Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: [Solved] Which Virus programme to use on new laptop?

  1. #1
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    19

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home

    Default [Solved] Which Virus programme to use on new laptop?

    I have a HP laptop. Windows 10 home came pre installed and so did McAfee Virus scan and Firewall for 12 months.

    I have never used McAfee before, always used Windows Defender or security essentials. SAS and MWB free version.
    I do have the option to use Windows Defender.

    Which one would you use?

  2. #2
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,359

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10 Pro / Linux Mint (Sonya)

    Default

    The first thing that I would do is to remove McAfee from the system.
    I did this with my laptop.
    Experience with McAfee is not always good.
    Remove McAfee and then download and run the McAfee Removal Tool
    This will help to clean up all of the leftovers that McAfee leaves on the system.
    Before trying to remove McAfee you may find it's best to turn off Protection first.
    Right click on the McAfee icon on the taskbar and disable all protection from there.

    When McAfee has been removed.... then turn on Windows Defender.
    Windows Defender on Win10 is a lot better than it used to be and will be fine for most day to day surfing.

    always used Windows Defender or security essentials. SAS and MWB free version.
    Security Essentials is not compatible with Win10.
    SAS isn't what it used to be, so I wouldn't bother with that anymore.
    Malware bytes is still good.... but you need the latest version (Version 3 )

    MalwareBytes 3

    After the 14 day trial, it'll revert to the free version.
    If you decide that you only want to run the free version: install complete and then.....
    From the Dashboard click.. Settings >> My Account >> Deactivate Premium Trial.

    Last edited by Starbuck; 26-11-2017 at 02:07 PM.
    Member of:
    UNITE

  3. #3
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    19

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home

    Default

    Thank-you for the reply.

    I have installed MWB from your link.

    Is Windows Defender and MWB sufficient?
    Any need for a SAS replacement?

  4. #4
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,359

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10 Pro / Linux Mint (Sonya)

    Default

    Is Windows Defender and MWB sufficient?
    Any need for a SAS replacement?
    For normal surfing, Windows Defender will be good enough.
    One thing you can do to make it more secure.....

    Turn on the new anti-ransomware features in the Fall Creators Update

    MWB is far better than SAS... so need for a replacement if MWB is installed.

    Also, to save yourself a lot of hassle in the future, this tip may be beneficial to you:

    How to create an image backup in Windows 10 and restore it, if need be
    Member of:
    UNITE

  5. #5
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    19

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home

    Default

    Thank-you for the reply and tip on the anti-ransomware feature in Windows Defender.

    Regarding the last link, creating a back up image. So I should create an image on an external hard drive and a flash drive.
    I do not have and never have used an external hard drive. Is there any special type I need to buy?
    I am on a budget.
    I have had a look on an auction site and see it will plug into a USB port.
    Storage capacity ranges from 500gb to 4TB.

    For your information I do not have an optical drive on my laptop. I do have a blank flash drive.

  6. #6
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,359

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10 Pro / Linux Mint (Sonya)

    Default

    So I should create an image on an external hard drive and a flash drive.
    I use a 1Tb external drive for the image backup and a 16Gb usb stick for the 'Recovery Drive'.
    That said, you don't actually need an external drive that big.
    A 250Gb drive would do.
    My last Image is only recorded on the drive as 17.7Gb (the image backup will be compressed )
    If your laptop has Usb3 as well as Usb2 sockets (most modern systems have) I'd recommend that you go for a Usb3 external Drive.
    It'll be a lot faster than Usb2.
    If your not sure if you have a Usb3 connector on the laptop.... the inside is usually blue in colour
    Something like this will work well:
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Sonnics-2...-/292235756691

    I have had a look on an auction site and see it will plug into a USB port.
    Yes, the external drive will plug into a usb port.
    It's basically a large usb stick.
    If you buy usb3 ... it's backward compatible with Usb2.
    So Usb3 will plug into a Usb2 or a Usb3 port.
    Usb2 will not work in a Usb3 port
    .

    For your information I do not have an optical drive on my laptop. I do have a blank flash drive
    An optical drive is not a necessity as long as you have Usb.

    Just a quick word about the Usb recovery drive.
    When you create it, you will have the option of using an 8Gb stick or a 16Gb stick.
    The 8Gb stick will be ok if you just want to boot into the advanced options section.
    The 16Gb stick will be handy if you have problems with the image and need to reinstall 'Windows'.

    I always create one of each and keep them in the case with the External drive.
    Member of:
    UNITE

  7. #7
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    19

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home

    Default

    Thank-you very much for the help.

    I do have 2 USB 3.1 ports.

    I will order a 250GB 2.5" USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive and a 16GB USB stick.
    This will take me a while to get them delivered, I will update the thread.

    Thanks again.

  8. #8
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    19

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home

    Default

    The external hard drive and USB stick are on order.

    I have uninstalled McAfee Livesafe from the control panel, restarted, ran the MCPR tool, restarted.

    Windows Defender was already turned on when I looked.
    I have green ticks next to all four sections, "no action needed" "You're using the recommended settings".

    I would like to turn on the new anti ransomware feature you mentioned. I followed your link but when click Virus & threat protection >> Virus & threat protection settings there is no Controlled folder to toggle.

    I
    have
    Real time protection: ON
    Cloud based protection. ON
    Automatic sample submission. ON
    Exclusions.
    Notifications.

    I wonder if it is set up differently on my laptop because in 'Firewall and network protection' I see,

    Private (discoverable) network.
    Firewall is on
    Network is not connected.

    Public (non discoverable) network
    Firewall is on
    Network is connected.

    Then 5 blue clickable links, the 1st one is,"Allow an app through the firewall"

    When I double click on there a new box opens,
    Allow apps to communicate through windows firewall.

    There is no on off button so I assume it is on by default, what do you think? Do I need to take further action?

    Below is a list of 110 programs/apps, some are ticked, some not.

    I appear to have Windows Defender anti-malware client version 4.11.15063.447
    Engine version 1.1.14306.0

    Thank-you for any assistance.

  9. #9
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    19

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home

    Default

    I managed to find out I was using Windows version 15063 1703.
    There had been no automatic updates to 16299 1709 so I looked in the maintenance centre and started the update process.
    It took many hours.

    When the laptop turned on Windows Defender was in charge of device and performance help, firewall and network protection, app and browser control but Malwarebytes was dealing with virus and threat protection.
    I was unable to turn defender on to virus and threat protection until I had disabled Malwarebytes.
    Then Defender took over and I have turned on controlled folder access.

    Now I have enabled Malwarebytes again and it seems to be ok to run with Defender on too.

    In Malwarebytes, scan for rootkits is off, should I leave it that way or turn it on?

  10. #10
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,359

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10 Pro / Linux Mint (Sonya)

    Default

    I managed to find out I was using Windows version 15063 1703.
    There had been no automatic updates to 16299 1709 so I looked in the maintenance centre and started the update process.
    It took many hours.
    The fall Creators update is a very big download and is being rolled out gradually... so not everyone gets it at the same time.

    Now I have enabled Malwarebytes again and it seems to be ok to run with Defender on too.
    That's right.
    Windows Defender has to be turned on first and then MalwareBytes.
    For some reason Windows Defender detects MalwareBytes as an Anti Virus program and won't run with it.

    In Malwarebytes, scan for rootkits is off, should I leave it that way or turn it on?
    Leave that turned off.
    The reason being.... when turned on it will increase the scan time considerably because of the extra deep searching it does.
    Only turn this on if you have reason to believe there's rootkit activity on the system.
    Member of:
    UNITE

  11. #11
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    19

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home

    Default

    Thanks for the reply.

    The hard drive that you left a link for arrived today.
    I followed the instructions from you link in post 4 of this thread.

    Control panel, save back up copies of your files with File History, I see the message "File history does not recognise this drive".
    I assume "File history" should be turned on like in the image you proved?

    If I click "system image back up" "Create a system image" I see "This drive cannot be used to store a system image because it is not formatted with NTFS".

    What does that mean?

  12. #12
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,359

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10 Pro / Linux Mint (Sonya)

    Default

    Sorry about that, seems I forgot to add that part to the tutorial.
    Obviously the external hard drive came formatted to fat32.
    Ntfs is the native file structure for windows now.
    Fat32 was the old windows system.
    Ntfs allows for file permissions and larger single files.
    It's easy to reformat the external hard drive.

    https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.h...o-ntfs-format/

    This will explain.
    Member of:
    UNITE

  13. #13
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    19

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home

    Default

    Thank-you for the information.

    I went with option 2 for reformatting the external hard drive.

    Then followed the link to save a system image onto the external hard drive.
    "The following are backing up
    EFI system partition
    Windows C (system)
    Windows RE tools (system)"

    It only too about 15 minutes though which was quicker than I was expecting so checked to see what is on the external hard drive.
    "176GB free of 232GB"
    If I right click and click "open" there is a files that says "WindowsImageBackup" double clicking that take me to "LAPTOP-SSMGOVRM".
    Double clicking that shows me 5 files,
    "Backup 2017-12-1
    Catalogue
    Logs
    SPP metadata cache
    Mediald"

    I was then asked if I wanted to create a recovery drive so I disconnected the external hard drive and inserted the 16GB flash drive.
    This was successful and took about 2 hours 15 minutes. It says 7.18 GB free of 14.4GB.

    So I think they have both been successful, I will label both devices and keep in a safe place.

  14. #14
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,359

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10 Pro / Linux Mint (Sonya)

    Default

    Sounds like you are all set to go then.
    I run the 'WindowsImageBackup' about once a month to keep it up to date. ( some only run it every 6 months)
    If you re-run it at anytime, the old image will be over written with the new one.... but you don't have to re-run the usb recovery drive option.

    Now if you ever have problems due to a dodgy windows update, malware, ransomware etc you have nothing to worry about.... just run the image backup and away you go again.

    Just a couple of things to point out....
    The USB recovery drive ( the 16gb usb ) can be tested to make sure it's going to work for you.
    Just plug the usb drive in and then reboot the system.
    If the computer is set to boot from usb, the system will boot into the Recovery Advanced Options screen.
    If it doesn't, you will have to alter the boot settings in the bios.
    Always best to know and set this before you actually need it.

    If you decide to test it, here's a tutorial that will explain the Advanced options screens etc.

    How to Access and use Advanced Startup Options in Windows 10 (or 8)

    Another point worth knowing.... The Usb recovery drive is not exclusive to your system.
    So if your system is Win 10 64bit Home ( which is the standard) this usb recovery drive will boot any Win 10 64bit Home system to the recovery advanced options settings.
    So if you had another system, you wouldn't need to make another usb recovery drive.

    Glad I was able to help.

    Safe surfing.
    Member of:
    UNITE

  15. #15
    FPCH Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    19

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home

    Default

    Thank-you very much for your time and patience.

    I do feel better now knowing that if something goes wrong and I am unable start Windows I will be able to use the external hard drive to install the system image I created earlier.

    I have read the tutorial posted in post 14 a couple of times, quite a lot to take in.

    I always did have a fear of going into BIOS mode with my last laptop, I did get used to it last week because I felt I had little to lose knowing it was probably on it's last legs.

    I do not really want to go into BIOS mode with this new laptop right now, I am just grateful that it is a pleasure to use and should anything go wrong I stand a good chance of being able to get it functioning again.

    Thanks again, I really appreciate it.

  16. #16
    Administrator & Security Team Starbuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    4,359

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro / Win8.1 Pro / Win 10 Pro / Linux Mint (Sonya)

    Default

    I do feel better now knowing that if something goes wrong and I am unable start Windows I will be able to use the external hard drive to install the system image I created earlier.
    That's good. (it's always best to be prepared )

    My laptop was already set to boot from usb, so you may not need to change anything.... just depends on how the manufacturer sets the system up.

    If you need any advice in the future, you know where we are.
    Member of:
    UNITE

Similar Threads

  1. [Solved] Is Ransom note cleaner programme safe?
    By PEV in forum Security Questions About Antivirus, Firewalls etc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-08-2016, 05:43 PM
  2. [Solved] Do I have a virus?
    By Trazza in forum Malware Infection Removal
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 10-10-2015, 03:18 PM
  3. [Solved] Mcfee Anti Virus install problem!!
    By RoyPks in forum Security Questions About Antivirus, Firewalls etc
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-07-2015, 05:34 PM
  4. [Solved] Control F Virus
    By hedzabel in forum Malware Infection Removal
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 03-08-2013, 01:58 AM
  5. Virus Problem - Win 7, Acer laptop
    By jugsyd in forum Malware Infection Removal
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 24-06-2011, 11:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •