PDA

View Full Version : Digital photo woes



itsalldutch2me
11-08-2008, 07:11 PM
Hello all ,as far as computers are concerned im a complete novice really so I could really use some help! My wife recently borrowed a friends sd card out of their camera so she could put their photos on our pc, she put the sd card into our own camera and loaded the pics onto the pc , sounds straight forward enough but since doing it any and all photos on our pc flash purple and green even pictures on the web do it . Windows works fine ie the toolbar etc but if its a photo were stuffed . Our friends camera is a 7megapixel camera but ours is only a 5megapixel i dont know if that makes a difference ? The flashing effect on the pics mostly effects the dark areas of the pic. I know there is a genius out there who will just laugh at me and tell me a really simple fix but as i said im a novice at this PLEASE HELP :eek:

Dalo Harkin
11-08-2008, 07:18 PM
Hi, and welcome to Free PC Help

Could be a number of things - Sony for one are a pain in the behind as the sticks are specific to Sony devices.
Do you have a printer with an SD slot?
does your camera store photos on an SD or on the camera itself.
when you drag them onto the PC do they continue to do the flashing?

Also what are you viewing the pics with - windows or another program like NERO?

itsalldutch2me
11-08-2008, 08:08 PM
Hi my camera is a panasonic and our friends is a samsung so no sony pains there . As far as i know both cameras store on an sd card and my printer only has that pictbridge thing that my camera doesnt support lol. we use both windows and hp photosmart to view pics as we have an hp printer hope that gives you more clues

AdvancedSetup
11-08-2008, 10:31 PM
My guess is that your wife probably installed the software that came with the camera to upload the files to your PC. Go into your Control Panel, Add/Remove and uninstall the software that she installed to get the files.

If that is not the case then let us know.

Goku
12-08-2008, 11:19 AM
Hello and Welcome to FPCH Dutch. :)

Can you please take a screen shot (http://windows.about.com/od/keyboardshortcuts/qt/screen_shot.htm) of the pictures you are having the problem with so that we may understand your position better? Your first post is a little confusing?

Also, have you tried recopying the pictures from the card?

-- Goku

itsalldutch2me
13-08-2008, 09:39 PM
Hi there again thanks for all the ideas and help as far as camera software goes my wife didnt have any it was just someone elses sd card going through our camera . I dont think a screen grab will help because i can print the pictures perfectly i emailed some and they went through fine . iv checked my monitor settings and the display settings although i will try reloading the photos again and see what that does ! dutch

Dalo Harkin
14-08-2008, 09:18 AM
Have you updated your graphics card/onboard driver?
Also what is the size of the pc monitor?

itsalldutch2me
15-08-2008, 09:54 PM
Hi Dalo after trying loads of stuff we reckon its time for a new computer because the one we have is getting old now and i reckon we just added the straw that broke its back lol . Spent some time looking round the forums though and theres loads of helpful stuff on here even a novice like me could learn something:) thanks for the help guys