Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Issue on startup

  1. #1
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    PC Experience:
    Beginner


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Home Edition

    Default Issue on startup

    When i turn on my pc the same 3 patterned images will appear in sequence on the monitor upon switching on the pc. Then after about 20 secs the monitor will go to sleep.

    I think i can hear the pc booting and then running as normal, yet i cannot see anything to confirm this. It's quite an old pc and used to be quite tempermental. I've cleaned the inside and rehoused everything as best as I could, but to no avail. I think the issue might be the graphics card, but I don't have a spare to test this out and don't want to purchse a new one unless I'm sure.

    Since I can't quite find an exact answer searching online, I'm hoping someone here might be able to help.

    Any help gratefully appreciated.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Armageddon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Castleford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    599

    PC Experience:
    Pc Guru


    Operating System:
    Win 8.1 / Win 7/ Linux Various Distros

    Default

    Hi is your graphics a card or onboard , if its a card and you also have onboard available , you could try removing the card connecting your monitor to the onboard and booting up see then if your monitor goes to sleep
    Google is your friend

    We are all members helping other members. Please return here where
    you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.

    Get help with computer problems. Join Free PC Help here

    Donations are welcome. Read Here



  3. #3
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    PC Experience:
    Beginner


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Home Edition

    Default

    Yes it's a card. I'm not sure I have an onboard as well, but I can see that there is an identical port on the back of the tower to that which is on the graphics card.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Armageddon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Castleford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    599

    PC Experience:
    Pc Guru


    Operating System:
    Win 8.1 / Win 7/ Linux Various Distros

    Default

    That will be your onboard connect your monitor to that after removing your graphics card and boot up , and by quite old am guessing its a xp pc ?
    Google is your friend

    We are all members helping other members. Please return here where
    you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.

    Get help with computer problems. Join Free PC Help here

    Donations are welcome. Read Here



  5. #5
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    PC Experience:
    Beginner


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Home Edition

    Default

    yes it's xp

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Armageddon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Castleford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    599

    PC Experience:
    Pc Guru


    Operating System:
    Win 8.1 / Win 7/ Linux Various Distros

    Default

    ok give the onboard a try and we'll go from there
    Google is your friend

    We are all members helping other members. Please return here where
    you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.

    Get help with computer problems. Join Free PC Help here

    Donations are welcome. Read Here



  7. #7
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    PC Experience:
    Beginner


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Home Edition

    Default

    Removing the card and plugging into onboard works. The image isn't in the correct aspect, but the pc is working just fine. I guess it was the graphics card. Couple of q's

    What would have caused the fault?
    The faulty card was an nvidia graphics card, what sort of replacement should I buy and how much would that cost?

    In the meantime I can use it as it is. Thanks alot, you have saved me alot of time, money and worry/stress. Your help gratefully appreciated.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Armageddon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Castleford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    599

    PC Experience:
    Pc Guru


    Operating System:
    Win 8.1 / Win 7/ Linux Various Distros

    Default

    Hi heres how to change your display properties in xp and a reasonable graphics card is as cheap as 25 - 30 , and your very welcome for the help it's why we are here.

    To change your screen resolution

    1. Open Display in Control Panel.
    2. On the Settings tab, under Screen resolution, drag the slider, and then click Apply.
    3. When prompted to apply the settings, click OK. Your screen will turn black for a moment.
    4. Once your screen resolution changes, you have 15 seconds to confirm the change. Click Yes to confirm the change; click No or do nothing to revert to your previous setting.

    Note
    To open Display, click Start, click Control Panel, click Appearance and Themes, and then click Display.
    A higher screen resolution reduces the size of items on your screen and increases the relative space on your desktop
    You can switch your screen resolution temporarily to 640 X 480 if you have games or other programs that are set to run at that resolution. To switch, right-click the game or program (on the desktop or on the Start menu), and then click Properties. Click the Compatibility tab, and then select the Run in 640x480 screen resolution check box. Your display reverts to its default resolution when you close the program.
    Your monitor and video adapter determine how much you can change your screen resolution. You may not be able to increase the resolution above a certain level.
    Changes to screen resolution affect all users that log on to the computer.
    Only the recommended screen resolutions are listed. For additional settings, click the Advanced button on the Settings tab, click the Adapter tab, and then click List all Modes. Select the resolution, color level, and refresh rate you want.
    Google is your friend

    We are all members helping other members. Please return here where
    you may be able to help someone else.
    After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.

    Get help with computer problems. Join Free PC Help here

    Donations are welcome. Read Here



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •