Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: help - moving things from ie to firefox

  1. #1
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    PC Experience:
    bits n bobs but tend to have a lot of issues


    Operating System:
    i think.. came with something to do with that

    Default help - moving things from ie to firefox

    hi, i've recently purchased a new laptop along with norton 360. when i set it up and opened up internet explorerer the norton toolbar has been present along with info about whether a site is "ok" when i search via google, etc. a bing toolbar also came with it and is also at the top when i open ie
    all this good news aside, the problem is ive downloaded firefox as i prefer it. when ive opened it up however, the norton and bing toolbars are not present and neither is the norton essment of websites when i search. how can i rectify the situation and get these things to appear on my firefox browser aswell?
    thanks in advance, carig

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Plastic Nev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    4,833

    PC Experience:
    Sounds and music man


    Operating System:
    Windows XP plus Windows 7 Pro

    Default

    Hi, and welcome to Free PC Help.
    I assume the Norton is on as a trial basis and you will need to buy or remove when the trial period runs out?

    We do tend to advise folk to at least use antivirus softwares other than Norton, a lot of folk don't like it as it has in the past been a lot of problems. However that is your decision.

    If you really want Bing, I believe it is available as an add on for Firefox, so have a look, both on the Bing website and also the Firefox add ons site.

    As far as security advisors for websites, similar to the Norton one, there are quite a few available, I use McAfee site adviser, and WOT (Web of trust) Again from the Firefox add on site.

    Also if you decide to get rid of the Norton at some future date, Avast is a good antivirus, both the free or their pro version, that also has a browser safety adviser, which installs on all browsers automatically when you install Avast.

    Nev.
    Need help with your computer problems? Then why not join Free PC Help. Register here

    If Free PC Help has helped you then please consider a donation. Click here

    We are all members helping other members.
    Please return here where you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have installed Windows, now how do I install the curtains?

  3. #3
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    PC Experience:
    bits n bobs but tend to have a lot of issues


    Operating System:
    i think.. came with something to do with that

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Nev View Post
    Hi, and welcome to Free PC Help.
    I assume the Norton is on as a trial basis and you will need to buy or remove when the trial period runs out?

    We do tend to advise folk to at least use antivirus softwares other than Norton, a lot of folk don't like it as it has in the past been a lot of problems. However that is your decision.

    If you really want Bing, I believe it is available as an add on for Firefox, so have a look, both on the Bing website and also the Firefox add ons site.

    As far as security advisors for websites, similar to the Norton one, there are quite a few available, I use McAfee site adviser, and WOT (Web of trust) Again from the Firefox add on site.

    Also if you decide to get rid of the Norton at some future date, Avast is a good antivirus, both the free or their pro version, that also has a browser safety adviser, which installs on all browsers automatically when you install Avast.

    Nev.
    thanks for the reply nev. no it is not on a trial basis it is paid for and will be my computor's protection for a year now. I'm not overly bothered about bing to be honest, i just thought it looked nice however i'll check that out, thanks. the main problem is norton as because the toolbars are not present on my firefox browser and neither is the info about whether the sites are ok after searching. does this mean norton isnt protecting me when im browsing on firefox? and is there anyway to rectify this if so?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Plastic Nev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    4,833

    PC Experience:
    Sounds and music man


    Operating System:
    Windows XP plus Windows 7 Pro

    Default

    The normal antivirus and firewall of Norton is on all the time and giving you that protection whatever browser you are using, even though the bar isn't there on Firefox, you are still under the protection Norton gives, so don't worry about that. There may even be an add on that will put Norton on, but haven't looked myself.
    I must ask, do you have any other security software installed such as general anti spyware things?
    Malwarebytes is one we always recommend and is a scan on demand type, it is the sort of thing you open say once a week and run a scan to check all is OK. It is very good and quite a lot of the things ordinary antivirus programs might miss will be caught by it.

    Nev.
    Need help with your computer problems? Then why not join Free PC Help. Register here

    If Free PC Help has helped you then please consider a donation. Click here

    We are all members helping other members.
    Please return here where you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have installed Windows, now how do I install the curtains?

  5. #5
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    PC Experience:
    bits n bobs but tend to have a lot of issues


    Operating System:
    i think.. came with something to do with that

    Default

    No i don't think i've anything else securitywise and i'd only be interested in anything else if it was free. Thanks for the info though and thanks for answering my question. I'll have a look if i can find an addon to put it onto firefox. would thank be under the addons in the drop down on firefox?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Plastic Nev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lancashire
    Posts
    4,833

    PC Experience:
    Sounds and music man


    Operating System:
    Windows XP plus Windows 7 Pro

    Default

    Yep, that is where the firefox add ons start from, though you should also have most firefox sites in bookmarks as well.
    Malwarebytes is free and well worth installing for that extra protection, we don't normally recommend anything here unless it is free Ha ha.
    Have a look here, if you decide to go for it click the white "Download now" button, usually sends you to C.Net, a mirror site for the actual download, that is normal.

    http://www.malwarebytes.org/

    nev.
    Need help with your computer problems? Then why not join Free PC Help. Register here

    If Free PC Help has helped you then please consider a donation. Click here

    We are all members helping other members.
    Please return here where you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have installed Windows, now how do I install the curtains?

  7. #7
    Free PC Help Contributor wellies's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    239

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1.1 64-bit

    Default

    I use Norton Internet Security. I think this would be the same as Norton 360 in many respects. Open Firefox. Are the 'Norton Toolbar' and the 'Norton Vulnerability Protection' extensions present in 'Add-ons > Extensions'? If they are, click Firefox's orange button (top left of the Window), hover the mouse over 'Options' and make sure the 'Norton Toolbar' is selected in the menu that opens. When this is showing, click on the toolbar's options button (far left). Put a tick next to 'Enable Norton Safe Web'.

    When this is done, the Norton Toolbar can be de-selected again if you don't want it showing. The Identity (password) Safe and Norton Safe Web will still be operational.
    Need help with your computer problems? Then why not join Free PC Help. Register here

    If Free PC Help has helped you then please consider a donation. Click here

    We are all members helping other members.
    Please return here where you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.


    Computer: Intel i5 CPU|8GB RAM|Windows 8.1.1 64-bit|Sandboxie|Qihoo 360 Total Security|Firefox|Chrome|150 Mbps cable broadband.

  8. #8
    Free PC Help Contributor wellies's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    239

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1.1 64-bit

    Default

    I wonder if it worked?
    Need help with your computer problems? Then why not join Free PC Help. Register here

    If Free PC Help has helped you then please consider a donation. Click here

    We are all members helping other members.
    Please return here where you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.


    Computer: Intel i5 CPU|8GB RAM|Windows 8.1.1 64-bit|Sandboxie|Qihoo 360 Total Security|Firefox|Chrome|150 Mbps cable broadband.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •