• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Corrupt Audio and Video Drivers following New Display PCBA install

MillerTime

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
14
Location
San Jose - USA
#1
Running xp pro on a dell dimension 5150 with pentium 4 processor, motherboard sound and nic with intel chipset, ati x600 display card, and 4 gb ram.

Replaced an ati x600 256 mb video card with a new ati hd2600xt 512 mb video card. Removed old drivers and installed drivers (the program only allows you to select all video and audio drivers). System restarted where the intro to windows sound played followed by silence. The video seemed crisp for viewing pictures and the screen. When videos were played, they were choppy (could not move at full frame rate). I looked at videos on utube and they were showing 2 to 3 picture or frame changes in a 5 minute video with no sound (no problems prior to installing the card and software).

Called tech support and found out ati is owned by diamond multimedia and amd. Support person was like a character from “fast times at ridgemont high”. He said, “dude, what’s the problem?” I told him about the problems and that I wanted to use the audio from the motherboard chipset which he said that the new display board was causing the problem. He had me remove the ati audio program and drivers from the device driver screen. When restarted, the on board bios for the audio was still factory enabled where the software should have disabled it. Still no consistent sound or improved graphics. He said that either the pcba was defective or that my bios needed upgrading. I had the newest bios installed recently and that the pcba seemed to be not at fault. I removed the on board sound drivers and files and reinstalled them without success. I asked for a supervisor, which he replied that “mellow” called in sick today and the general manager was not present. He took my name and info when I requested that they return my call when available. He provided no other resources for help.

I removed the driver pcba and reinstalled the old one. I deleted the ati, diamond, amd, video drivers from the program list. I then tried to remove the windows media player (version 9). I searched the program file and deleted the ***ociated files and folders from the manufactures stated previously. I was unable to remove the media files and folder since the windows program refused to all me to. Restarted the system and no sound.

I reinstalled the motherboard sound drivers, checked the bios for audio being enabled, and installed the latest media player. Checked the sound setup and confirmed that only the new drivers were enabled and selected the proper speakers and jacks. Still sound during startup but nothing after everything is loaded where they must be corrupted when trying to play anything (videos, audio files, etc.). The video playback is good for files with no sound but still corrupt for utube videos (choppy pictures or black). I tried the microsoft update site and loaded all their recommendations with no success. There are no video or audio programs installed at this time other than media player (all others were deleted from the program list and then the ***ociated folders removed from the program files). Only the motherboard drivers, along with the generic microsoft drivers, are located in the audio, video and special card device manager files. The microsoft generic files are enabled from the software program.

My thoughts now are that there is a general driver(s) located in a win.ini or system.ini file that is corrupt or missing. I have not started looking for any such files yet but have looked through the media player, audio and video control panels with confirming the current settings and no success in remedying the problem. Or, perhaps there is a go-back feature where I can to select a date where the computer was running fine. I miss viewing my videos and sound while using the computer due to the pathetic consequences of installing a product that the requirements are met by the computer I own.

Any and all suggestions are welcome!
 

MillerTime

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
14
Location
San Jose - USA
#2
additional information

I also encountered an error message in media player of C00D11B1 when playing an audio file. Followed this to the website where I ran through their troubleshooting procedures without any success. I found that all the settings were correct and the problem lies outside the information they provided.
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#3
Hi MillerTime

Well can't promise we'll get you going, but we'll try.

So thought you said that AUDIO was working before the Video card change via the onboard audio. Is that working again now or it also no longer works?

Do you recall which onboard audio it was using for drivers and software. Did it use the SoundMax ?

For starters let's remove 2GB of the RAM - Windows XP can have issues using 4GB with some hardware. Also remove all 3rd party peripherals from the computer so that we get to a basic level for testing, trouble shooting.

In your Device Manager is there currently anything that is either YELLOW or RED

Look in your Even Viewer for any specific YELLOW or RED icons and read what issues it complains of.

Let us know and we can take it from there.
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#4
Hi Kirk. Hi Ron.

According to Dell it seems the original onboard audio was Creative Labs Sound Blaster. Dell download.

These are the instructions for removing old ATI software. Is this the method you used?

