• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Cant open Internet explorer

jimmyedwards

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2013
Messages
133
PC Experience
Some Experience
#1
I am having a problem trying to open IE when I click on the IE icon I get the " Cant open yahoo.jpg " help.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,333
Location
Wirral UK
#2
Hi J-E

Try this first:
Windowskey + R
Type in the box .......... iexplore.exe -extoff ........hit return
You should get a message telling you that IE extensions [addons] have been turned off.
Try running IE with addons turned off.


If this doesn't do it ..........

Take a look here - click here - it may help.
[ ignore any adverts to "click here" or download ]
 
Last edited:

jimmyedwards

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2013
Messages
133
PC Experience
Some Experience
#3
Thanks for your reply,I tried that and did the reset too but it is still happening.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,333
Location
Wirral UK
#4
Hi,

If you are happy to go into the Registry please check the following for me .....

Not sure which OS you are using ....

Start > type in ......regedit ...... hit Return
Then, clicking the > next to HKEY CURRENT USER
Then locate "Software" and do the same.
Follow the key below until you come to "ProtocolExecute"
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\ProtocolExecute

It depends upon which OS you have.
ProtocolExecute may or may not be present.

If it is you are looking for "Warn on Open"

Let me know if this is there.
 

jimmyedwards

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 7, 2013
Messages
133
PC Experience
Some Experience
#5
ProtocolExecute is not present,I did another system recovery back to Dec 12 2018 and now it is ok. My problem now is all my text in the address bar etc is extra small. Thanks for your help ,I say this can be marked solved.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,333
Location
Wirral UK
#6
Hi,

Re small text ...

Start > type in ..... display ......"Change Display Settings" should show ........... hit Enter
You should be able to adjust the setting here
Make the text size 125%