• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Connection Help needed

Bullet

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
35
#1
Hey its me again that pc noob lol,

I am trying to connect my xbox to xboxlive but it wont connect properly. It has worked for ages but when i tried it today it said on my pc that my "local area connection 2" has limited or no connectivity which may mean that i cannot connect to the internet. It says this problem occured because the network did not sign a network address to the computer. I ran a test on the pc and it says that my ip address has failed and it cannot renew it.
I have tried restarting my pc already, so can anyone help please?

Thanks
 
Last edited:

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#2
Hi Bullet.

Try and switch off the router for a minute then switch it on again and see if that helps.

Have you changed anything recently?
 

Bullet

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
35
#3
Hi Bullet.

Try and switch off the router for a minute then switch it on again and see if that helps.

Have you changed anything recently?
Nope not recently ill try and take it out and put my modem in again.

See you in a minute :)
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#8
Hi

Double click that same icon and select properies

Click on Internet Protocol[TCP/IP] and click on Properties.

Is it set to Automatic?
 

Bullet

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
35
#10
More Info

When i tried to repair my ip this came up in details:

Physical Address: 00-02-44-A2-EB-97
IP Address: 169.254.254.106
Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway:
DNS Server:
WINS Server:
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#12
Go to TCP/IP properties again and click on advanced. Does it say DHCP Enabled?

Go to Firewall settings and make sure its enabled/on.

Just some more info is this a wireless network? What router are you using?

Go to start -> run, in the box type cmd and press enter. Then type ipconfig /all

Tell us what it says there? Or do a print screen.
 

Bullet

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
35
#13
Im doing ps of everything, i ran the code thing and it comes up with the black screen with text on it but goes away really quickly.
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#19
Just want to clarify:

1. You connect to the internet with the Speedtouch 330 modem?

2. You are trying to connect the XBox? (How is it setup at the moment?)

3. Do you have a router also installed?