.DLL
O2 - BHO: MyWebSearch Search Assistant BHO - {00A6FAF1-072E-44cf-8957-5838F569A31D} - C:\Program Files\MyWebSearch\SrchAstt\3.bin\MWSSRCAS.DLL
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: mwsBar BHO - {07B18EA1-A523-4961-B6BB-170DE4475CCA} - C:\Program Files\MyWebSearch\bar\3.bin\MWSBAR.DLL
O2 - BHO: Symantec Intrusion Prevention - {6D53EC84-6AAE-4787-AEEE-F4628F01010C} - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\SYMANT~1\IDS\IPSBHO.dll
O2 - BHO: AOL Toolbar Launcher - {7C554162-8CB7-45A4-B8F4-8EA1C75885F9} - C:\Program Files\AOL\AOL Toolbar 2.0\aoltb.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {7E853D72-626A-48EC-A868-BA8D5E23E045} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: Windows Live Sign-in Helper - {9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll
O2 - BHO: Easy Gif Animator Toolbar Helper - {96372AB6-15EB-4316-B497-71C741BC548C} - C:\Program Files\Easy Gif Animator Extension\v3.2.0.0\EasyGifAnimator_Toolbar.dll
O2 - BHO: Windows Live Toolbar Helper - {BDBD1DAD-C946-4A17-ADC1-64B5B4FF55D0} - C:\Program Files\Windows Live Toolbar\msntb.dll
O3 - Toolbar: AOL Toolbar - {DE9C389F-3316-41A7-809B-AA305ED9D922} - C:\Program Files\AOL\AOL Toolbar 2.0\aoltb.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Easy Gif Animator Toolbar - {35065594-9169-4A34-B167-FC4865038E53} - C:\Program Files\Easy Gif Animator Extension\v3.2.0.0\EasyGifAnimator_Toolbar.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Windows Live Toolbar - {BDAD1DAD-C946-4A17-ADC1-64B5B4FF55D0} - C:\Program Files\Windows Live Toolbar\msntb.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [osCheck] "C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\osCheck.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &AIM Search - res://C:\Program Files\AIM Toolbar\AIMBar.dll/aimsearch.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: &AOL Toolbar Search - c:\program files\aol\aol toolbar 2.0\resources\en-US\local\search.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Search - http://bar.mywebsearch.com/menusearch.html?p=ZNfox000
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Windows Live Search - res://C:\Program Files\Windows Live Toolbar\msntb.dll/search.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to Windows &Live Favorites - Add to Windows Live Favorites (http://favorites.live.com/quickadd.aspx)
O9 - Extra button: AOL Toolbar - {3369AF0D-62E9-4bda-8103-B4C75499B578} - C:\Program Files\AOL\AOL Toolbar 2.0\aoltb.dll
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: PartyPoker.net - {F4430FE8-2638-42e5-B849-800749B94EED} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\shdocvw.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: PartyPoker.net - {F4430FE8-2638-42e5-B849-800749B94EED} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\shdocvw.dll
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra button: WeatherBug - {AF6CABAB-61F9-4f12-A198-B7D41EF1CB52} - C:\PROGRA~1\AWS\WEATHE~1\Weather.exe (HKCU)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {5ED80217-570B-4DA9-BF44-BE107C0EC166} (Windows Live Safety Center Base Module) - http://cdn.scan.onecare.live.com/resource/download/scanner/wlscbase9563.cab
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
O23 - Service: Automatic LiveUpdate Scheduler - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate\AluSchedulerSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Lic NetConnect service (CLTNetCnService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: LexBce Server (LexBceS) - Lexmark International, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
O23 - Service: LiveUpdate - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate\LuComServer_3_4.EXE
O23 - Service: LiveUpdate Notice - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Core LC - Unknown owner - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\SYMANT~1\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe

--
End of file - 6870 bytes

Seth
08-06-2008, 06:47 AM
None of the above will make your computer faster.

flockers
08-06-2008, 06:52 AM
I added the log

Goku
08-06-2008, 06:54 AM
There are many ways to know your system specifications. Have a read of these articles to get a basic idea:

Ways of locating hardware and other system specifications. (http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000017.htm)

How do I find my system specifications? (http://www.modthesims2.com/showthread.php?t=112711)

Post them as soon as you can. :)

-- Goku

flockers
08-06-2008, 07:07 AM
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.8GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Page File: 872MB used, 1313MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
Card name: RADEON 9600 SERIES
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI RADEON 9600 Series AGP (0x4150)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4150&SUBSYS_005E1043&REV_00
Display Memory: 128.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: ati2dvag.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.0010.6583 (English)

maynardvdm
08-06-2008, 07:20 AM
Hi

I would suggest to uninstall MyWebSearch from Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel.

flockers
08-06-2008, 07:23 AM
Im not even sure what that was O.o
I did uninstall it though

flockers
08-06-2008, 07:33 AM
I just found out that my PC does not support dual channel RAM. The kind I upgraded my computer with is dual channel...BTW what is dual channel?
Is it not supposed to work properly? Or doesn't give out max performance?

maynardvdm
08-06-2008, 08:00 AM
Have a look here for info on Dual Channel:

Dual-channel architecture (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual-channel_architecture)

Dalo Harkin
10-06-2008, 11:44 AM
I noticed that the monitor you are using is a 1680x1050 - are you running the game at this resolution or smaller - thats alot of screen for that graphics card - try 1280x1024 and see if things improve ;)

Dalo Harkin
10-06-2008, 11:49 AM
...BTW what is dual channel

It basically sends and receives twice as much data as single channel -
imagine (no laughing please :D)
(Single Channel) - a normal road you go up one way and down the other.
(Dual Channel) - a dual carriageway - 2 roads up and 2 roads down