Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 33

Thread: views on Trusteer Rapport?

  1. #1
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Brechfa, Sir Gar - 'Heaven on Earth'
    Posts
    51

    PC Experience:
    technically incompetent


    Operating System:
    desktop with Ubuntu

    Default views on Trusteer Rapport?

    Hi all. My partner's bank has recommended 'Trusteer Rapport' which she has downloaded and is using. Does anyone have any experience or opinions on this security software? (it doesn't seem to be causing any problems)

    She is currently using a 'Norton' trial version security suite which came with the laptop. But will be changing to 'Kaspersky 2010' (as recommended here) very soon. Are there likely to be any conflicts or other issues?

    Also are there any pro's or con's to buying Kaspersky online or in the High Street?

    Many thanks in advance, Dave - low tech/no tech

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Jelly Bean's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Swansea, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,559

    PC Experience:
    I Try My Best.


    Operating System:
    Windows Vista - Ultimate

    Default

    Hello there.

    I have myself not heard of 'Trusteer Rapport' but was just looking and reading about it:

    Online Banking Security | Trusteer

    So I cannot give an opinion but I am sure others can.

    I did however check which banks are recommending it and mine is.

    Here are some questions asked to my bank about there software:

    Do I still need anti-virus software?

    Absolutely. Anti-virus software is a vital part of your computer’s defences, and you need to make sure it’s up-to-date. Rapport is designed to work alongside your anti-virus software and firewall - it’s not designed to replace them.

    How am I protected?

    Firewalls, anti-virus software and Rapport work in very different ways:

    Rapport strengthens your online security by ‘locking down’ the connection between your computer, keyboard and Alliance & Leicester internet banking. It helps stop your data going to counterfeit sites, so you can be safe in the knowledge that only you are transacting on your account.

    Anti-virus software helps to stop threats, by scanning your PC and looking for suspicious files, whereas firewalls hide your computer from attackers, and helps stop criminals getting data in and out of your computer.

    Rapport doesn’t replace the benefits of anti-virus and firewall software or your unique image and phrase when accessing our internet banking – it works alongside them to provide increased protection when transacting online.

    To defend your personal details, you need to use Rapport alongside anti-virus software and a firewall.

    Do I need to download Rapport onto every computer I use?

    Yes – in order to be fully protected when banking with us online, you should download Rapport onto each machine you use – just like anti-virus software.

    If you wish to download Rapport to a work PC, check with your employer as they may not allow downloads to their PCs.

    How do I know I’m protected?

    You need to look out for the Rapport icon which appears next to your browser’s address bar.

    You’re protected – the icon is green when your information is safe:.

    It can also be setup to protect data on other websites not just your bank.



    Kaspersky 2010 is good and as for high street purchase I would just say look to who is selling it at the best lower price.

    Buying online may mean you get a download.Buying from a store you would receive the install disk and key code to activate it.

    I see no conflict in running both the above named progams.

    I hope this helps?

    I am sure others will input with more information for you.

    PS: Get rid of Norton as soon as you can.If she has problems removing/uninstalling Norton then you can use the uninstall tool:

    Download and run the Norton Removal Tool
    Rwy'n ceisio fy ngorau......................

  3. #3
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Brechfa, Sir Gar - 'Heaven on Earth'
    Posts
    51

    PC Experience:
    technically incompetent


    Operating System:
    desktop with Ubuntu

    Default

    Thanks for the prompt and helpfull response Jelly Bean. We are gradually getting the impression that Norton isn't very good.

    Regards Dave


    Dysgwr y dw'i ond diolch yn fawr iawn i ti.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Jelly Bean's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Swansea, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,559

    PC Experience:
    I Try My Best.


    Operating System:
    Windows Vista - Ultimate

    Default

    Hey Dave your very welcome.

    Norton is a resource hog and a pain.

    If you decide to buy the install disk online remember some stores like Amazon charge for delivery so take that into consideration.Play.com do not charge for delivery on anything.

    Rydym i gyd yn rhaid i ddysgu yn rhai time.I am dal i fod yn dysgwr ac rydym bydd pob un yn dysgu am byth.

    My welsh is rather rusty so forgive me if my words sound a little strange.
    Rwy'n ceisio fy ngorau......................

  5. #5
    FPCH Distinguished Member Tootech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,617

    PC Experience:
    Shredded the teeshirt......


    Operating System:
    OSX

    Default

    JB, have you tried running the 2009/2010 Norton products?

    [QUOTE]Norton is a resource hog/QUOTE]

    Used to be the case but the last 2 versions are light on resource usage.

    Alot of people don't like Norton, but they ought to try the 2010 trial, it aint a bad product and worth a look.

    I agree that Kapsersky is a cracking piece of software

  6. #6
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Brechfa, Sir Gar - 'Heaven on Earth'
    Posts
    51

    PC Experience:
    technically incompetent


    Operating System:
    desktop with Ubuntu

    Default

    Hi all. Thanks for your advice.

    Tootech, thanks for the confirmation of Kaspersky and regarding Norton I think it's time to try something else anyway. We've been using using Norton for about 6 years now and to be honest haven't been totally happy with it for a while. At least it will give us a comparison (which I will be able to post on here, for what it will be worth!).

    Jelly Bean, thanks for the heads up about Norton. Kate has ordered Kaspersky (3 users x 1 year 25 delivered from Amazon). And yes thank you we'll use the Norton Removal Tool link asap. I'm only a novice so I can't comment on your welsh but I'll bet it's perfect.
    Hwyl am nawr!

    I will continue to watch this thread for opinions on Trusteer Rapport though.

    Once again i'm very grateful for all your help.

    Dave

  7. #7
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2

    PC Experience:
    Some Experience


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Home Edition

    Default my view on trusteer

    I have been using trusteer (rapport? I think its called) for a few months now since my bank asked me to download it. I have had no problems with it and to be honest I forget most of the time that it is there... which for me is the perfect security guard !
    Anyway... i'd use it... we all need as much security we can get, especially when banking online.. Someone I worked with has money re-directed from her account because of online crimials... ever since it made me much more aware and interested in protecting myself.
    I have

  8. #8
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4

    PC Experience:
    Beginner


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Professional

    Default

    After installing rapport on one computer, I accessed a A & L url, no problem. But when I try to access this A & L url from 2nd computer, it says it does not recognise this 2nd computer. I even installed Rapport on 2nd computer, both at home on the same netwok, says it does not recognise the 2nd computer, displayed 'the account has been locked' and I am asked to phone them to answer security questions.
    I had online chat with support but no joy.

  9. #9
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4

    PC Experience:
    Beginner


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Professional

    Default

    Hi All,
    WRT Rapport, its probably user hostile A & L. When 2nd computer displays, Computer not recognised, prompts with your ID & IF U forgotten your security details. Also a box where it does not say what to enter. If you enter ID then you can not go ahead and may lock your access. Then you have to go to a branch. In that box, you are suppose to guess and enter your place of birth, then A & L want you to feel like a magician. I have asked them to correct it and lets hope they do.

  10. #10
    Free PC Help Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Brechfa, Sir Gar - 'Heaven on Earth'
    Posts
    51

    PC Experience:
    technically incompetent


    Operating System:
    desktop with Ubuntu

    Default

    Hi All
    Thank's for your observations, I'll pass them on to Kate. But as she only uses the one laptop for the finances etc., I hope it will be ok.
    FYI she doesn't seem to be having any problems with it herself.
    Many thanks for your advice.
    Dave

  11. #11
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Windows Vista - Ultimate

    Default

    Hello Park,

    Regarding your first post:
    Did you change your password recently, from the first computer?

    We would like to try and see if Rapport has detected any suspicious activity on either of your computers.
    For this, we would like to ask you to send us the Rapport IDs to support@trusteer.com .
    You can find the Rapport ID by opening the Rapport console (Start > Programs > Trusteer Rapport > Rapport console) and clicking "more settings". Then copy and paste the Rapport ID string.

    If you have removed Rapport from a computer (or from both) you can send us the Rapport logs which may still be present on the computer.
    These can be retrieved by following the instructions in this link:
    Gathering Rapport Logs | Trusteer

    We will analyze the logs and reply to you with our investigation results.

    Thank you.
    We'd like to encourage everyone to submit their inquiries about any Rapport issues, directly to us.
    For more information, please visit: Get Support | Trusteer

    Sincerely,
    The Trusteer Technical Support Team

  12. #12
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Windows Vista - Ultimate

    Default

    Hello again Park,

    Our apologies, we have forgotten to address your second post.
    We find it a bit obscure, and would be glad to reply if you can clarify it for us.

    Thank you,
    Trusteer Support

  13. #13
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4

    PC Experience:
    Beginner


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Professional

    Default

    Hello Rapport Support,
    Sorry I did not access the forum for few days. Here are answers and bit more info.
    Did you change your password recently, from the first computer?
    NO.
    There are lots of logs there. So I will try and email you directly once I get the winzip or similar. Let me know if the logs of the activity day will suffice.
    Now I have also installed Rapport on the 2nd computer and also ticked that I am using public computer, as a psychological comfort from phising. The error 'Computer not recognised' is nolonger displayed.
    I will try again, Since I would be accessing from third computer, to see if the same error is displayed, once I sort out my 64 bit Vista, that refused to boot recently.
    Thank you.

  14. #14
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4

    PC Experience:
    Beginner


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Professional

    Default

    Hi ,
    The Trusteer Technical Support Team,
    I have also directly emailed you the Rapport ID.
    Regards.
    Park.

  15. #15
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    PC Experience:
    Beginner


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Professional

    Default

    Hello Trusteer Technical Support Team, I had problems. Please see below (sorry it's a bit long-winded).

    I found that when I uninstalled Rapport the problem immediately righted itself. Hope this is of interest / use.



    You are now chatting with Dor Fuchs (Support)

    Dor Fuchs: Hello and Welcome to Trusteer Support online response !
    Michael Hare: Hello. I'm having problems
    Dor Fuchs: How may I help you?
    Michael Hare: SInce I installed Rapport on my desktop PC I can't connect to my wireless router
    Dor Fuchs: What happens when you try to connect ?
    Dor Fuchs: Is there an error message ?
    Michael Hare: The connection was automatic. It doesn't connect any more.
    Dor Fuchs: Please try stopping Rapport temporarily and let us know if the problem has resolved. Please note this is not a permanent solution. You can stop Rapport by Choosing - Start Menu > Programs > Trusteer Rapport > Stop Rapport
    Michael Hare: I have already done this, and restarted the PC. It did not work.
    Dor Fuchs: In that case I'm afraid that the problem is not with Rapport. I suggest trying to contact the support team of the Routers manufacturer.
    Michael Hare: Well the router seems OK, as I am connected to it now using my laptop (which does not have Rapport installed). So what next?
    Dor Fuchs: One moment please
    Dor Fuchs: Still it seems that the problem is not related to Rappot as it presists while Rapport is not active at all. perhaps some configurations on your desktop have changed.
    Michael Hare: OK, how would that happen?
    Dor Fuchs: Threre are numerous reasons that may cause such a problem. I suggest searching for online forms where such a case has been dealt with successfully.
    Michael Hare: That's not an answer. What you are saying is, "don't ask us, try and find out for yourself". My router diagnostics are fine, my connection has never failed before, and now you are fobbing me off. Nice. Is this what Trusteer pay you to do?
    Dor Fuchs: I am very sorry Michael, but if you have stopped Rapport and the problem persists i find it very unlikely to be a Rapport related issue. As i am not in liberty to actively suggest actions which are not Rapport related i am directing you to assist the Internet. Not trying to frobb you off.
    Michael Hare: So is stopping Rapport the only course of action you'd recommend? You haven't even asked which OS/version I've got.
    Dor Fuchs: This is the first tool to diagnose whether the problem is caused by Rapport or not, as the software does not affect anything while it is not running.
    Dor Fuchs: in any case, we would like to investigate the problem. Can you please send us a problem report via Rapport's console ? It will send us Rapport logs from your PC which we can analyze. In order to do that: 1) Open Rapport Console (Start > Programs > Trusteer Rapport > Rapport Console). 2) Click on "Report a problem" in the "Help and Support" widget. 3) Fill in identifying details (such as your email and a detailed description of the problem) and send it to us. We will analyze the logs and get back to you with our investigation results.
    Michael Hare: I suspect the correct course of action would have been never to install Rapport. How can I send you a report when I don't have a connection?
    Michael Hare: Are you still there Dor?
    Michael Hare: Hello?

  16. #16
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Windows 7

    Default

    Meekl,

    Very different to the Rapport support I received! My issue was that after installing Rapport ALL of my Microsoft applications crashed then told me that they were not installed and that I needed to run setup... Full MS Office 2007 and Expressions suite would take me half a day to install so that was not an option. Like you I was now limited on communication as I could no longer access Outlook (my email app) so sending a problem ticket was no use as I couldn't receive any replies!
    Online Live Help went through the routine of "turn Rapport of blah blah" and when that still left me with the same problem they just said "OK uninstall Rapport". As soon as Rapport had uninstalled all my Micrsoft apps came back to life.
    This prooves that your issue may well be Rapport (as you already know) and that the 'advice' given to you by their support is wrong.
    Rapport makes low level changes to your OS and adds its own drivers so your issue is probably the result of these changes. Just uninstall Rapport and see what happens - I bet your connection will be instantly restored.

    Steve

  17. #17
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Professional

    Default Rapport?

    Rapport from Trusteer is definitely bad news...Google for "Rapport Problems" and you'll find all the blogs and forums you need. a well-maintained, properly secured pc does not need this or any of the problems that come with it...it appears to be an Israeli company, but I wouldn't be surprised to find there's a connection with Russia. also, look out for patronising posts from Trusteer support on the blogs and forums...they are usually accompanied by a post from some guy telling you how he and his brother both use Rapport and how wonderful it is!! you have been warned...more tips and info if you need it. x

  18. #18
    Administrator RandyL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA, Nebraska
    Posts
    4,974

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium-Vista Home Premium

    Default

    The main office is in Israel but I only know that by looking for it. Other than that I have no experience with them. Maybe they don't do business in the USA.
    We are all members helping other members. Please return here where you may be able to help someone else. After all, no one knows everything and you may have the answer that someone needs.

    Get help with computer problems. Join Free PC Help here

    Donations are welcome. Read Here

  19. #19
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2

    PC Experience:
    Pc Guru


    Operating System:
    Windows 7- Home Premium

    Default

    I've had Rapport installed for nearly a year now and have never had any problems. From the technical information I've read about it, it looks like it is a useful addition to any PCs security. There's a guide here on how to set it up to protect other websites (such as Facebook / Hotmail / MySpace etc) Link: Setup Trusteer Rapport to protect other websites

    For anti-virus software you can get a very good free program called Avast Link: avast! Free Antivirus - Download Software for Virus Protection

    I also use Spyware Blaster Link: SpywareBlaster | Prevent spyware and malware. Free download.

  20. #20
    FPCH New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1

    PC Experience:
    Very Experienced


    Operating System:
    Windows XP - Professional

    Default

    Aloha,
    I became somewhat skeptical after installing Trusteer-Rapport. I use FireFox4 on Win-XP-SP3. Trusteer-Rapport reconfigured firefox, eliminated several extensions and changed its appearance slightly. It didn't take long to discover that Rapport could not be un-installed by ordinary means, and the background process could not be stopped by the OS or several other programs I use to keep things running smoothly. I am fairly computer knowledgeable and was able to uninstall, partly by disconnecting the Internet cable. But such things give me bad feelings about what is really happening. I would like to think Bank of America has good intentions by offering this program, but I'm beginning to think this may not be altogether what it seems.
    ---Noelani---

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •