PDA

View Full Version : Cant decide please help!!



bri_b1988
23-10-2008, 10:50 PM
hi i have an acer aspire 5520 and it has 2gb memory but i want to upgrade it to max memory which iam sure is 4gb but iam just wanting to know what is the best i can get for the cheapest money.

also if any one can list the components i can get to max upgrade my computer to the best it can be then it would be really appreciated.

cheers

bri

Tootech
23-10-2008, 11:12 PM
Recommended RAM for your notebook is here

Computer memory upgrades for Acer Aspire 5520 Laptop/Notebook from Crucial.com (http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/listparts.aspx?model=Aspire%205520)

Free delivery.

Something similar here, slightly cheaper.

Crucial 4GB Kit DDR2 667MHz/PC2-5300 Laptop Memory SODIMM Non-ECC - Ebuyer (http://www.ebuyer.com/product/142423)

Kingston, OCZ, Corsair, Samsung are common makes, all ok.

Wouldn't go for unbranded memory myself, but lots do and have no problems.


Tootech

Kelly
23-10-2008, 11:40 PM
Do you really need more RAM? Bring up the Task Manager and see how much RAM you're really using. If you're not maxing out the amount of RAM already installed on your computer then there's no reason to add more RAM.

Dalo Harkin
24-10-2008, 09:25 AM
Do you really need more RAM? Bring up the Task Manager and see how much RAM you're really using. If you're not maxing out the amount of RAM already installed on your computer then there's no reason to add more RAM.


This is SPOT ON -
as Kelly has said you do not need more RAM - if you were using a 64 bit OS then there are arguments for and against, but NO program that you would be running on that laptop would need 4GB of RAM.
Stay with 2GB and tidy up the OS (deleting old programs you no longer use) and startup items to get it to run more efficiently.

Tootech
24-10-2008, 11:56 AM
I run Vista, and did find the jump from 2GB to 4GB made a difference to the responsiveness of programs. So, for example Outlook starts more quickly, it is sharper moving around the Windows, opening/closing programs.

Having said that, a quick look at my machine today and it is using 1.5GB, start a Virtual Machine and it is up at 1.8GB usage.

bri_b1988
24-10-2008, 08:10 PM
thanks for the replies, i want to play assasins creed on my laptop but i need higher specs. my computer is quite laggy when iam using it thats why i want to upgrade my laptop to highest spec possible so if any one can list components that i could get id really appreciate it. i know the specs i have at the minute is ok but id really like to upgrade it.

cheers

brian.

chris lovett
27-10-2008, 12:31 PM
The chances are that it's a Graphics card issue. Not Ram as 2Gb should be enough, Now i'm not 100% but i believe you can't actually upgrade your graphics card in your laptop, Think it's only dells and a few others which will allow you to do this.

Dalo Harkin
27-10-2008, 12:35 PM
I run Vista, and did find the jump from 2GB to 4GB made a difference to the responsiveness of programs. So, for example Outlook starts more quickly, it is sharper moving around the Windows, opening/closing programs.

Having said that, a quick look at my machine today and it is using 1.5GB, start a Virtual Machine and it is up at 1.8GB usage.

I have an 8GB flash drive that has readyboost - if I install this to offload some of the DATA from the RAM - it makes no difference whatsoever -
As for gaming - Chris is right - the CPU and the GPU will be the bottle neck not the RAM

Saxon
31-10-2008, 01:30 AM
Replacing the GPU in a laptop is normally not possible as some one mentioned before there are very few you can do this with at all. They are normaly designed to fit in one laptop case an one laptop case alone, they may share the same chip but the physical layout will be vastly differnt.

Dalo Harkin
31-10-2008, 09:19 AM
Agreed - unless its a cutting edge lappy then a GPU replacement is out, most companies now do ''build your own lappy'' - if its one of those then yes a GPU upgrade can be done.

Wondercai
29-11-2008, 01:21 PM
The chances are that it's a Graphics card issue. Not Ram as 2Gb should be enough, Now i'm not 100% but i believe you can't actually upgrade your graphics card in your laptop, Think it's only dells and a few others which will allow you to do this.

For vista you need 3 gig of ram for assanisn creed!