• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Can i run this graphics card?

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
ASRock N68C-S UCC with DDR2 1066 DDR3 1600 Dual channel written next to it.
You wrote this earlier ( and the Crucial scan confirms the motherboard )
Your motherboard supports both DDR2 and DDR3 RAM. ( DDR3 is faster )

I don't know if you saw the full list of compatible RAM ?
Click on "Show all Compatible Computer Memory"
click here

Take the part number and Google it if you want to find the UK equivalent.
 

Helcaraxe

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Location
Taunton
PC Experience
Some Experience
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but your motherboard will not support either of those CPU's. The AMD Piledriver is AM3+ socket whilst the Intel i7 is socket LGA1155, your present motherboard supports AM2/AM2+ and AM3 CPU's.

You would need a different board for either of those CPU's as one is Intel and one AMD. Intel are more expensive and considered by many to be better than AMD but that does not mean that AMD's offerings are not any good, it's down to your personal preference and budget.

The Overclockers site you link has some very good offerings from AMD and Intel and frequently have weekly offers on so it can be worthwhile regularly checking for good deals.
 

Helcaraxe

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Location
Taunton
PC Experience
Some Experience
I'm afraid it doesn't look like it will support that particular CPU. The Piledriver you are looking at has a TDP of 125w whereas the board you have linked only supports CPU TDP up to 95w.

It will run this CPU though http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CP-338-AM&groupid=701&catid=1967&subcat=1825 . The board will take upto 16gb of RAM as long as you are running 64bit Windows OS. The graphics card you have and the HD7950 will both run on this board too but bear in mind the HD7950 requires a PSU with 500w or more output and also it needs two 75w six pin connections.
 

Curtis Argent

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
PC Experience
Some Experience

Vr5fx

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2011
Location
Kent
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Yup, that motherboard will take that CPU.

-Vr
 

Vr5fx

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2011
Location
Kent
PC Experience
Very Experienced
No.

Intel and AMD need different types of mother board.

The AMD 6-core will need a AM3 socket type, which is what you have listed.

The Intel i5 need a LGA 1150 socket type.

-Vr
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi

Your CPU is socket 1150 ( fits on 1,150 contacts )

The m/board linked to has socket 1155 ( 1155 contacts )

So no - they are not compatible.
The 1150 is a replacement for the 1155 so the m/board that you link to is actually older design than one with socket 1150.
The 1155 was introduced 2011 and 1150 was introduced earlier this year.
 

Curtis Argent

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
PC Experience
Some Experience
Ok, so how about this m/board. It says that it has x4 DDR3 so i'm guessing that you can put 4 different DDR3 ram cards on it? Also, as i posted a long time ago the ram i'm using at the moment is only DDR2 so im guessing that wont be usable with this m/board. And also, would you be able to clarify that this m/board would be compatible with the specs below?

Intel i5 3570K 3.4ghz
AMD radeon hd 7950
[h=3]8GB Kit (4GBx2), 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-10600 (Part # CT2KIT51264BA1339)[/h][h=3]4GB, 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-10600 (Part # CT51264BA1339)

Thanks :)[/h]
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Intel i5 = click here This will be compatible with the m/board you linked to.

RAM DDR3 (10600 ) = 1333 Mhz ..... again will be compatible.

AMD radeon hd 7950 ........ will be compatible.

=============

DDR2 so im guessing that wont be usable with this m/board
They are not compatible.
DDR3 is a far better option anyway.
Twice as fast and uses less power.
 

Curtis Argent

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
PC Experience
Some Experience
Would this intel cooler be worth the buy? By this i mean will it be more efficient and cooling the i5 rather than the stock cooler that the processor comes with. I'm just curious.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Akasa-AK-CC...28383&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=intel+i5+cooler
Plus, the I5 that you linked me to says that it is socket 1155, does this still mean that i have to have a m/board with a 1150 socket?
One more thing, the post that i posted on the 3rd of October doesn't seem to have a link for me anymore? is this the same for you? because i cant remember the exact m/board that i linked was :)

Thanks.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
will it be more efficient and cooling the i5 rather than the stock cooler
I doubt that you would see much of a difference.

You would be better off making sure that the airflow through the case is as free as possible.
Make sure wires are out of the way.
Make sure that dust is kept to a minimum - especially around the CPU fan and case vents.
You could consider adding a case fan or if you don't fancy cutting hole(s) there is always a slot fan that fits directly into a PCI slot.
An additional fan would increase the airflow in the case.

does this still mean that i have to have a m/board with a 1150 socket?
If you select a CPU with 1155 connections then the m/board that you select to go with it must also have an 1155 socket
( explained earlier )

the post that i posted on the 3rd of October doesn't seem to have a link for me anymore?
We have been in the process of changing the board servers and some posts have gone missing.
It could be that the link you used on 3rd Oct may have been damaged in the changeover.
 
Top Bottom