Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: internet problem

  1. #1
    FPCH New Member kas982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    west midlands ( atm )
    Posts
    8

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default internet problem

    Ok, sorry for this long post but....
    On friday 17-02 steam were doing one of their free weekend deals, so i thought i'd give mw3 a try, ( should not have bothered ) so i downloaded the game overnight & in the morning all was fine. ( download speed was 1.2mb )
    After trying mw3 ( no tutorial, newbs like me in with lvl 70 players=total pwnage ) i noticed steam were doing another promotion for another game, so i did the same again dowload overnight.
    However in the morning i noticed the pc had frozen solid, download had stopped halfway through, so i started task manager closed steam & re-started the pc. When i tried to log on to the internet, no go. Just twirly wirly small cirlce. So i tried the usual clearing cache, temp files etc. No difference, in fact after 4-5 hours of messing around including 2 system recoverys, still no internet.
    Now i live in a large house that has been converted into flats, we all share a router, ( 4 flats ) now i'm a bit suspicious that one of the flats has somehow attached (via wireless ) his pc to mine to try & rob my games from my steam account. ( maybe he was succesfull ) When i looked on network sharing there were 3 ( including mine ) computers on. I have never been on any homegroup & i always use public as my wireless setting.
    I did a system test with ARO 2012, that said no security issues found. Now you might be saying " well how the hell did you post this then? " Well, 2 doors down my neighbour gave me his code so i could use his internet, but the signal is so poor. ( only 1 bar )
    You may think my pc is cooked, well i tried to connect with my laptop aswell, same result. Btw, when i click the firefox icon i do get the start page, but when i try to search or load a bookmarked page it just twirls away. ( tried chrome too, but the page wont even load )
    So any ideas? Is it possible my pc was hacked? Or have Virgin just crashed their internet services Any help/ advice appreciated, might not be able to back in untill Monday though
    My pc specs below

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Plastic Nev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    4,981

    PC Experience:
    Sounds and music man


    Operating System:
    Windows XP plus Windows 7 Pro

    Default

    Considering you can get on line via a borrowed connection to elsewhere, I suspect a problem with that common router, are any other folk in the other flats having a problem?
    Is there any reason why you cannot have your own router and connection? seems to me there will be a total lack of privacy in your situation.

    Nev.
    Need help with your computer problems? Then why not join Free PC Help. Register here

    If Free PC Help has helped you then please consider a donation. Click here

    We are all members helping other members.
    Please return here where you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have installed Windows, now how do I install the curtains?

  3. #3
    FPCH New Member kas982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    west midlands ( atm )
    Posts
    8

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Seems, from what they tell me the internet was down for everyone, landlord seems to share you opinion that it's a router fault. Most conversion flats, come with free internet as part of the rent, one other resident has internet through her sky package, i could get my own isp, but would just be paying for something i'm already paying once for
    Normally just switching a router on & off solves the problem, i just think there is something more to this than a simple router fault.

  4. #4
    FPCH New Member kas982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    west midlands ( atm )
    Posts
    8

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Yep as i suspected, not the router. Virgin are sending a man down tomorrow. Sadly, i'll probably be at work so won't get to hear what he says. Personally i think they ( virgin ) shut the service down, but i don't see why they would send a man down to restore the connection??

  5. #5
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    7,562

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8.1

    Default

    i think they ( virgin ) shut the service down,
    This could very likely be the case.
    If 4 flats are using one connection and all are downloading lots and using lots of bandwidth Virgin are going to take a dim view of this.
    They may well be sending the guy out to confirm what they suspect - multiple addresses piggy-backing off one router.
    Light travels faster than sound.
    This is why some people appear bright - until you hear them speak !


    Network Test
    Wireless Test

    Donations are welcome. Read Here

  6. #6
    FPCH New Member kas982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    west midlands ( atm )
    Posts
    8

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Virgin are going to take a dim view of this.
    Doubt it, this landlord has 14 properties all with virgin, just i think something strange is happening not related to usage.
    Anyway, the virgin guy fixed it, problem is that my internet is still running slow, it just takes ages to load a page. Tried another residents laptop & his worked fine. So i'm really back to square one, what can i try now

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Armageddon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Castleford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    599

    PC Experience:
    Pc Guru


    Operating System:
    Win 8.1 / Win 7/ Linux Various Distros

    Default

    Hi Kas have you disabled steam and ran a speedtest ?
    Google is your friend

    We are all members helping other members. Please return here where
    you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.

    Get help with computer problems. Join Free PC Help here

    Donations are welcome. Read Here



  8. #8
    FPCH New Member kas982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    west midlands ( atm )
    Posts
    8

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    I have disabled steam from startup, but i still use it. It does seem is as if something is running ( fans speed up when i'm web searching ) but nothing is showing up. Btw when i use my neighbours connection it's faster, but with 1 bar of signal it just drops in & out. Also no other pc are showing up as on the network, only mine, even though other people are using it.

  9. #9
    FPCH New Member kas982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    west midlands ( atm )
    Posts
    8

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Tried again in the morning before work & it was working @ correct speed. So i logged into steam & downloaded another game, went to work & came back now, it's still working fine
    I have done nothing, now i'm worried to turn the pc off, incase it slows down again. Did a speed test in the morning, ( steam was running ) result below


    One thing i saw was the underlined below was 154mbps when it was slow, was that the problem? Why is my the only pc on the network showing up?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •