• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Changing browsers

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
I want to use the Brave browser along with the duckduckgo search engine, but I am unable to do this. Also thumbnails ( or logos (what ever they are called)) do not work when put on the desktop.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Jim

Did the problem with the Desktop icons start after you installed Brave and DuckDuckGo ?
If so - uninstall them and see if this resolves the problem.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thank you for answering my call KenB.
I have deleted the browser Brave but I am unable to locate duckduckgo. It only shows when I type its name in the search place at the BLHC. It is not in control panel.
When I drag the logo (or what ever it's called) onto the desktop it is still unresponsive to the mouse etc.
Jim
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Jim
It should show in Control Panel.

  1. Click Start button.
  2. Then go to Control Panel.
  3. Click Uninstall a Program.
  4. Find DuckDuckGo Privacy Essentials and click Uninstall.
[ it could be there as DuckDuckGo.com ]

If no joy ..........

Try downloading "Revo Uninstaller" [ free version] - click here
Install this and run it.
It should locate DuckDuckGo
Highlight it and click on "Uninstall"
If you are given options ...... go with the default.

EDIT:
I have DuckDuckGo and I ran the Revo software and guess what ...... it doesn't show up.
Give it a go [ I have Win10 ] and see if it shows up for you.
If not we can try another method.
 
Last edited:

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hello again KenB and thanks again for coming back once more.

I had no joy with the control panel nor with Revo uninstaller. My guess is that it is in there somewhere - or does it remember stuff? Incidentally i'd like to change to duckduck go as my search engine but it always reverted to bing and edge. No surprises as I understand both are owned by MS. What I don't understand is that it appears bi-lingual and has what looks like Hebrew with it.
Jim
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi Jim
Back to the original problem .... your desktop icons. [ we can look at other related problems later ]
I think the simplest thing to try here would be a System Restore.

This will revert your machine back to the date selected. [ i.e. prior to the start of your problems ]
You will not lose any files / photos etc BUT you will lose any installed software after the chosen date.
You will probably find that DuckDuckGo will no longer be on your system.

Take a look here - click here
[ you may want to copy the instructions ]

Do not switch your machine off during the process.
If you are using a laptop plug in the charging lead.

Let me know how you get on.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks for all that KenB. That gave me a lot to check to be sure.

There was no restore point. It was grayed out, as was the next button. I assume because it is relatively new and has no earlier system, but I'm sure it has had an update which it should have as a restore point. Yes I had realized that a mains lead was safer as I had no idea how long the restore process would take.

Also restoring to its original self meant I would have to go through the earlier post about de-activating the adds again.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
There was no restore point. It was grayed out
If this is the case you cannot have the Restore Points switched on. :(
[ remind me to explain how to turn Restore Points on ]

This video explains far better that I can using just words what I suggest ..... click here
Suggest that you watch it a few times and make notes.
Especially at the end where you are shutting down explorer.exe - the screen will go black.
In other words - make sure you know how to re-start explorer

Let me know how you get on.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks KenB. I hope I'm not tasking you too much :) Why doesn't the emojos at the top of the page work for this W7 desktop? I remembered the punctuation marks for the smilee.
I am rather behind though when it comes to this modern way of thinking.

I am following you on this W7 desktop so I can turn a page at a time so to speak.
I nearly forgot

[ remind me to explain how to turn Restore Points on ]

Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
No - you are not tasking me too much at all :)

Why doesn't the emojos at the top of the page work for this W7 desktop?
The process described in the video should correct this ..... if we are talking about desktop icons.
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi KenB and glad I am not tasking you too much.
No, I wasn't envisioning the desktop icons it was the icons at the top of this post on the W10 forum. I remembered the punctuation marks for the smilee but that is the only one.
Unless you mean that they return when we get the desktop icons back.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
We seem to be getting side-tracked Jim.
Let's stick to one problem at a time. :)

Have you followed the video instructions on the machine with the desktop icons problem ?
 

mij

Valued Donating Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Location
East Sussex
PC Experience
Some Experience
I thought I'd answered this. I must have pressed the wrong buttons - again. I said then that I'd followed the video (I didn't necessarily get the exact same pages/clickable links), but the outcome was that I had down loaded Irfanview and I could open it from the icon on the lap top and its desk top in W10.

That makes the original query solved :). Thanks KenB.
Jim.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
the outcome was that I had down loaded Irfanview and I could open it from the icon on the lap top and its desk top in W10.
I don't recall the downloading of Irfanview being part of the solution - but if your desktop is back to normal that is great :)
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
I assume, from your other thread, that your desktop icons are still not working.
Is this correct ?
 
Top Bottom