Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 44

Thread: [Solved] Cartridges not recognized

  1. #1
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default [Solved] Cartridges not recognized

    I have windows 7home premium and an Epson XP 412 expression AIO printer. This has worked fine until yesterday. Just after printing an image (downloaded off a forum) when I tried printing another image it said the cartridges are not recognized.
    They are of the 'much cheaper variety' obtainable online and have worked fine until now. The opportunity to remove the status monitor does not arise in my set-up which has been offered and worked in other configuarations. It does show a cartridge as in need of replacement but knowing the maker there may be plenty of ink left. It does not show any lack of ink when printing images.
    Jim

  2. #2
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,859

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    It does show a cartridge as in need of replacement
    I've had this with cloned cartridges too.
    You are sure there is ink in there - but you are being told that there isn't any !!

    Try replacing the cartridge with a new one and see if this solves the "....not recognised" message too.
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  3. #3
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    I have now replaced the cartridge that was showing empty but it is still not printing. It does not show the cartridge as being empty though. I have tried deleting the printer and re-installing it but it still does not print. It does not repeat the message about not recognizing the cartridges though.
    Jim

  4. #4
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    I have tried something else that I thought may be needed, I needed to 'add a printer' back into the computer. Here is where it gets confusing for chaps like me, they ask for a password. On looking at the router there is a WI-F pass word key. There is also a router password and they are different. Neither of them worked anyway.
    The MAC address 'failed' on the 2nd attempt. I assumed it was the same as I had not altered it.
    I suppose I could always try a direct usb cable connection as that almost always works.
    Jim.
    Last edited by mij; 23-07-2017 at 01:18 AM.

  5. #5
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,859

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi Jim,

    When you say you tried to "Add a Printer" - presumably this was a wireless setup in your home network?
    I doubt that this needs to be done as you say that it was actually working.

    Try the USB cable first.
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  6. #6
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    It was working before I 'removed a printer', yes. I assumed that the action of removing the printer from the Windows7 software removed the printer et al.

    I connected the printer via the usb and then rebooted and before I could log back in it started printing two that were obviously left in the queue from yesterday.

    Jim.

  7. #7
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    A BTW is that the troubeshooter in 'Devices and Printers' says that the ethrnet controller doesn't have a drivers also, that the USB controller doesn't have a diver either.
    Jim.

  8. #8
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,859

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Have you tried re-installing the drivers from the CD that came with the machine Jim ?
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  9. #9
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KenB View Post
    Have you tried re-installing the drivers from the CD that came with the machine Jim ?
    No I have not, When plugging in the USB it automatically loads a driver from within W7 I presume. I have also looked up the Epson site looking for printer installation info but the PDF I get is unhelpful. There does not seem to be an updated driver for it either- well not with my looking anyway. It might be helpful if they could distinguish between WI-FI password and router Password. They do not say which is required.
    I am unable to locate the original driver CD or instructions.
    jim

  10. #10
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,859

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    The drivers for your XP 412 are here - click here

    You will need to select the Operating System from "Filter content ......"
    Make sure you know if you have 32 or 64 bit.

    Then select the latest driver from the list.[ Driver 7.14 ]

    When you download it - it will probably go into the downloads folder.
    If you can - select Desktop before downloading to make it easier to locate.

    ==============
    You were probably able to print from the cable as Win 7 has basic drivers installed.
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  11. #11
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    I have done that.
    It seems I have the printer in twice once as it self Epson XP 412....series and
    Epson XP 412....series (copy one)
    Both show a page about to print (similar but not the same) and there it stops and goes no further. It does not print
    Jim

  12. #12
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,859

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi Jim

    It sounds as if you have 2 installations of the software - no problem with this.
    You can delete one if you wish.

    The page shown about to print - this is probably the cause of your problem. It may show "paused" or "error" next to this.
    There will be an option to abort or delete this page from the toolbar at the top.
    Try this so that there is nothing showing in the print queue.

    Then try printing again.
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  13. #13
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    That (2 cop[ies of the printer) has been the case always.
    I have tried what you said above (downloaded and installed the 64bit version) and when I tried to print a page I got the window which is like it's going to print but doesn't. Instead it says.......

    'You cannot print offline. Connect the product to computer and turn the power on. Click [Online] when displayed, or click [Print Queue] and change settings to Online settings.

    Click [Cancel] when displayed to cancel printing.'
    The print queue was empty at this stage.
    So the printer via the router doesn't work (I assumed we wanted it to go via a wireless connection and not the USB cable).
    Jim.

  14. #14
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,859

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi Jim

    Does this help - click here
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  15. #15
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Unfortunately not Ken, but thanks for your tenacity with this. I got the same message :-You cannot print offline. Connect the product to computer and turn the power on. Click [Online] when displayed, or click [Print Queue] and change settings to Online settings.

    Click [Cancel] when displayed to cancel printing. That makes me want to plug in the USB cable again but I know that is what I don't want.
    jim

  16. #16
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,859

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi again,

    does this make any sense at all ?
    It is supposed to be taking you through the wireless setup for your printer.
    click here

    The "Searching SSID" [ video ] is looking for available networks.
    Yours should be identified.
    If you click on this and it asks for a password it is the network password that you need.

    You said earlier that you were asked for a password.
    Sometimes the initial installation suggests that you change the network password - did you do this or is it still the same ?
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  17. #17
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Yes I have gone through this process and it all shows 'PASS'. It prints this out as well.
    There are two things on that print out that show as 'Disable' and that is the Epson Connect and the Google Cloud Print.
    I would switch these on if I knew how.
    It shows a window as if going to print but stops short of transferring the info to the printer. I then find I am unable to close the window using the redr X in the top right hand corner.
    Jim.
    Last edited by mij; 31-07-2017 at 05:28 PM.

  18. #18
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    I have two bits of ransomeware that are showing their ugly windows and keep popping up. Can you get rid?
    One is malwarebytes (since my last problems here I think) the other is driver-reviver and that pops up twice as often.
    Jim

  19. #19
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,859

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi Jim,

    Whilst Malwarebytes is a legitimate piece of software [ not ransomware ] Driver Reviver is not desirable on your system.
    I will ask Pete to take a look as there may be other issues.

    We can continue with your printer after Pete gives you the all clear.
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  20. #20
    Valued Donating Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    706

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Ok. will do. The malwarebytes although legitimate does pop up every time I switch on the computer. Does this mean that nowt can be done to remove it?
    Jim

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. USB - Device not recognized
    By Osprey in forum Windows 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-01-2014, 11:43 AM
  2. Epson printer & compatible ink cartridges
    By glenndo in forum DVD/CD Rom drives and Printer/Scanner Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30-11-2009, 06:45 AM
  3. Usb device not recognized
    By stu2k8 in forum Hard Drives, Pen, Flash and USB
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13-11-2008, 02:19 AM
  4. cd drive not recognized
    By manchi52 in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2007, 11:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •