PDA

View Full Version : Need help !



InFerect
08-06-2008, 12:20 PM
I've a big problem, and don't know what to do, so please help me. My problem : I install games to my pc and i run it and i play about 10min and my pc restarts. and when i try to turn on pc it loads and go off. so i wait 10mins and then pc starts properly and every think works ok but when i again run game i play 10min and same problem again
PS i use Windows vista
PPS mine pc requirement is well over recommend reqirement

Wolfeymole
08-06-2008, 12:44 PM
Hi Inferect

Welcome to FPCH

It sounds to me like your cpu is overheating and thus causing your machine to keep restarting.

Make sure all fans are working and the pc is free of dust internally, especially around the cpu heatsink.

What are your system specifications, eg memory, cpu etc?

InFerect
08-06-2008, 12:50 PM
Thx, i hope i will find answer which i need :rolleyes:
but 2other games work fine Rome : TW and LOTR : ROTK
pc : 2gb ram vista 2.4ghz dual core Nvidia 8400

RandyL
08-06-2008, 12:51 PM
Hi InFerect:
Please post in only one forum. If you are not sure which one we will move it to the correct one to the best of our knowledge.

Down to business then.
To start with you should open your case and see if there is a build up of dust, dirt or grime anywhere inside. If so post back and we will provide instructions on safe cleaning. You would be surprised at how fast this can happen based on different circumstances. Look for anything around the fans or the heatsink which looks like fins above it. Or any other area which might look clogged.


Depending on the games they can be intensive on the hardware and tax them. A dirty computer can cause over heating and shut it down in such circumstances.

Start with that. If that is not a problem then tell us the details of your game and your computer specs.

Wolfeymole
08-06-2008, 12:52 PM
TW and LOTR : ROTK

I don't understand what you mean, please explain.

InFerect
08-06-2008, 12:53 PM
I don't understand what you mean, please explain.
Rome : total war and Lord of the Rings: Return of the rings
edit
randyl sorry =/ i try to run assasins creed, heroes V, counter strike and does'nt work

Wolfeymole
08-06-2008, 12:59 PM
Please follow the advice offered so far and get back to us.

InFerect
08-06-2008, 01:07 PM
mine pc is clean i check it already(i bought 2 moths ago)
and every heatsinks,fans etc are alright
oh and when pc starts after when it goes down and opens windows where i can select start with safe mode, or start normally i cant control my keyboard

Goku
08-06-2008, 01:30 PM
Welcome to Free PC Help, InFerect. :)


Does Windows keeps running simultaneously if you are not playing games or the
condition still persists. Try keeping the computer idle for 10 minutes and see if it turns off. I hazard a guess but I think it might be a malware issue. However do not do anything unless the experts here advise you to do so. Try and see if you can operate the computer normally without rebooting or not? Good Luck. :)

-- Goku

InFerect
08-06-2008, 01:34 PM
No pc turns off only when i try to play not when its simply on
anyway thx for trying to help and hi
EDIT
i try to play that game again today i play 15min (record) and beng pc turn off so what i've to do =/ rewrite windows or change to XP ? =/

Wolfeymole
08-06-2008, 02:55 PM
Do you have the option to use "Last Known Good Configuration" ?

InFerect
08-06-2008, 03:06 PM
Do you have the option to use "Last Known Good Configuration" ?
yes, but i can't use mine keyboard when that windows show, something block it don't know what =/

Wolfeymole
08-06-2008, 03:13 PM
Does you have a PS2 keyboard?
If so plug that in and reboot and try then ok.

InFerect
08-06-2008, 03:18 PM
Does you have a PS2 keyboard?
If so plug that in and reboot and try then ok.
no USB keyboard

Wolfeymole
08-06-2008, 03:27 PM
Does the pc support PS2 keyboard connections?

Goku
08-06-2008, 03:29 PM
No pc turns off only when i try to play not when its simply on
anyway thx for trying to help and hi
EDIT
i try to play that game again today i play 15min (record) and beng pc turn off so what i've to do =/ rewrite windows or change to XP ? =/
Well I wouldn't really recommend it but if you were better fit with it, then I think that you should revert back to XP.

One more thing I can think of is to configure the BIOS. I know you are having problems with your keyboards but try and see if you can get into BIOS. Here is a short article to give you a basic idea of it.

How BIOS works? (http://computer.howstuffworks.com/bios3.htm)

Enter the BIOS and try to modify the setting which monitors the CPU's temperature. This might also be a cause for the continuous reboot as the game might be overheating the processor. By default, it is set at optimal settings so raise them only a bit if you have too. If this doesn't work too, then either you are infected or your PC has not the appropriate specification to run it properly. Sorry that I couldn't be of more help. :)

-- Goku

InFerect
08-06-2008, 03:29 PM
Does the pc support PS2 keyboard connections?
yes and mousse too

Wolfeymole
08-06-2008, 03:34 PM
Follow Goku's advice about system temperatures and see if that alters anything.

If it does not then obtain a PS2 Keyboard, reboot and go into Last Known Good Configuration.

Then get back to us.

InFerect
08-06-2008, 03:38 PM
i can get to BIOS but i cant control my keyboard when that window wiht safe mode etc opens =/ ok i try to configure BIOS

Goku
08-06-2008, 03:39 PM
i can get to BIOS but i cant control my keyboard when that window wiht safe mode etc opens =/ ok i try to configure BIOS
Good. Then get back to us when you are ready. Hope the results are positive. Good Luck. :)

-- Goku

Wolfeymole
08-06-2008, 03:39 PM
Inferect

Please read what I have written.

InFerect
08-06-2008, 03:48 PM
i've small thing which i can use to make from USB to PS2 shoud i try ?
and goku bios settings warning temperature is off

Wolfeymole
08-06-2008, 03:52 PM
You can try using the adapter but it may not work, hopefully it will.

Enable the Temperature setting to ON

InFerect
08-06-2008, 03:59 PM
You can try using the adapter but it may not work, hopefully it will.

Enable the Temperature setting to ON
i Enable Temperature to 70c
and that windows does'nt open windows just turn on properly

Goku
08-06-2008, 04:04 PM
i Enable Temperature to 70c
and that windows does'nt open windows just turn on properly
If it was off, then its just that you can't play the game or your cooling systems don't work properly. As you have ruled the latter, I can only expect that its something to do with the specifications. Ok, to undo the damage, repeat the same procedure and reverse the settings. That should fix it. After you have done so, return back here and post back the results.

One more thing. I don't want to be rude but can you please punctuate your posts. Sometimes, ramming words into each other may lead to confusions. Meanwhile I will try to find an alternate solution for you. :)

-- Goku

InFerect
08-06-2008, 04:19 PM
Alright, i try to run game and it works perfect but after 10min game my pc box start to make some strange, lound noise, so i exit from that game. So what i've to do now ?

Goku
08-06-2008, 04:27 PM
Alright, i try to run game and it works perfect but after 10min game my pc box start to make some strange, lound noise, so i exit from that game. So what i've to do now ?
Does it still shut down? Sound like there is a lot of dirt clogged in the vent. To validate just the possibility, can you please try to clean the CPU fans and vents? It might be all that is causing the problem. If you want help in doing so, then you might want to see this video:

How to Clean a CPU Fan (http://www.expertvillage.com/video/9722_computer-clean-cpu-fan.htm)

Or read these articles:

How do I clean my CPU/Heatsink? What should I use? (http://www.neoseeker.com/Hardware/faqs/kb/2,31.html)

How to Clean Up Your Computer (http://computeraccessories.suite101.com/article.cfm/computer_clean_up)

Please use it as a final resort if you have to but try the above and see if it helps or not. Good Luck. :)

-- Goku

InFerect
08-06-2008, 04:29 PM
ok i'll clean it.I'll write here when im finish

InFerect
09-06-2008, 11:39 PM
so i have fully cleaned my pc and i've same problem again i run game after 10mins strange big sound and after 1min pc automatically shut down. Oh i try to install new game same problem and when i try to compress 1big file with winrar same big sound i even don't wait just stop and after 5min compress again without that sound and later on same sound again

Seth
10-06-2008, 03:15 AM
The sound you're hearing is probably the fan on the cpu or the fan on the video card (probably the latter). If so, the shutdown will occur as one of those isn't cooling properly.

Have someone play a game on the computer, and when that sound starts, use something like the inner tube from a paper towel roll to find out what fan is noisy.

Goku
10-06-2008, 08:32 AM
so i have fully cleaned my pc and i've same problem again i run game after 10mins strange big sound and after 1min pc automatically shut down. Oh i try to install new game same problem and when i try to compress 1big file with winrar same big sound i even don't wait just stop and after 5min compress again without that sound and later on same sound again
Ok, there might be many reasons when a computer makes loud grinding noises. Some of them could be:

1. A failing hard drive.
2. A dust accumlated fan.
3. A scratched or damaged CD in the CD tray.

Lets exempt the first possibility for now and concentrate on the second and third possibility. Given what you said about the fan, I suspect that the fan is dying, and that your computer is overheating. Your first step should be, if you can afford to do so, is to replace the fan (or possibly replace the power supply that contains the fan).

Also, you say that you experience the problems after you are ten minutes into the game. Does the game you play require a CD to stream data from? If this is the case, then when the loud noise comes, open the CD drive and take the CD out. See if the computer still shuts down. I know this solution is not very likely but try and see if it helps or not. Also, try Seth's solution first and see if that too works or not. Good Luck. :)

-- Goku

InFerect
10-06-2008, 09:49 AM
No its not a cd those games don't require cd just to install it.
To repleace van em i'm not quite sure i can or not i'll check my credit card today.

Goku
10-06-2008, 09:57 AM
No its not a cd those games don't require cd just to install it.
To repleace van em i'm not quite sure i can or not i'll check my credit card today.
Let us know if you can. Also, try Seth's suggestion before you do buy anything new. Who knows, it may save you from a whole lot of trouble. :)

-- Goku

InFerect
10-06-2008, 10:07 AM
ok i will

Dalo Harkin
10-06-2008, 12:18 PM
Definately sounds like a heat issue - if you take the side of the case off and start windows - leave a game playing and check that the fan on the GPU is turning and also the CPU -
after 10 minutes or so just before it normally crashes - reboot and go into the BIOS and display the temps that the board reports.

InFerect
12-06-2008, 09:34 PM
i've check where does sound came from so its somewhere here http://img505.imageshack.us/img505/7017/pcid8.jpg but its not fan ( 90 % )

Dalo Harkin
13-06-2008, 11:41 AM
It must be the fan on the GPU as there is nothing else around there that would cause it - as the southbridge is passively cooled

Wolfeymole
05-07-2008, 03:34 PM
There doesn't look to be a fan on the graphics card as far I can make out Dave.

Dalo Harkin
07-07-2008, 09:44 AM
I cannot see the picture from my current location - is it passively cooled?
If there are heat issues from a GPU or CPU, its normally the fan is not working or the heatsink is covered in dust - or the paste under the heatsinks is not doing it's job anymore.

Wolfeymole
07-07-2008, 10:14 AM
Pic

Dalo Harkin
07-07-2008, 11:42 AM
Its definately over heating somewhere - you need to use a FAN of some sort - most suppliers do ones that you can 'aim' at components to keep them cool - It will be the Graphics Card or the Southbridge.
Still puzzled about the grinding noise, as they are both passive :confused:

I would also move the clump of wires that are over your RAM as that will not be helping

InFerect
11-02-2009, 10:58 PM
well, it's been long time when i was there :P
By the way i changed mine pc to another ...
anyway thx everyone for help :)
so far mine pc works fine