Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: [Solved] Some Difficulty staying "Connected".....

  1. #1
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    39

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Professional

    Default [Solved] Some Difficulty staying "Connected".....

    Hello FreePChelp....
    Hoping you are all well these days...! I've got an issue I wanted to talk to you about, and it is my hope that you have heard/seen these symptoms before and possibly know what the problem is right off.. The symptoms seem to be unique from anything I've seen before..
    So, first of all, the computer appears to "freeze up" with the little blue circle rotating counterClockwise while this is going on.. Here is the interesting part.. Whenever I go to control/alt/delete it usually connects immediately when that window becomes active (listing the pages that are open in c/alt/del).. Sometimes there is a delay, but usually it comes right back on..
    Does this sound familiar to you? I'm hoping so..
    Please get back on this when convenient, and thanks in advance for your help!!
    S
    PS I was unsure what category of problems to put this in.. If incorrect, please let me know....


  2. #2
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,272

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    XP Home / Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10

    Default

    Hi again,

    This could be a number of things, so let's try and cross a few things off the list.

    Let's try a 'Clean Boot'.

    Hold down the Windows key on your keyboard and press the R key.
    With the Run dialogue window open, type in msconfig and click the OK button.

    You should now be looking at the System Configuration window. Click on the Services tab.

    On the Services tab, youll notice a long list of services available on your PC
    First, check the box labeled Hide All Microsoft Services. <<<<<<<<<<< Important
    Next, click the Disable All button

    By performing these two steps, you have effectively turned off all services from third-party software developers. All Microsoft services remain intact and will be ready to load when you reboot Windows.

    Finally, click the OK button and reboot the system

    When you reboot, you may get messages that certain hardware and software are not unavailable. This is normal.

    Just be sure to hide all Microsoft services before you use the Disable All button. Otherwise, you may encounter boot up errors when you reboot your PC.

    Remember, running Windows like this is just temporary.



    To restore Windows to a normal start up functionality:
    • Start the System Configuration Utility again (MSCONFIG)
    • On the "General" tab:
    • Click to select "Normal Startup"
    • Click "OK"
    • Choose the "Exit with Restart" option to restart your computer.


    Is the system any better whilst in the 'Clean Boot'?

    Can also confirm what Operating system you are running.... is it Win7?
    Member of:
    UNITE

  3. #3
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    39

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Professional

    Default

    Hi Starbuck....
    I wanted to let you know the latest on what is happening with the computer after performing the above, but couldn't help but notice my last brief post to you was not shown on this thread.. In it I confirmed that I do have Windows 7, and also mentioned I was getting ready to reboot after performing the above.. Wondering where that post went....:/
    Anyway, just a quick note.. After performing the above, I got a window from MalwareBytes that they could not connect.. Also, I cannot get on AOL now.. It (AOL) just says that they have to "install new files" for me to connect.. I click yes, it reboots, then I get the same window wanting me to "install new files" again..........and the process keeps repeating.. Should I restore windows to normal or simply observe how things act while on Chrome for awhile...? Not sure how to proceed here.. Please let me know when you can.. Thanks again!

  4. #4
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,272

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    XP Home / Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10

    Default

    Hi Mike,

    but couldn't help but notice my last brief post to you was not shown on this thread.. In it I confirmed that I do have Windows 7, and also mentioned I was getting ready to reboot after performing the above.. Wondering where that post went....:/
    That's a mystery.
    Sometimes a post gets caught in the Mod filters for no apparent reason and then needs to be approved.
    I've checked and your post is not there.

    The issues you are experiencing whilst using the 'Clean Boot' are to be expected.
    Let me explain.....
    Typically when you start your computer, it loads many files and programs to customize your environment.
    A clean boot eliminates these optional features and loads only those files and programs that are absolutely required by the operating system it self.

    The idea behind the 'Clean Boot' is to see if the freezing still occurs... especially when using your browser.
    If the freezing stopped, it could point to a software conflict with one of the programs you use.
    Once you are satisfied one way or another regarding the freezing issue.....By all means follow the instructions to boot back into normal mode.

    Just let me know the results of using the Clean Boot.
    Member of:
    UNITE

  5. #5
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    39

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Professional

    Default

    I'm glad you explained that.. What we're doing makes more sense to me now... In thinking about this overall, I realized that most of the time the freezing happens (with the small blue "buffering" thing spinning clockwise), I am on AOL....:/ Sometimes I use AOL as my browser for very general things, and exclusively use their email platform (the main reason I still have AOL)..
    Upon realizing that AOL might be the culprit, yet being unable to access AOL due to what I mentioned in last post, I just went back to normal mode for now..
    When convenient, get back with me on this.. Thanks again for your help!

  6. #6
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,272

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    XP Home / Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10

    Default

    I realized that most of the time the freezing happens (with the small blue "buffering" thing spinning clockwise), I am on AOL....:/ Sometimes I use AOL as my browser for very general things, and exclusively use their email platform (the main reason I still have AOL)..
    Ok so you think that the problems may be linked to the AOL browser ..... a browser that hasn't been updated for 10 years!
    I'd say there's a good chance there.
    I honestly can't believe that anyone would want to use a 10 year old browser.
    You say that you use still use AOL because of the email..... Simple solution would be to access your AOL email account from another browser or from another email client.
    That way you can keep your AOL email and dump the 10 year old browser.

    How do I use other email applications to send and receive my AOL Mail?

    Or you could change to something like a Gmail account, transfer your AOL contacts and emails over.
    Then send all of your contacts an email with your new email address.

    How to Import Files From AOL Mail to Gmail

    There are solutions rather than sticking with an out of date browser.
    Member of:
    UNITE

  7. #7
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    39

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Professional

    Default

    Wow! Ten years?? Amazing, and obviously I did not know that.. I have to wonder what was going on then when I periodically install new files on the AOL set up.. Clearly that had to do with something else..
    I have tried accessing my AOL email platform through both IE and Chrome in the past, but the display is different and does not include some important options that I use regularly.. For the most part, I use Chrome as my main browser though.. Just curious........how could I update the AOL browser if I decided to do that, or is that even an option at this point? Ten years is a bit overdue.....
    Thanks for pointing that out!
    Anyway, just let me know your thoughts on the above and ultimately how you suggest I proceed...
    As always, thanks for your help!!

  8. #8
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,272

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    XP Home / Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10

    Default

    how could I update the AOL browser if I decided to do that, or is that even an option at this point?
    Unfortunately this is not an option:



    As you can see the browser has been discontinued and there has been no updates available for 10 years.

    So I'm afraid it's a catch 22 situation.
    You either keep the AOL browser and continue having problems or you dump the browser and use either IE or Chrome.
    Which may not give you the options you are used to.
    Member of:
    UNITE

  9. #9
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    39

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Professional

    Default

    Thanks for that info..! Just wondering the options here, and as I said before, I had no idea it was so outdated!
    At this point I believe that I'll just try and focus on browsing more and more with Chrome, since it's faster to begin with, not to mention works correctly.. Just curious........if I'm to get rid of the problem with AOL freezing, do I need to get rid of the browser itself (as in delete from system) or simply stop using it? Still trying to decide due to my previously stated interest in AOL's email platform, but again just weighing my options..
    Thanks again so much for your help on this..
    PS One further thing that I just remembered.. For some reason (even though I've reSet to original settings), I'm getting a window from MalwareBytes that "Real Time protection layers is off".. When I click on the setting to correct that it simply changes from "off" to "starting.....", and nothing changes ultimately in the overall settings.. Do you have any idea what might be happening there and how to fix the settings? Please let me know when convenient...

  10. #10
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,272

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    XP Home / Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10

    Default

    Hi there,

    if I'm to get rid of the problem with AOL freezing, do I need to get rid of the browser itself (as in delete from system) or simply stop using it?
    As it's so out of date, I'd recommend removing it from your system.
    There's no sense in keeping out of date programs..... they'll be full of security issues.

    I'm getting a window from MalwareBytes that "Real Time protection layers is off".. When I click on the setting to correct that it simply changes from "off" to "starting.....", and nothing changes ultimately in the overall settings..
    Do you have any idea what might be happening there and how to fix the settings?
    What version are you running?
    This was a known issue with the earlier downloads but was meant to be corrected in version 3.0.6.
    If you don't have version 3.0.6 you will need to remove your present version and then download a fresh copy of 3.0.6 (latest version)
    You can't install over the top of an earlier version.

    The latest version can be downloaded from: Here

    Also.... don't forget the realtime scanners will only work for the first 14 days.... unless you upgrade to the paid for version.
    After the 14 day trial period the program reverts to the free version without realtime scanning, you will also need to manually update the program before running a scan.
    Member of:
    UNITE

  11. #11
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    39

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Professional

    Default

    Hi Starbuck..
    I fully understand what you are saying regarding the AOL browser situation.. Given that is the problem and that ultimately I need to delete it from my computer, I suppose the "freeze" issue has been resolved..
    Regarding Malwarebytes, I have the Premium 3.0.6 version.. I'm getting the impression that this might be the one you have to pay for, but I've paid for nothing here.. Might ultimately be the problem! That being the case, do you feel I need to delete current program and install from the link you provided? Sounds like that might be the case.. Just let me know..

  12. #12
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,272

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    XP Home / Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10

    Default

    Regarding Malwarebytes, I have the Premium 3.0.6 version.. I'm getting the impression that this might be the one you have to pay for, but I've paid for nothing here..
    The 3.0.6 is the latest version.
    How long have you had this installed?
    When you installed it, did you already have the old version 2 installed?
    If so, did you uninstall the old version completely before installing the version 3 ?

    I have written a tutorial on how to install the version 3... Installing MalwareBytes V3


    When you start MalwareBytes, does it look like this:

    Member of:
    UNITE

  13. #13
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    39

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Professional

    Default

    I do not recall the particulars of when or how the latest Malwarebytes was installed, but if I had to guess, I'm thinking that I probably did not uninstall the previous program.. Ultimately right now it is not working despite my attempts at trying to change settings.. I believe I will just delete current program and reInstall new, free from the link you provided previously..
    Regarding what I'm seeing when I open the program, it does not appear the same.. In the upper left it says Malwarebytes/Premium.. Then underneath it says (You Are Not Fully Protected)........with an exclamation point below that......not what you want to see...:/
    Anyway, if you have other thoughts on this please let me know.. Otherwise I think I'll do the above, unless you mention otherwise....
    Thanks again for your help!

  14. #14
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,272

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    XP Home / Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10

    Default

    You have nothing to lose by removing malwarebytes and starting over again.
    Follow the instructions in the tutorial link I posted.
    Basically it means removing malwarebytes. ... Reboot .... download and run the 'Clean' program... Reboot. ... then install the latest version.
    It's all in the tutorial.
    Let me know how it goes.

  15. #15
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    39

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Professional

    Default

    Everything good on this end I'm happy to say! I removed the old Malwarebytes and installed the new one per your suggestion.. I ran the clean program and noticed that my status of the latest version is "current"...
    As always, thanks again for your help.. I'm sure I'll have other issues shortly to ask you about.....
    Take care and have a good weekend...!

  16. #16
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,272

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    XP Home / Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10

    Default

    Nice to hear everything is ok now.

    Glad I was able to help.

    Safe surfing.
    Member of:
    UNITE

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18-10-2014, 05:07 PM
  2. [Solved] Not connected to any network
    By Slumdog in forum Windows Vista
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-05-2014, 09:27 AM
  3. [Solved] USB Hard drive visible but not connected!
    By simmyjiff in forum Windows 8
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 17-04-2013, 10:39 PM
  4. Difficulty connecting to web sites
    By PEV in forum Web Browsers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28-02-2013, 09:36 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-11-2011, 09:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •