• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Connected to router, but not internet

bwithers

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
23
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#1
Hi,

I have installed a belkin wireless lan adapter. I have told the router to connect to the modem with the ip address of the modem. I have also told it the DNS server numbers too.

It connects, but no internet

I have this info to help...

C:\Documents and Settings\Grant Withers>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : gw002
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F1-E7-B7-5D

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin High-Speed Mode Wireless G US
B Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-7D-BE-B2
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.159.6.10, 212.159.6.9
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
C:\Documents and Settings\Grant Withers>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Before I told the wireless to find its own IP address it could only connect with limited or no connectivity. So I told it the ip address of the modem, and now it connects but with no internet.

I can plug the computer into the modem and get the internet with no problem.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Bryce
 

help4me

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
395
Location
USA
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Basic
#2
Networking is not my strong area, but Free PC Help has several other techs that will help you sort this out as soon as they come online.
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
OSX
#3
What is the IP address of your router? It's probably 192.168.1.1. That's the same address your computer is using. So, I would turn off static IP and enable DHCP on the wireless adapter. Let the router give your computer an IP address.

See if that works.

- Tony
 

bwithers

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
23
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#4
Hi Tony,

I allow it to find its own IP address and it cannot assign one. Thats why I gave it one before hoping it would help. I dont know how enable DCHP if you think it needs that.

I get limited or no connectivity as it cannot assign an IP address.

Any more clues please?

Bryce

Here is some more info

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Grant Withers>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : gw002
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Belkin High-Speed Mode Wireless G US
B Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-50-7D-BE-B2
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.153.176
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Grant Withers>
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#5
Try resetting the router to factory defaults. That will put everything on auto with DHCP enabled:

Leave it plugged in, and hold in the small reset button on the back for about 10 seconds. This is how it's normally done, but check your manual first.
 

bwithers

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
23
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#6
The have been into the router/modem settings and the ip address is 192.168.1.1
the DCHS is enabled and it gives a range of ip adress from 192.168.1.2 - 192.168.1.60

Does this help?
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#7
Try my previous suggestion followed by this:

1) Unplug the modems power for 30 seconds, plug it back in, wait 30 seconds, then do the same for the router.

2) Restart the computer and you should be online provided that the router reset was done correctly.
 

bwithers

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
23
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#8
Still no luck.

Thanks for you help, Im going to give up on this one.

Bryce
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
OSX
#10
I see in your second screen shot of ipconfig that the computer wireless adapter is now in DHCP mode. In this mode, the computer asks the router to assign whatever address the router want to - to the computer. From your post #6, it would be 192.168.1.2 if no other computers are connected, wired or wirelessly.

Here's a couple of things to try. Get back into ipconfig and try:
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew

The router may be bad. Have you tried with another computer?
 

bwithers

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
23
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#11
Hi,

Regarding the router...

The router is a wireless modem type that does everything except make the coffee!

So it is plugged into the phone line etc and I can run a network cable to it and to the computer and the internet works within seconds. I can also get a laptop, find the wireless network and give it the passphase and there is no problem connecting and the internet works. I installed the Belkin (http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=179211) into the usb (after installing the drivers) and found the wireless signal from the router and put the passphase in, it connects but cannot assign an IP address.

The network adapter for the belkin is set to automatically find an IP address and DNS settings.

Im not longer at my brothers place to try your suggestion but will talk him through it tonight.

Thanks for your help and patience,

Bryce
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#14
I would contact the Belkin support to verify if they have any issues.

Otherwise you could go in and set an IP manually on the wireless connection as well, but that is a pain to do if you travel with the system and per your first post you said it didn't work either.

If you right click on the connection you should also be able to select REPAIR (guessing it won't repair at this point though anyways)

Maybe a software or firmware update from Belkin beyond that I would think that the device is defective.
 

petef

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
184
Location
USA, NJ
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#15
Kelly said:
Also try unsecuring the wireless. This means turning off the password protection.
I had a customer with a Belkin router which worked fine until we turned on the encryption.
With encryption turned on, it had the same symptoms as described in this thread.

After hours spent with Belkin tech support, Belkin was blaming it on IP stack problems
on the computer. I knew they were wrong because all the computers on the network
had the problem with this Belkin router.

The customer returned the Belkin router and purchased a Linksys router
and that solved the problem.

From that experience and others with Belkin products, I have sworn
off Belkin for any product that might require a user manual or tech
support.

---pete---
 

bwithers

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
23
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#16
I will turn off the secruity, good suggestion.

You are right, belkin are rubbish!

I installed the latest driver from the Belkin website, so I am confident its the correct software.

I will write Belkin an email and see what they say.

I have tried repair many times. No joy.

Thanks
 

bwithers

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
23
PC Experience
PC Illiterate
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#17
Here is Belkin's response. Any ideas on how to assign an IP address to the computer?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi Bryce,

Thank you for contacting Belkin Technical Support.

We understand that you are facing limited or no connectivity issue.

To resolve the limited or no connectivity issue, we suggest you to disable all firewall software`s running on the computer and also assign static ip address on the computer.

Specify a static IP address, gateway and DNS by contacting the router vendor.

Please make sure that you assign a unique IP Address so that none of the computers in your network has this Ip address. If two computers in a network has same IP address then it will result in Ip conflict.

Bryce, if you need further assistance please feel free to write back to us and we will be happy to assist you.
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
OSX
#18
Interesting that they suggested assigning a static IP on your computer. I'll try that in future situations.

If you think there's a problem with the Belkin router, you can send it back to them. I did this recently for a customer who thought his Belkin router was bad. The process was simple.