Removing Old ATI Software
  1. Click on Start, then Control Panel, then go to Add/Remove Programs.
  2. At the top of the list you should see several ATI entries. Select the entry entitled ATI Software Uninstall Utility, and click Change/Remove.
  3. You will be prompted to restart your system once the uninstall is complete.
  4. Once restarted, check the Add/Remove Programs list again for any remaining ATI software.
  5. If any ATI software is still listed, click Change/Remove on those entries to uninstall each one individually.
  6. Next, please scroll through the list until you find an entry called DAO.
  7. Select DAO, then Click Change/Remove to uninstall this program.
Is this the Raedeon HD 2600 series? It looks like there might be newer drivers. Catalyst and just the display drivers alone.

However first things first as AdvancedSetup said. Get the system back to normal first then start fresh.
 

MillerTime

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
14
Location
San Jose - USA
#5
AdvancedSetup:

The audio does not work at all now. The drivers in the audio control panel look fine but no sound. The correct drivers are selected in each sound driver screen. When checking the windows default sounds and trying to play them there is an error message where they say the files might be corrupt and no sounds play. However, when windows starts up, the infamous windows startup sound plays. Following the drivers installation and finishing the bootup sequence all sounds stop working.

The onboard sound chipset is Sigma Tel where I have downloaded the latest driver version from dell with no success. I don't want to look at Sigma Tel's website since this is a dell product.

No problems identified in the device manager window - not sure what the even viewer is or where it is located. Enabled the hidden products with no problems.


RandyL:

I removed the ati software by going into the program files and finding the uninstall utility program. I ran the program and then removed the separate programs from the add or remove programs control panel. There is no dao entry or file.

This pcba was the raedeon hd2600 series where I downloaded the newest drivers and previously installed them with no success. I have removed the new pcba and returned it to the store for a refund and reinstalled the x600 ati driver pcba and it's software drivers.

Another Thought:
I did find a microsoft hi-definition audio drivers - kb888111 and kb835221 installed. Wondering if these might be causing some problems? Also, wondering if removing the standard audio drivers in the device manager screen might help?
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#6
  • Go into the Windows CONTROL PANEL, then click on Administrative Tools
  • Then open Event Viewer
  • Left side panel click on Application, the right side will have EVENTS
  • Locate RED or YELLOW events and Double-Click to read them
  • Then look in System and read the RED/YELLOW events in there
Look for items that may indicate hard drive, registry, or audio errors

The High Definition drivers are required by the system - Do Not Remove them as they can be difficult to locate.
Universal Audio Architecture (UAA) High Definition Audio class driver available for Windows Server 2003, Windows XP, and Window 2000
Universal Audio Architecture (UAA) High Definition Audio class driver version 1.0a available for Windows XP, Windows Server 2003, and Windows 2000
 

MillerTime

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
14
Location
San Jose - USA
#7
I went to the event viewer and found nothing I think pertains to the audio or video drivers and concerns. I will post this condensed information following this message. I'm still looking for an answer to why this is occurring and looking in areas that I think might be corrupt. I will look in the reference books for information also where I have not found success in pinpointing anything yet.

Thanks for the suggestions so far. Here are the yellow and red codes:



Event Viewer:
Applications

Yellow Tags:
About 30 occurrences:
Windows saved user DELL-5150-A\Kirk registry while an application or service was still using the registry during log off. The memory used by the user's registry has not been freed. The registry will be unloaded when it is no longer in use.

All others are 1x occurrences:
This is often caused by services running as a user account, try configuring the services to run in either the LocalService or NetworkService account.

WMI ADAP was unable to create the object Win32_PerfRawData_ASPNET_2050727_ASPNETAppsv2050727 for Performance Library ASP.NET_2.0.50727 because error 0x80041001 was returned

WMI ADAP was unable to load the ASP.NET_2.0.50727 performance library because it returned invalid data: 0x0

WMI ADAP was unable to create the object Win32_PerfRawData_ASPNET_ASPNETApplications for Performance Library ASP.NET because error 0x80041001 was returned

WMI ADAP was unable to load the ASP.NET performance library because it returned invalid data: 0x0

Could not detect IIS installation or IIS is disabled, skipping the Web Host Script Mappings component since it depends upon IIS to function properly.
If you believe this message is an error, check your IIS installation to make sure it is installed properly.

Updates to the IIS metabase were aborted because IIS is either not installed or is disabled on this machine. To configure ASP.NET to run in IIS, please install or enable IIS and re-register ASP.NET using aspnet_regiis.exe /i.

Removal of an ***embly from the global ***embly cache failed: C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\Interop.SHDocVw.DLL Interop.SHDocVw,Version=1.1.0.0

Removal of an ***embly from the global ***embly cache failed: C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\AxInterop.SHDocVw.DLL AxInterop.SHDocVw,Version=1.1.0.0

Updates to the IIS metabase were aborted because IIS is either not installed or is disabled on this machine. To configure ASP.NET to run in IIS, please install or enable IIS and re-register ASP.NET using aspnet_regiis.exe /i.

HTTP namespace reservations are not installed.

HttpModules node ServiceModel does not exist in System.Web section group.

HttpHandlers node *.svc does not exist in System.Web section group.

All compilation ***embly nodes do not exist in System.Web section group.

A configuration entry for BuildProvider System.ServiceModel.Activation.ServiceBuildProvider, System.ServiceModel, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089 does not exist.

Configuration section system.serviceModel.activation does not exist in C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\Config\machine.config.

Configuration section system.runtime.serialization does not exist in C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\Config\machine.config.

Configuration section system.serviceModel does not exist in C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\Config\machine.config.

The ServiceModelReg tool will take the following actions:
Reinstalling configuration section system.serviceModel to C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\Config\machine.config.
Reinstalling configuration section system.runtime.serialization to C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\Config\machine.config.
Reinstalling configuration section system.serviceModel.activation to C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\Config\machine.config.
Adding configuration entry for BuildProvider:
System.ServiceModel.Activation.ServiceBuildProvider, System.ServiceModel, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089
Reinstalling compilation ***embly node to System.Web section group:
System.Runtime.Serialization, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089, processorArchitecture=MSIL
Reinstalling compilation ***embly node to System.Web section group:
System.IdentityModel, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089, processorArchitecture=MSIL
Reinstalling compilation ***embly node to System.Web section group:
System.ServiceModel, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089
Reinstalling HttpHandlers node to System.Web section group:
*.svc
Reinstalling HttpModules node to System.Web section group:
ServiceModel
Reinstalling WMI classes.
Reinstalling Windows CardSpace (idsvc).
Reinstalling Net.Tcp Port Sharing Service (NetTcpPortSharing).
Reinstalling HTTP namespace reservations.

Could not detect IIS installation or IIS is disabled, skipping the Web Host Script Mappings component since it depends upon IIS to function properly.
If you believe this message is an error, check your IIS installation to make sure it is installed properly.

Updates to the IIS metabase were aborted because IIS is either not installed or is disabled on this machine. To configure ASP.NET to run in IIS, please install or enable IIS and re-register ASP.NET using aspnet_regiis.exe /i.

Fault bucket 128364659.

Faulting application iexplore.exe, version 6.0.2900.2180, faulting module mshtml.dll, version 6.0.2900.2180, fault address 0x000bbf7e.



Red Tags:

All are 1x occurrences:
Fault bucket 623520050.

Hanging application iTunes.exe, version 7.6.0.29, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

Hanging application iTunes.exe, version 7.6.0.29, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( .NET Runtime ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Unable to open shim database version registry key - v2.0.50727.00000.



System:

Red Tags:

About 350 occurrences (15 consecutive) on consecutive days after upgrading to microsoft updates
DCOM was unable to communicate with the computer OFFICE using any of the configured protocols.

12x occurrences:
The description for Event ID ( 44044 ) in Source ( ati2mtag ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: .





Yellow Tags:

6x occurrences:
TCP/IP has reached the security limit imposed on the number of concurrent TCP connect attempts.

The browser was unable to retrieve a list of servers from the browser master \\OFFICE on the network \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{0004250B-1AD0-4A5D-8DF6-BD7930CB9850}. The data is the error code.
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#8
Correct nothing really obvious that would be preventing the built-in audio.

I would download and install this update and after a reboot go back to Windows Updates and look for any other critical updates.

Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86)

I don't think it is any corruption as they say, I think that is just more so a generic error.

Before doing the Windows update though I think you should perform this clean up to ensure that there is not something else on your system.
If you're 100% certain your box is clean then we can skip this part, but if it turns out later on that it is because of temp files or malware and you skipped it then we won't be too happy about that.

You have to realize that we don't know the details of your computer, or your computer knowledge and that's why we need to rule things out first and get back to a basic starting point.

So did you download and install the Audio software from DELL and have it install without error?

  • Follow these instructions carefully.
  • Download ATF-Cleaner from Snapfiles.com to remove "junk" files from your computer that may contain malware.
  • You can also download it from Majorgeeks.com
  • When you run ATF-Cleaner, check the items as shown below for Main.
  • For FireFox, be sure to click on the FireFox tab on top and check the items as shown below for FireFox
  • NOTE: If you don't have FireFox or Opera installed then they will be grayed out and can be ignored
  • Then click on "Empty Selected".
.




  • ----------------------------------------------------------------------
  • Install and run the free version (not the Professional version) of SUPERAntiSpyware from SUPERAntiSpyware.com - AntiAdware, AntiSpyware, AntiMalware!
  • Accept any prompts to allow SUPERAntiSpyware to install the latest rules and infection definition files.
  • You do not have to send them your e-mail address, just click next.
  • You can leave the automated check for updates on.
  • You can uncheck "Send a diagnostic report to research center" if you don't want to send the information.
  • DO NOT allow SUPERAntiSpyware to protect your Home Page settings.
  • On the Top Left select the Scan your computer button.
  • Make sure there is a CHECK MARK on all Fixed Drives.
  • Click "Perform a Complete Scan". Click "Next" and reboot the computer when prompted to do so.
 

MillerTime

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
14
Location
San Jose - USA
#9
Before I start this, Advanced Setup, I need to let you know that I have previously installed SP1 & 2 along with media player ver 11 and about 90 other updates in the last 3 days. I would think I would need to uninstall the 2 service packs before reinstalling SP1 & 2.
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#10
Hi Kirk;
Some of us are a little confused on your thread. And I want to make sure you know what to do before doing anything. So please be patient with us. I also have an idea worth trying. It might not help but it can't hurt.

1. Can you do a system restore to before you installed the card? It might not help with the correct drivers but it might be worth trying since we have no way of knowing whatever other changes you made while trying to resolve this.

2. Have you installed the drivers from Dell?

3. Run the malware guide scans suggested. If Windows was not updated this is important.

4. Install the update AdvancedSetup linked you too.

This is important. The order you do this is important. So read carefully.

1. System restore.
2. Run the scans. Important.
3. Windows updates will need to be reinstalled.
4. Install from the link AS provided if need be.
5. Install the correct drivers from Dell.
6. Might need to reinstall Media Player too.

After each step and scan reboot to see how your system works. Remember that system restore has an undo as long as it's not done from safe mode.

P.S. Sorry if I missed anything AS and Kirk.
 

MillerTime

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
14
Location
San Jose - USA
#11
RandyL:

I downloaded the drivers from dell and installed them onto the computer. Checked the control panel to confirm the drivers had installed and were selected in each appropiate category. However, the audio still won't play - even the startup sond from microsoft does not play. The video drivers from dell were installed after the prior ones were removed.

I will follow the first instructions where I would rather run the system restore later since I have never found success using it but the contrary, it has caused further problems.

Have you had success using it?
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#12
Kirk it really is impossible to figure out what you may have done up to this point so I want to start as clean and fresh from the beginning as possible.

System Restore will not cause issues unless you are restoring your computer to a malware infested state after cleaning.

This is a logical first step that may help and absolutely wont hurt.

Do this and then we'll go through the exact steps to deal with the SOUND drivers. See you in a few minutes.
 

MillerTime

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
14
Location
San Jose - USA
#13
Sorry about the delay where I have been busy recently and was meaning to follow up with a response. Finals are over for the semester where the instructors dump multiple tests and projects in the last 4 weeks of it.

I decided to perform a system restore to the date prior to installing the card and drivers. Ka Bamm!! It actually worked!! The computer was restored to what was installed at that date. A Microsoft tool actually worked this time where I have tried this 2 times previously on other systems and it failed. I returned the display card for a refund and never looked back.

The computer has been working well since then. Thank you, especially Randy L and AdvancedSetup, for the advice and troubleshooting help to solve these problems. My computer has been saved!! Have a cold one for me!


MillerTime
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#14
We're all glad to hear things are back working for you.
Thanks for taking time to let us know.
I'm having that cold one now.
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#15
This thread appears to be solved and is now closed

If you are the original poster of this thread and need it re-opened, then please PM (Private Message) an Administrator or Moderator