• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Another AOL connection problem...

Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
80
Location
Co. Durham
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#1
Hi, any help is much appreciated...

I've recently downloaded Spybot from a link I clicked on in a previous reply to one of my posts. When I restarted my computer a box came up asking to ALLOW or DENY a change. I wasn't not sure what this change was, so I clicked on DENY, thinking this was the sensible thing to do. I thought it was some kind of Virus or Spyware warning etc.

I tried to access AOL Broadband in the usual way but it now comes up with "Error 720: a connection with the remote computer could not be established"

I have tried several times and contacted AOL several times also. They have tried to reset the connection settings from their end by creating new passwords etc, but still no joy. I'm using a BT Voyager 105 modem and the line is fine with 2 solid green lights on.

They instructed me to delete Winsock and Winsock 2 settings which I did but I'm not sure what this is.

I have since uninstalled Spybot by the usual method of Remove Programs in the Control Panel but it seems like some settings for the modem or whatever have been changed or lost.

Things were working fine till until I clicked on DENY on the Spybot box. Is this the source of the problem do you think?

How do you think I could get up and running again?

Much appreciated, Jon
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
80
Location
Co. Durham
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#5
Re-install XP? Not sure what else to do.

Hi, I've been having problems for a while now ever since I installed Spybot. I cannot access the internet, either through AOL or internet explorer. I was using a usb modem and this worked fine till I clicked on DENY when it came up with a message. Seems as if clicking DENY instead of ALLOW has changed some settings for the modem.

I haven't been able to get connected through a router either. To be honest it's getting a bit tedious, having been to shops for help 5 times now and don't seem to be any further forward.

I've uninstalled and re-installed the modem drivers, AOL and done various system restores with no success. I've contacted AOL numerous times with no joy and tried all their troubleshooting pages.

Can't I just format the hard drive and start from scratch? I know this is probably the last resort but I don't seem to be getting anywhere and it's continuously costing me money for internet access I'm not getting.

Any help is greatly appreciated before I tear my remaining hair out. Thanks, Jon-Paul
 
Last edited:
W

Wolfeymole

#6
You have come back with exactly the same issue as before mate.
What happened and what did you do on the previous occasion?
 

Goku

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
1,570
Location
India
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#7
Well Johnny, it seems its the same problem that you had last time. If it is, then can you please elaborate a little on how you got it fixed the last time? Armed with that information, we might be able to make some headway in your case and, if possible, guide you through a solution. :)

-- Goku
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
80
Location
Co. Durham
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#8
I didn't get it sorted the last time, it's still on-going, having tried all sorts of things with help from AOL and a computer shop. They said it may have been something to do with a network card and supposedly rectified the issue at the shop. Some Winsock settings were repaired also.

Since trying both the router and usb modem I'm still no further forward. I haven't been able to access the internet via the router from day 1, but the usb modem was working fine to begin with.

Is it fairly straightforward to remove everything from the hard drive and start again? I have the original XP and hardware discs, etc. Would this restore all settings?

Thanks again
 

Goku

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
1,570
Location
India
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#9
I didn't get it sorted the last time, it's still on-going, having tried all sorts of things with help from AOL and a computer shop. They said it may have been something to do with a network card and supposedly rectified the issue at the shop. Some Winsock settings were repaired also.

Since trying both the router and usb modem I'm still no further forward. I haven't been able to access the internet via the router from day 1, but the usb modem was working fine to begin with.

Is it fairly straightforward to remove everything from the hard drive and start again? I have the original XP and hardware discs, etc. Would this restore all settings?

Thanks again
Well, I don't usually advise to do a reformat for such small issues but seeing your desperation, I think it would be the right choice for you. Firstly, you need to back up any file or folder you consider important on a safe location so that you may restore it after the format. After you have done a reformat, all Windows settings will be restored to default and therefore you must not experience the connectivity problems stated above.

However, I would rather suggest that you wait for our Networking Specialist (Kelly) to have a look at it and know his take on it. He might be able to suggest you some solution that might save you a big load of trouble. Just hang in there till he comes and reviews your position. Good Luck. :)

-- Goku
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#10
Hi Jonny:
There are a few basic things you need to understand unfortunately.

First of all Spybot Search and Destroy uninstalls clean. Once uninstalled in spite of what you think it can not be the source of your problem. You could reinstall it and choose your options differently but I'm sure it will make no difference.

You have a connection problem with AOL and neither AOL or a computer shop can straighten it out. It is of no surprise that a shop cannot figure out AOL issues as they are unique.

The endless possibilities of AOL issues go way beyond anything anyone can help you with. I could write a book on it. The bottom line is it's most likely related to the AOL software. If AOL can't get you connected then that says something about their software in my opinion.

Your best bet is to use a different ISP. If that doesn't work then you likely have an infection so bad that a reinstall may be your only option. It's also possible that AOL has changed your settings to the point that the only way to get rid of it is to reinstall Windows.

Nobody can help you with AOL except AOL. If they failed then uninstall AOL if you can. If you can't then reinstall Windows to get rid of every trace of it.

Once Windows is reinstalled use a different ISP since AOL could not help you. Make sure you are protected and update Windows.

After you reinstall Windows and use another ISP I'm sure our Techs can help you configure your hardare and software to resolve your issue.
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
OSX
#11
Using the link that Wolfeymole provided in post #2, try this one:

You can reinstall your modem as follows:

BT Voyager 50 (or 100/105) USB DSL Modem

1. Click Start, then Settings and Control Panel.
Windows XP users: click Start, and then click Control Panel.
2. In the Control Panel, double-click the Add/Remove icon.
Windows XP users may need to click Switch to classic view for this option to be visible.
3. Select the BT Voyager 50 (100/105) modem and then click Remove.
4. Once the drivers are uninstalled, restart your PC.
5. Explore your broadband CD and run the Doctor.exe (Doctor100.exe/Doctor105.exe) file.
6. Once this is complete you are ready to install the modem drivers again. Go to AOL Keyword: Broadband Drivers for installation guides and modem driver software.

If that doesn't work, I'd remove the AOL software and then reinstall it. You may have to backup your AOL files beforehand as I don't know if all versions of AOL ask if you want to backup your user files first.
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
80
Location
Co. Durham
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#13
Hi Kelly, I'll give that a go when I get home. Many thanks. I'm pleased there are guys like yourselves out there!
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
80
Location
Co. Durham
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#14
Thanks RandyL, I didn't expect help from all the way across the pond! I'll give it a shot, much appreciated.
 
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
80
Location
Co. Durham
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#15
Hi Randy, there didn't seem to be a Doctor file on the broadband cd. But good news, I'm up and working now! I uninstalled the modem drivers and re-installed them and it came up with a message from AOL. All I had to do was put in the master screename and password and I was on in seconds! Not sure what's changed but something's worked. The guys at the shop I took the PC to changed settings for the network card so this seems to have been the problem all along. Thankyou all for your help, much appreciated. I'll know where to go from now on.
 

help4me

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
395
Location
USA
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Basic
#16
This thread appears to be solved and is now closed
If you are the original poster of this thread and need it re-opened, then please PM (Private Message) an Administrator or Moderator