• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Another xp windows wont start thread

corradoman

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
11
#1
Hi all, Well this is my story, I was downloading some high resolution pics of cars and tried to send the page to my mate via outlookl when eerything went bananas obviously the file was to big to send so i tried stopping it and it froze so had to press the reset button, My pc is a packard bell i extreme by the way, On restart it just keeps looping and wont restart as soon as it gets to where it offers to restart in sfe mode or the last good config and the countdown starts windows goes to sart then shuts down again and loops, The only thing it will let me do is press esc and f2 and goes into the blue bios cmos screen, I have no back up disc or reinstall discs( cos im an idiot) and should of done this when i bought it! Ay help would be appreciated as all my wifes uni work is on it not to mention pics from the last three years hols, would i be able to use a usb lead to send everything to my laptop
Thanks in advance...
 

corradoman

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
11
#3
Ive tried all of them and it just loops, as soon as windows tries to start you can hear it clicking off and the screen goes blank and starts again
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#4
Your PC might have a recovery partition. Press F10 on starup to access it(may vary on different pc's)
NOTE: You may loose all data if you restore to factory settings. This is a last resort option
 
W

Wolfeymole

#5
Ok, go into the bios and alter the settings to Default and reboot and then get back to us.
 

corradoman

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
11
#6
maynardvdm said:
Your PC might have a recovery partition. Press F10 on starup to access it(may vary on different pc's)
NOTE: You may loose all data if you restore to factory settings. This is a last resort option
Tried that Only esc and f2 seem to do anything
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#8
The improper shutdown has caused file corruption in XP's start up files.

You need to access the Recovery Console to run hard drive error checking. Some computers have the RC built in. When you first start the computer do you see an option to boot to the recovery console?

If not, you will need an XP cd to access it, or download the bootable cd version of the RC from:

http://www.thecomputerparamedic.com/files/rc.iso

It has to be burnt as an "Image" file.

Once in the RC, type in chkdsk /p and press enter (note the space between the k and the /). When complete, type exit and restart the computer.
 

corradoman

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
11
#9
Got into bios/cmos setup utility there are seven headings on the left hand side, which one do i choose to alter for default
standard cmos features
advanced bios features ?
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#10
Don't worry about the bios. It doesn't have anything to do with your problem.

I think Wolfey was thinking of something else.
 

corradoman

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
11
#11
Burnt recovery cd, which has been run on the computer, unfortunately is still looping and disc still running, how do i access the programme on the disc?
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#12
Seth said:
Once in the RC, type in chkdsk /p and press enter (note the space between the k and the /). When complete, type exit and restart the computer.
Isn't it /r or /f , i have not heard of /p - what does that do?
 

corradoman

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
11
#13
managed to get to recovery console and when you click on enter the screen just goes black and nothing happens! you then have to alt delete to start all over again! I think its a smash up with a sledge hammer job
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#17
Hi everyone;
If I understand right your problem started with a freeze and upon trying to restart you were "caught in a loop". Your system would not boot and kept restarting.

After you created an image disk of the Recovery Console it booted to it but went to a blank screen after you pressed enter. Note that we are not in Windows at this time.

At this time I would suspect hardware issues. My first guess would be over heating.

A failing hard drive or vid card or memory might be the cause too.

Do any of you wonderful moderators and techs have an idea or opinion on this being a probable cause?

RandyL
 

corradoman

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
11
#18
And the saga continues! i did notice the fan has been making a lot of noise recently! I Wonder..... would that cause it
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#19
The fan should be working too avoid heat related problems. So make sure the fan is working 100% otherwise you have to clean or replace it.