• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

can't boot win xp after booting freedos

aaach

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
15
#1
I booted from freedos and used kernel.sys or sys(don't remember
which) on c:, like this sys(or kernel.sys) c:.

T first I remember I used it without any parameters, hoping to see
help of some sort or description, but also /? didn't work I used it
on c:.

Now when i boot up I get fredos root_

Please help.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#2
can you get safe mode....try booting from the cd and going into recovery console...
you may have a corrupt boot.ini. or mbr.
we can try a repair of these,if that fails a repair install of xp may be the best option.
let me know if you need any more help...
i have limited knowledge with free dos and linux alike but hey i will try.
kind regards
danzil
 

aaach

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
15
#3
I now tried booting from the system recovery cd and I get the message - can't find ntldr.
I don't even know where the problem is, moreover I can't even boot from the cd.
I still get that freedos root_.
Thanks for help.
If possible, offer the most productive and non invasive solutions(no reinstallations).
 
W

Wolfeymole

#4
What are you trying to do here aaach?

Get XP to boot by using that freedos thing?

Forget it mate and get a proper copy of an XP cd as XP is an NT based system not dos.

It sounds to me like you have totally trashed the NT file system ie NT Loader not found.
 
W

Wolfeymole

#9
If you set the first boot option in the bios to boot from cdrom and it won't then either the cdrom is not present in the bios or the cd drive is shot or the XP disk is scratched.
Or the disk is a recovery disk only, ie it replaces system files but has no boot files.
 

aaach

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
15
#10
It recognises the cd and I suppose the disk is bootable, still it cannot boot - instead I get the message(for the cd) - can't find ntldr.
At that point above it's displayed that cd is master disk.
 
W

Wolfeymole

#11
It can't find the NT loader (boot file) on the disk that is why it is not installing.
What does it say exactly on that XP disk you have?
What is the jumper set to on that cdrom?
It should be set to slave with your hard drive as Primary Master on IDE 0
 

aaach

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
15
#12
It says "system recovery".
The cdrom is set properly, I haven't had any boot up problems with it before.
I can't test to see if the problem with booting up from the cdrom lies with the cd or the files or settings, because right now I don't have other boot cds.
 
W

Wolfeymole

#13
Like I said aaach if this is a recovery disk which apparently it now turns out to be then you will have to have XP in place on the hard drive originally.
Seeing "NTLDR not found" means that the file system is shot and without a proper working version of XP to reinstall the boot files your not going anywhere.

Here's a test ok

Set the hard drive as Primary Master on IDE 0 or 1
Set the cdrom as Primary Slave via the jumper/s on the middle connector on the IDE cable.
Set the bios to boot from the xp disk, ie cdrom.

Get back to us with what happens.
 

aaach

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
15
#14
I tried that and nothing changed. For the cd it still says no emulation and ntldr not found.
 
W

Wolfeymole

#15
I don't think your saving the settings when exiting the bios because if you had the hdd and cdrom set in the manner I say then the only message you should be getting would be "Press any key to boot from cd"

I say this because it sounds to me like it is still trying to boot from the hdd, ie NTLDR not found.

What is this emulation thing you talk off?
 

aaach

FPCH Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
15
#16
First it as before, displays the message for the cd - no emulation and ntldr not found and below it, freedos root_.
That's all I get when I don't put in the cd.
No emulation was there before, for the cd, just didn't mention it.
I still don't know what happened to the pc when I used that command on the freedos disk.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#17
Do you have more than one cd drive? If so try to boot from that one.

Does the cd show up in the bios system information along with the hard drive?

Watch the cd drive light as you try to boot from it. Is it flashing? Can you hear the cd spinning?
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#19
So you can hear the cd spinning and it's attempting to boot from it, but fails?
 
W

Wolfeymole

#20
Do you have a floppy disk drive in this PC aach?
If so we may have another work around on this.