Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Unplanned full system image!

  1. #1
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    391

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1

    Default Unplanned full system image!

    Hi Pete - or any other of you folk who can advise!
    I just tried to back up my files to an external hard drive and am shocked to say I last did this a full year ago which only took me minutes!
    However I don't know how it's happening a full system image is now being saved to the external hard drive which is taking a considerable time which leads me to fear that my ex hard drive will be full before the complete image is installed!
    So in anticipation of that happening should I clean the hard drive and just download my files a previously last year/
    Hope you can help
    ray

  2. #2
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    391

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1

    Default

    Further to my above post, in fact my external hard drive has apparently made a full copy system image without becoming full! Not a bad thing Iwould say!
    Ray

  3. #3
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,894

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi Ray

    I thought I would hold back to see if your hard drive would cope.
    Normally software that creates a system image checks the destination drive first.
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  4. #4
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    391

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1

    Default

    Thanks Ken
    So although not out of design Inow have a complete rescue should my hard drive fail or get infected by some nasty ransomeware ETC?
    Ray

  5. #5
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,894

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi Ray,

    If you are using Macrium Reflect you must be careful to keep the original rescue CD that you created.
    We did find a while back when testing this that the re-install failed if we used an updated rescue CD.
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  6. #6
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    391

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1

    Default

    no it's on an external hard drive Ken
    Ray

  7. #7
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,894

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Which system have you used to create an image of your external drive Ray ?
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  8. #8
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    391

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1

    Default

    Sorry for late reply Ken!
    I don't know to be honest Ken!
    I was just backing up as i hadn't for yonks and a message came up saying something I had now created an image of my whole sysytem or words to that effect.
    Ray

  9. #9
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,338

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10 Pro / Linux Mint (Sonya)

    Default

    I used to use Macrium for my images.
    But now I use this process.
    Although the title says... 'Win 10'... it works just the same on Win 8.

    How to create an image backup in Windows 10 and restore it, if need be
    Member of:
    UNITE

Similar Threads

  1. .exe - Bad Image
    By boogleboggles1 in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 07:22 PM
  2. Bad Image?
    By daikonboy101 in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-05-2009, 01:20 AM
  3. no image
    By chrissie in forum Windows XP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-03-2009, 08:07 PM
  4. ISO Image, what do I do?
    By Jonny5isalive in forum Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-01-2009, 12:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •