Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: router security

  1. #1
    FPCH Contributor bob12a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    627

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default router security

    How do I check my router security I now use a smart TV sony
    Bob
    Bob
    (bob12a)
    My 3D pictures need red cyan glasses to view
    medion MD8855,Win 7 IE8, Firefox/3, Avast,MS security essentials, NERO 9,malware bytes.Mailwasher pro ,6.54,Roboform,spybot S&D 1.6, Canon ixus 860 X 2,PS CS5

  2. #2
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,787

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi Bob,

    There is a decent article here - click here

    Check the bit on "Basic Settings You Should Change" first. There is a link on the page.

    Needless to say - don't attempt anything that you don't understand
    Start by doing what's necessary: Then do what's possible; And soon you are doing the impossible - Francis of Assisi

    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  3. #3
    FPCH Contributor bob12a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    627

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Thanks Ken
    Out of my knowledge range
    Like you said I Don't know what Iam doing leave it lone
    Bob
    Bob
    (bob12a)
    My 3D pictures need red cyan glasses to view
    medion MD8855,Win 7 IE8, Firefox/3, Avast,MS security essentials, NERO 9,malware bytes.Mailwasher pro ,6.54,Roboform,spybot S&D 1.6, Canon ixus 860 X 2,PS CS5

  4. #4
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,787

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi Bob

    Some of the "basic" stuff should be possible.

    Which make and model router do you have ?
    Start by doing what's necessary: Then do what's possible; And soon you are doing the impossible - Francis of Assisi

    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  5. #5
    FPCH Contributor bob12a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    627

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KenB View Post
    Hi Bob

    Some of the "basic" stuff should be possible.

    Which make and model router do you have ?
    Bright box router2

    could be worrying in for nothing Ken
    Bob
    Bob
    (bob12a)
    My 3D pictures need red cyan glasses to view
    medion MD8855,Win 7 IE8, Firefox/3, Avast,MS security essentials, NERO 9,malware bytes.Mailwasher pro ,6.54,Roboform,spybot S&D 1.6, Canon ixus 860 X 2,PS CS5

  6. #6
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,787

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    could be worrying in for nothing Ken
    Probably Bob - I will take a look and see if I can find anything.
    Start by doing what's necessary: Then do what's possible; And soon you are doing the impossible - Francis of Assisi

    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  7. #7
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,787

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi Bob,

    Found this basic page .....click here
    Don't change anything yet.

    A few questions:

    Many router login screens have "Admin" as the username and the password.
    Is your username "Admin" ?

    According to this link - your password is on a sticker under the router itself.
    DON'T post this - but is this different from "Admin" ....in other words is it individual to the router and not a general password ?

    When you point the screen curser at the wireless icon [ bottom right ] does this indicate the name of the router or is it something like "Home Network" i.e. not able to identify the router?

    I have a few more questions - but this will do for the moment
    Start by doing what's necessary: Then do what's possible; And soon you are doing the impossible - Francis of Assisi

    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

Similar Threads

  1. Router security
    By bj43cj47 in forum Windows 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-05-2015, 10:36 PM
  2. router security change
    By edwardgregory in forum Windows Vista
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2011, 09:09 PM
  3. Router Security Problem
    By Quacker in forum Networking
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 19-04-2009, 06:00 PM
  4. Router, computer security settings?
    By mred in forum Networking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-09-2008, 08:25 AM
  5. wireless router security
    By nickos in forum Networking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19-05-2008, 05:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •