Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: [Solved] Is 2 router set up possible.

  1. #1
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    60

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default [Solved] Is 2 router set up possible.

    Afternoon everyone,

    It's been a while since I've been here and I would very much appreciate your help and advice once again please. Currently my broadband cabling enters the house into the lounge on the ground floor and it used to connect laptop, mobiles and tablets to the network wirelessly. We are on the finishing straight of converting our loft space into a dedicated pc/hobby space to be shared by wife and I. We have a Netgear (Virgin branded vmdg 490) router and a Sky SR101 router sitting here gathering dust. Would it possible to connect either router to the EE wi-fi and then connect pc's to either router using ethernet cables to obtain internet access for a pair of desktops? Failing that would a cable connection between either routers and the EE router be a solution, bearing in mind the cable would need to be run up the outside of the house and into the loft space?

    Thank you in advance for your replies.

  2. #2
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,923

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Hi again,

    Using a second router as a range extender is not straight-forward.
    If you want to have a go then take a look here - click here
    There are lots of videos on Youtube if you want more info.

    The simplest method - by far - is to use a range extender that uses the house mains wiring system.
    The main unit plugs in near the router.
    The extender unit uses a socket in the loft.
    Some extender units allow both wifi and Ethernet connections.
    Some have the option of having a usable mains socket within the unit - so you don't lose the use of the wall socket.

    See here - click here

    Some extenders use just one device.
    This is not as efficient as the method used in the video.

    Hope this helps.
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  3. #3
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    60

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Hi Ken,
    Thank you for the reply. I decided to go with the range extender in the end. Easy peasy to set up and works a treat.
    Thank you again.

  4. #4
    Administrator KenB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Wirral UK
    Posts
    8,923

    PC Experience:
    Learning all the Time


    Operating System:
    XP / Vista / Win 7 / Win 8 / Win 10

    Default

    Happy to hear that you have it sorted.

    Mine "drops out" every now and again and I have to unplug the Master for 10 seconds then plug in again.
    This doesn't happen often - but be aware just in case it happens to you
    For those who understand, no explanation is needed.
    For those who do not understand, no explanation is possible.


    MiniToolBox
    Network Test
    Wireless Test

  5. #5
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    81

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KenB View Post
    Happy to hear that you have it sorted.

    Mine "drops out" every now and again and I have to unplug the Master for 10 seconds then plug in again.
    This doesn't happen often - but be aware just in case it happens to you
    I'm glad you posted this, I occasionally get a loss of LAN but my wifi carrys on fine. I usually leave it and it comes back on its own.

Similar Threads

  1. [ Solved ] HELP. router hacked
    By bob12a in forum Malware Infection Removal
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 11-04-2015, 02:17 PM
  2. [Solved] Change router name and password?
    By Rosmon in forum Security Questions About Antivirus, Firewalls etc
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22-09-2012, 10:23 PM
  3. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-03-2012, 10:23 PM
  4. [Solved] router password forgotten
    By bob12a in forum Networking
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-02-2012, 06:38 PM
  5. [ Solved ] Connecting Windows ME to a router.
    By decemberboy in forum Networking
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13-01-2009, 11:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •