PDA

View Full Version : Compaq Presario F500 Drivers/



the game
25-06-2009, 08:18 PM
Hi all & thanks in advance for all the help....

I have recently got a compaq presario F500 with a broken lcd....replaced that and had my self a new lappy...
anyways, I started the thing up and its as slow as hell its running on vista premium, 1GB of Ram & AMD 64 Athelon processer ......I have done the usual spyware malware & virus scans had a few bits of junk in there got rid of that its still really slow also if it helps task manager is showing like 10 processes and running 65!!....Defraged the hard drive which there is plenty of space on it ...What am askin is 2 things is possible...

(1) Are there any XP drivers for this i checked their website and none for xp can anyone help as i hate vista..

(2) is there anything i can do to speed this up in the mean time its so slow


Thanks all in advance i have used this site previously and meny others and always had resolves from here everytime!!!1

Tootech
25-06-2009, 11:40 PM
There are some drivers for XP on the website - here's a link to one model in the F500 series

Select software and drivers* (http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=228&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=ca&product=3411828&lang=en)

It looks like a standard set of components, you could probably match all the drivers up if needed. I wouldn't bother unless it was really necessary.

For now, drop another 1GB memory in and it will run so much better.

I'd be tempted to download an evaluation copy of Windows 7 and run that. Put in the additional 1GB , and I think you'll have a totally different machine.

the game
27-06-2009, 09:38 AM
I know i did see that but there are no nvidia drivers for it :@ Compaq Presario F504EA Notebook PC is also a differant laptop not sure if the drivers are the same....also there are not drivers for windows 7 i have the RC version of it but as i say dont think drivers will work will they? i am gettin really annoyed with this laptop now....took me 5 mins to open i.e browser lol thanks more help wanted any ideas please reply

RandyL
27-06-2009, 10:35 AM
So the EA is not your model. There are other F500 series models. What is yours?

No matter. I'm going to give you my thoughts.

You bought a used and broken laptop. God only knows what you have, how much other damage there might be or what baggage is or was installed on it.

We do know the RAM is low and I'll bet the processor is too based on the installed RAM.

Whenever you buy a used computer you should immediately do a full reinstall of Windows. This ensures that no leftover crap from the previous owner is affecting it.

Next can you supply the processor that you have as we already know your RAM is low for Vista depending on what you have running at startup or what features are enabled. Like I said we don't know as you have not supplied an exact model number and a ton of crap may be running on a used computer.

If you reinstall Windows on this used computer it will be to your benifit in the long run.

After that we can rule out software and settings and move on to possible hardware issues.

I dont think this is a Vista issue and your processes numbers are not out of line but a full reinstall would likely help.

If not then hardware has to be considered. For instance laptop drives are short lived and a failing drive can cause a slow system.

Reinstall Windows and see what happens on this used computer.