• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Canon iP4850 Printer problem.

RoyPks

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
PC Experience
Beginner
Canon iP4850 Printer - Printer will not print orange light comes on, 5 flashes then a space then 5 flashes etc.
Have tried all that the trouble shooter sugests, taken out the print head and cleaned that but still no joy,
any other suggestions please, greatfully received.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Roy

I don't have good news I am afraid.

Not being a printer specialist I reverted to Google ...
The moderator on this site suggested that the print-head had expired.

click here

I hope this helps to explain.
[ I didn't read the whole thread - possibly somebody else had more positive advice :) ]

EDIT:
Post #8 from the link explains how the poster solved his problem :)
 

GRANDAD2

FPCH New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Location
TYNE AND WEAR
PC Experience
Beginner
Taken from an other forum. My printer is an Epson so know nothing about Cannon--sorry.

I have today solved my 5 orange flashes on my ip4500 printer.
The 5 flashes happened suddenly. I checked my carts. 2 were completely empty.
I ordered some chipped carts on eBay. Put them in.
red lights stayed on, so carts were accepted.
However 5 flashes remained.
Removed carts. Removed print head. switched off. Switched on. Still 5 flashes.
Removed carts. Removed print head. There was a lot of ink residue around.
Cleaned with isopropyl alcohol using cotton wool bud and tissue paper.
Cleaned contacts etc. visually inspected print head. Looked ok. Replaced into printer.
Did not install carts. Shut cover. It went through alignment etc. settled. Solid green. No flashes.
Installed carts. Job done.
I think the lesson is this. If the print head looks ok on visual inspection. I.e. no burnt out contacts on the brown ribbon, no burning anywhere else the print head is probably fine. A thorough cleaning regimen is the answer. Be persistent. Keep cleaning until it works.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
From my last post:
Post #8 from the link explains how the poster solved his problem
What you have posted GRANDAD2 is from post #8 from my link :)

ps GRANDAD2 - Why create a new account when your old one is still active ?

EDIT:
I discovered that your old account had been altered - your status was " Awaiting email Confirmation" ....which meant that you could not post.
I have altered this back to "Registered User"
Try the account again - hopefully you will be able to use this now.
 

GRANDAD2

FPCH New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Location
TYNE AND WEAR
PC Experience
Beginner
hi KENB--Thanks for your help but still unable to log in under my old user name ect. I have requested help 4/5 times with I think a nil response.[unable to find any]
Will retry my new log in.
I changed my internet provider approx. three mths ago and hence had to change my email address, I've been lost without my freePChelp.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi - I am very sorry that I have taken so long to get back to you.
I have not been on the site much lately - and I missed your post too :(

I will check your old "Grandad" account details again and make sure that all is ok with that.
 

GRANDAD

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Location
Tyne & Wear
Hi GRANDAD2

KenB here.

I have changed your password on your original GRANDAD account [ I will PM you with this ]
As you can see - I was able to log in using your old account :)
 
Top Bottom