• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Computer won't start up!

madon37s

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Messages
48
PC Experience
Some Experience
#1
Hi, can any one help me please.

I have had a look at the other computer not starting problems first but none of them seem to be quite the same problem as mine.

When I switch my computer on it seems to make the loading sound acouple of times but then absolutely nothing! the monitor even goes into stanby mode as it has got a total black screen.

I have tried pressing the f8 key repeatedly for over a minute but still nothing happens! I am currntly using my late father-in-laws computer to ask this question as mine is the one that is having the problem. I have noticed sat here typing this out (I have mine hooked up to another monitor etc) that it is making the start up noise every so often but it is still not coming on.

If I can't get the computer to come on is there something I can do to get the information off the computer before it is srapped. I have lots of information I really could do with retreiving.

Your help on this matter as always is very much appreciated

Kind regards

Paul
 

Jelly Bean

FPCH Distinguished Member
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
2,631
Location
Betws,Ammanford.
#2
Hello there.

Have you tested the monitor on another computer to rule it out?

So it appears to start up and then nothing?

Have you tried to enter BIOS/Setup and load defaults?
 

seedy21

Super Moderator & Security Team
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
791
Location
Halifax UK
PC Experience
Pc Guru
#3
hey there

am new to the forums but not new to computers lol. do you know what the sounds are as that is your computer telling you whats wrong

by the sounds of it could be a BIOS or Motherboard problem

the Hard Drive is ok soo you can by a USB Caddy where you can plug your Hard Drive and access it all of another computer or even put it in a new computer


Hope this helps kill your worries

seedy21
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,070
Location
Wirral UK
#4
It is unlikely, from your description, that you will be able to access the Advanced Startup Options ......but when you switch on did you tap f8 about once per second. Timing is critical with this option.

Do you get any POST beeps?

If not I would be inclined to take the RAM modules out and give the contacts a clean with a pencil eraser.
Put just one module in and switch on.
If this fails try it in the other slot then try the other by itself in both slots.

Take the Video Card out ( RAM modules now back in place ).
Clean the Video Card contacts.
Try booting up without the Video Card.
You should get Beeps.
Try booting with the card in place.

Let us know the outcome of the above.

A cheaper option than a caddy is a USB adapter.
Do you have a SATA or IDE drive?
 
Last edited:

michelsmith

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
35
PC Experience
Some Experience
#5
Most of the time you can tell if your computer video card is deteriorating by seeing little tell tale signs. Lines appearing or flashing can sometimes occur, however sometimes nothing happens at all. You might turn your computer on and have the dreaded black screen. You can try removing your video card and using onboard video, or replacing the video card to see if that is the problem.
 

Dalo Harkin

FPCH Member
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
4,098
Location
Stockport near Manchester
PC Experience
Elite PC Guru
#6
First thing to do would be remove the side panel on the case and check that everything is 'actually' turning on inside the PC, hearing a HDD whir away only means that device is running, do you have onboard video or an add in card?

Next thing I would do is pop the CMOS battery (the round watch one) out of the MOBO while the PC is off and unplugged from the mains.
Wait 30 seconds and then reinsert it, see if anything changes.
 

madon37s

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Messages
48
PC Experience
Some Experience
#7
Hi everyone and thanks so far for all your help.

Jelly Bean,

The monitor is fine as I am using it with the other computer.

Ken B,

I have done all you said and it is exactly the same unfortunately mate, I don't get any beeps but I do get the "de de der" type of sound but only about twice when I switch it on! How do I know if it is a SATA or IDE drive as I havn't got a clue :eek:.

Dalo Harkin,

How would I know if things are turning on inside the computer as there doesn't seem to be any lights to help with this, The fan definitely works though. I did take out that battery and it is still exactly the same.


Kind regards

Paul
 

Dalo Harkin

FPCH Member
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
4,098
Location
Stockport near Manchester
PC Experience
Elite PC Guru
#8
The de de der sound (he he is this the technical term lol)

Is this PC built by you or someone you know or someone like DELL or TOSHIBA?

What was the very last thing you did on the PC before it started doing this? did you install any new programs, drivers etc?
 

madon37s

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Messages
48
PC Experience
Some Experience
#9
The de de der sound (he he is this the technical term lol)

No I don't think it is a technical term m8 :D

Is this PC built by you or someone you know or someone like DELL or TOSHIBA?

I had the computer built at a computer fair in Manchester! A freind who had his built by the same people took me there to have it done.

What was the very last thing you did on the PC before it started doing this? did you install any new programs, drivers etc?

TBH mate I don't remember installing any new programs/drivers etc. I do know when it happened I was at work and my wife had been on it in the afternoon on Saturday. She left it on (as I always ask her to do) but when she came back to it the computer had switched itself off and then just would not re-boot and hasn't since! :mad:
Kind regards

Paul
 

Dalo Harkin

FPCH Member
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
4,098
Location
Stockport near Manchester
PC Experience
Elite PC Guru
#10
how odd...

Did you remove the CMOS and unplug the kettle lead (the PSU one :D)

If you have done this then it sets the MOBO (Motherboard) back to how it was when it left the factory.

ok, do you know if it has onboard video or an add in card?

If its onboard it will be physically attached to the MOBO near the USB and speaker ports on the rear of the PC. An add in card would be situated much further down
 

madon37s

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Messages
48
PC Experience
Some Experience
#11
Hi All

Just had a look at the motherboard and I can see SATA11 printed on it.

HTH

Paul
 

madon37s

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Messages
48
PC Experience
Some Experience
#13
Ok here goes,

The motherboard has "ASRock Conroe1333-D667" printed on it and an ASUS grahics card added to it which on the box says "ASUS EAH3450"512mb DDR2.

I am assuming that the video card is the same as a graphics card! (I don't know too much about these things unfortunately).

Does this help you in any way?

Paul
 

Dalo Harkin

FPCH Member
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
4,098
Location
Stockport near Manchester
PC Experience
Elite PC Guru
#14
Yeah the MOBO (Motherboard) is made by Asrock
and you have an ASUS GPU (but you need the drivers from ATI not ASUS :D)

You should have more than one DVI or VGA port (where the monitor cable plugs into the PC) on the back of the ASUS card, try the other one.
(as its not uncommon for one of the ports to fail)

If you have one on the actual MOBO where you can put the monitor (I dont think you will) try that too.

From what you have said, is there anyone you know that could lend you a PCI-E graphics card, to rule the card out as being faulty?
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,070
Location
Wirral UK
#15
I know it is confusing if too many people contribute .....

Dalo - I am thinking along the lines of ......

Madon37s said earlier that he is getting no POST.
If a PCIe Video Card is not available - if the original card is removed ( assuming a fault ) then when attempting to boot a POST error should be indicated via beeps.

No beeps at this stage could indicate PSU / Motherboard problem.

Strip down m/b to 20(4) connection to test.

I hope this does not add confusion to the thread :)
 

Dalo Harkin

FPCH Member
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
4,098
Location
Stockport near Manchester
PC Experience
Elite PC Guru
#16
I know it is confusing if too many people contribute .....

Dalo - I am thinking along the lines of ......

Madon37s said earlier that he is getting no POST.
If a PCIe Video Card is not available - if the original card is removed ( assuming a fault ) then when attempting to boot a POST error should be indicated via beeps.

No beeps at this stage could indicate PSU / Motherboard problem.

Strip down m/b to 20(4) connection to test.

I hope this does not add confusion to the thread :)
Hmm, we still havent established if there is onboard video, if there is onboard and an add in card when the CMOS battery is removed it would divert back to the onboard and then would need changing in the BIOS back to PCIE first.
I dont bet on anyone installing the 'speaker' on the MOBO on home builds as I never do, and as it was built at a fair the 'builders' time I feel would not be on quality.

It all depends on what Madon would rather do, we are all members helping one another so chip in whenever KenB.

*UPDATE*
ASRock > Products > Motherboard Series R3.0 R3.0 there are 3 revisions of this board all have onboard video - Madon - plug the monitor into the onboard
 
Last edited:

madon37s

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Messages
48
PC Experience
Some Experience
#17
Hi guys

Again many thanks for all your help on this one,

An update for you all, A chap in the IT department where my wife works has had a look at the tower and has just rung me (16.00pm) to tell me that it is the Motherboard or possibly the power supply!

He says he took out the video card and both ram boards and still nothing happened no bleeps or anything.

It looks like I will have to scrap the tower as it seems it could be rather expensive to mend with a new mobo and/or power supply unit.

May I take this oppotunity to personally thank everyone that has helped me and say a special thankyou to Halo and Ken :).

Now perhaps you can have a look at my next question at this link :D


http://www.freepchelp.co.uk/forum/windows-vista/10046-can-vista-removed-computer.html#post67523

Kind regards

Paul
 

Dalo Harkin

FPCH Member
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
4,098
Location
Stockport near Manchester
PC Experience
Elite PC Guru
#18
I know I keep banging on about it, but you NEED to try the onboard video.

You originally mentioned that the PC makes at lease some noise when it boots (even if thats fans) yes it could be the MOBO and it could be the PSU, the CPU, GPU, Northbridge or Southbridge that have died.

just try the onboard and then i'll be happy :D and if it still doesn't work, get the parts out of it and reuse them/sell them to fund some if not all of your new build :)
 

madon37s

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Messages
48
PC Experience
Some Experience
#19
I know I keep banging on about it, but you NEED to try the onboard video.
Hi Dalo

Sorry my friend I forgot to say that when I spoke to this chap in IT he did say that he checked the onboard video as well as the graphics card and there was absolutely nothing happening still.

Looks like I will be stripping the tower down then and either re selling them or putting them in my other computer to make that one a bit better.

Many thanks again everyone for all your help.

Kind regards

Paul
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
9,070
Location
Wirral UK
#20
You mentioned in an early post about getting data from your hard drive.

take a look here it would do the job.
There are cheaper ones about.
I have this one and it copes with all options.