Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Medion pc. Wont let me reset windows back to factory settings help!!!

  1. #1
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    hello i have a medion pc and i it wont let me get into windows. Basically i get options of safe mode, start normally ooptions etc. no matter which one i click it goes to the windows loading screen and reset my computer.

    I have put in the disc that is meant to be used to reset windows but it has come up in german and i dont think it has the options it is meant to have on there.

    If any one knows how to sort this can they please post. any help will be appreciated

  2. #2
    FPCH Long Term Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,267

    PC Experience:
    Too much!


    Operating System:
    Windows Vista - Home Premium

    Default

    Welcome Jiggy.

    German as a second language is always an option:)

    Seriously, medion is a German company, but your recovery cd's should of course be in English.

    It's been a few years since I had to do a Recovery on a Medion, but if I remember correctly, there were two cd's. I had to use the one labeled something like "drivers and applications". Despite the name, it gave me the option for a recovery. Be careful though, as a full recovery will erase all your personal information. If you're ok with that, then try booting from that cd. if not, post back with what cd's you have, and what exactly is labeled on each cd.
    Need help with your computer problems? Then why not join Free PC Help. Register here

    If Free PC Help has helped you then please consider a donation. Click here

  3. #3
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    i have an application and support cd which is meant to be the one that i use to reset windows which i dont mind doing as i just want to get my pc working and another one is widnows recovery cd.

    when i use the app one it comes up in german and the second one goes to repair mode i think (windows setup) and gets through quite a bit then says

    File aliide.sys caused an unexpected error (32768) at line 5964 in d:\xpsprtm\base\boot\setup\setup.c.

  4. #4
    FPCH Long Term Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,267

    PC Experience:
    Too much!


    Operating System:
    Windows Vista - Home Premium

    Default

    The error refers to the hard drive and or hard drive drivers. This may be a result of not manually loading a Sata driver. That's just an educated guess though. Before I can help you with that, I would need the model number of the medion. Also keep in mind that the error, as well as the initial problem, may be caused by a hardware failure. In such a case, the recovery won't help.

    Another option is to use the hidden recovery partition on the hard drive. Watch the screen as the computer starts. Do you see a message similar to "Press F(something) for Recovery options"?
    Need help with your computer problems? Then why not join Free PC Help. Register here

    If Free PC Help has helped you then please consider a donation. Click here

  5. #5
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    pc mt6 is the model number. there is nothing lilke press f() for reovery that i can see

  6. #6
    FPCH Long Term Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,267

    PC Experience:
    Too much!


    Operating System:
    Windows Vista - Home Premium

    Default

    It's very rare that I recommend the following, but in your predicament, I recommend you post on a dedicated Medion forum:

    http://medion.adslweb.co.uk/phpbb2/portal.php

    Can you please keep us updated with a link to your post on the Medion forum?
    Need help with your computer problems? Then why not join Free PC Help. Register here

    If Free PC Help has helped you then please consider a donation. Click here

  7. #7
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    http://medion.adslweb.co.uk/phpbb2/v...?p=64068#64068

    thanks for all your help hopefully i can sort this easily and its not a hardware fault but it probably will cost me money now to fix it knowing my luck

  8. #8
    FPCH Distinguished Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Cheshire UK
    Posts
    217

    Default

    It may be worth doing a memory test -

    http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp

    I have had simlar errors with faulty memory.

    Dave
    Never ascribe to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity

Similar Threads

  1. Windows wont load
    By zephyr50 in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-03-2008, 09:39 AM
  2. Windows XP Updates wont install
    By Pigeongk in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-03-2008, 04:00 PM
  3. Another xp windows wont start thread
    By corradoman in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-03-2008, 03:58 PM
  4. Windows Wont Load, Beeping Sound
    By lowrider1988 in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-03-2008, 08:26 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-10-2007, 08:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •