• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Bios text unreadable.

eliza

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#1
hello to you.
Until recently i have been able to enter bios using the delete key and do what ever i want. the text is mostly yellow on a blue background.
Now when I enter bios I get the blue background and white lines vertical mostly and sometimes a series of vertical yellows symbols same color as the text.
I took these four pics with a cannon digital camera A650.
i have replaced the motherboard battery. reset Cmos .
no change. each time I go to bios the resulting screen can be Quite different.
If I let the computer boot up normally It is fine and everything works as normal.
I have a K7 M852 motherboard with AMD 2.5 CPU.
Graphics card is a AGP radeon 9200 SE.
Hope this is enough info,
thanks from
Eliza.

PS the shiny glow on the screen is the flash reflection.




 

eliza

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#2
addition of closeup

thought I would add a close up of the pic with the yellow sqiggles.

the computer is not a name brand and was made up for me about 4-5 years ago.
thanks.




 

Tootech

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
1,618
#3
Looks like a corrupt BIOS, but everything works???

I'd be tempted to find the BIOS for your board and reflash it.

It might go horribly wrong, so question is 'Do you really need the BIOS features?' If not leave it alone, if you do, have a go at flashing it.
 

eliza

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#4
Flash???

Hello Tootech, thanks for your advice. Quote/ "I'd be tempted to find the BIOS for your board and reflash it.It might go horribly wrong," /end quote.
Not sure what you mean by "reflash" and what could go wrong?
Quote/" Looks like a corrupt BIOS, but everything works???"/end quote.
Yes ,everything works fine.
'Do you really need the BIOS features? I want to add a extra harddrive but cannot because i have to go into bios for it to be recognised..

If the Bios is corrupt does that mean getting a new motherboard?
or is it the CPU.
thanks from Eliza.
 

eliza

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#5
bios scan

Here are results from a bios scan I have just done.
maybe someone else can make some sense out of it
thanks from Eliza.

- (system summary) Good Bad Download
Check foro BIOS Update
BIOS
Phoenix-Award

Disk Drives
WDC WD800BB-00JHC0 Good
Display adapters
RADEON 9200 SE Family (Microsoft Corporation) Bad
RADEON 9200 SE SEC Family (Microsoft Corporation) Bad
DVD/CD-ROM drives
LITE-ON COMBO SOHC-5232K Good
IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
VIA Bus Master IDE Controller Bad
Keyboards
Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard Good
Mice and other pointing devices
PS/2 Compatible Mouse Good
Monitors
Plug and Play Monitor Good
Network adapters
Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter Good
VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter Bad
Ports
Communications Port (COM1) Good
ECP Printer Port (LPT1) Good
Processors
AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2500+ Good
Printers
Brother HL-2040 series Good
Sound, video and game controllers
VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller (WDM) Bad
System Devices
VIA CPU to AGP2.0/AGP3.0 Controller Good
VIA Standard Host Bridge Bad
VIA Standard PCI to ISA Bridge Bad
Universal Serial Bus controllers
VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller Good
VIA USB Enhanced Host Controller Notes

BIOS Type: Phoenix-Award
BIOS Date: December 29th 2003
BIOS ID: 12/29/2003-KT400A-8235-M852C-00-None
BIOS OEM: M852 12/29/2003 - 6.00 PG
Chipset: VIA 82C3189 rev 128
SuperIO: ITE 8705/SiS 950 rev 2 at port 002E
Manufacturer: VIA Technologies, Inc.
Motherboard: KT400A-8235
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
5,442
Location
Lancashire
#6
First a laymans description of "Flashing" a BIOS, means to update with a new version, this wipes the BIOS and reinstalls new firmware. Unfortunately the process is known to sometimes go wrong, resulting in no BIOS at all.
Considering the BIOS itself is showing as OK I doubt that is the source of the problem, but some quite worrying bad reports, and especially the VIA Bus Master IDE Controller Bad, along with other bad reports doesn't look too good. However Tootech may have some answers, though the one thing I suspected, the graphics card also shows as bad, it just may be all down to that. However wait for a reply from Tootech before going further, he will confirm whether I am right or wrong.
Nev.
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#7
Hi guys.
I'm the last person to offer advice on this but I did have a couple questions if you don't mind.

If it has a graphics card and onboard graphics would going into the BIOS cause it to use the card or onboard?

I too would suspect a graphics problem but considering what Nev pointed out I'm wondering if it's a mobo problem. Could that be an issue with a card or onboard graphics?

Like I said this is not my area. Just trying to help.
 

eliza

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#8
Hi guys.

If it has a graphics card and onboard graphics would going into the BIOS cause it to use the card or onboard?

I too would suspect a graphics problem but considering what Nev pointed out I'm wondering if it's a mobo problem. Could that be an issue with a card or onboard graphics?

Like I said this is not my area. Just trying to help.
Thanks for that yes it is a thought although the motherboard does not have onbord graphics.
 

eliza

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
7
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#9
solved.

The monitor was the problem. for some reasons the factory setting had been changed.
And the monitor Basic vesa wasn't working. so when I did a factory restore all was readable in the Bios.
Thanks everyone for your help.