PDA

View Full Version : Need new ram



Harty
18-12-2008, 06:59 PM
hey,

i have no idea what ram i should get, ive used the cruical scanner a while back and it recommended me

1GB PC2-4200 240Pin DDR2 DIMM ( i think )

but ive used it recently and it tells me there isnt no upgrades for my computer so i contacted the live help and they tried to sell me something thats like 60-80 quid
so im confused

atm, i have 2 x 512mb, looking for 2gb ( 2 x 1gb )

O/S
Windows XP Media Center Edition Service Pack 2 (build 2600)

System Model
Packard Bell NEC Packard Bell Computer PB34305801
System Serial Number: 049772220260
Chassis Serial Number: 50424E
Enclosure Type: Desktop

Main Circuit Board
Board: NEC COMPUTERS INTERNATIONAL GA-8TRC410M-NF
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 20F 03/24/2006

Processor
2.93 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
16 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache

from Belarc advisor, if any other infomation needed feel free to ask

Harty
18-12-2008, 08:06 PM
1Gb DDR2-667 PC2-5300 DIMM?

Dalo Harkin
19-12-2008, 08:47 AM
Right - first of all have a look in the MOBO manual and see what the maximum amount of RAM it is capable of supporting speed and GB size that is and then post back.
The problem with MOBOs like what you have said very rarely come with info other than in the user manual

Harty
19-12-2008, 11:20 AM
1Gb DDR2-667 PC2-5300 DIMM, was recommened by packard bell support thingy


lost the manual years ago

but 4gb, no idea on speed

but as i said before only wanted 2gb :)

Tootech
19-12-2008, 01:16 PM
Hi,

I had a look and Crucial don't list your machine for some reason??

The Packard Bell support page recommends DDR2, 400, 533 or 667, as does the Kingston website.

Links here:

Core - Rio (GA-8TRC410MNF-RH) Motherboard - spec_Rio - Information and Instructions - IMEDIA MC 1539 - PB34305801 - iMedia - platform_honeymoon_imedia - Desktop (http://support.packardbell.com/uk/item/index.php?i=spec_Rio&ppn=PB34305801)

Kingston Technology Company - Kingston Memory Search - Search Results for: (http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurator_new/modelsinfo.asp?SysID=38421&mfr=Packard+Bell&model=iMedia+MC+1539&root=us&LinkBack=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.kingston.com&Sys=38421-Packard+Bell-iMedia+MC+1539&distributor=0&submit1=Search)

The Kingston part is actually stocked by Dabs at the moment, about 18.

Part number D12864F50, 1GB DDR2 667.

Dabs link:

dabs.com - Kingston 1GB Module (D12864F50) (http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?quicklinx=3YB2&aQuicklinx=3YB2&InMerch=1)

That should do it :)

Harty
19-12-2008, 01:34 PM
ok thanks

yeh cruical used to a while back, but now it dosent :s

so i got stuck :)


thanks all for the help