• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

DELL 1545 screen

GRANDAD

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Location
Tyne & Wear
Due to a broken screen the laptop was taken to a computer shop in Retford and they fitted a new screen, however when powerd up the screen was and is very dark. [The old one was fine ]
The shop indicate that its not the screen at fault and the laptop would have to be sent to DELL to be checked out--at what cost.
The screen should have a warranty but the shop are being very argumentative about this and in the main refuse to correct this fault. The new screen did not come with a new back light but as i have said it was fine.
Any thoughts on possible fault?.
 

Synapse

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Location
Lincolnshire
PC Experience
Very Experienced
If you can just make out what is on the screen, ie it is actually functioning then it is more than likely to do with the inverter.

When the old panel was removed it would need disconnecting from the inverter, which sits below the screen. Sometimes the connection isn't so good when they are reassembled, sometimes people forget to plug them back in, of course it may be a faulty inverter too. They are cheap as chips, just look on ebay, £12 upwards.

The shop should know that, and probably do. I'd go along with their thoughts that the actual panel is ok. Try running on an external monitor, if that is ok, then it can only be wiring, inverter or LCD panel faults. It may be worth a chat with them, suggesting that if you pay for the inverter, will they fit it. That's the only thing I can think of without losing a good deal of money through Dell.
 

GRANDAD

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Location
Tyne & Wear
Hi Synapes--yes you can read the screen albeit that its dark, at first we thought it may be linked with the power settings as I think one can alter the light level on the screen, however it’s not that. [Power saver-I think]
There appears to be some reluctance from the shop owner to investigate, maybe due to one of the points you have made.
Think we may look around and try an inverter, fitted by someone else.
It’s just annoying to think that apart from the crack in the screen it was fine before
Many thanks for your reply as it does help--I very nearly said its put some light on the situation.
Regards
 

tenshin5426

FPCH Member
Joined
May 30, 2011
PC Experience
Pc Guru
if you are still looking for an inverter i have one spare that you are welcome to have, i can mail it to you, they are very easy to fit should cause even a monkey no problems. i can even advise on fitting you if you get to stuck, :)
 

GRANDAD

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Location
Tyne & Wear
Just as a very late update, i bought an LCD inverter marked up for this model but found it to be the incorect one--it has two plug type connecters, one either end but the inverter in the laptop had only one plug type connecter and one ribbon type. This inverter had not been refitted correctly and was just loose, anyway i used the old WD40 on the connection which in turn has improved the brightness of the screen.
:)
 

GRANDAD

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Location
Tyne & Wear
Hi, there is approx a 70% improvement in the brightness of the screen at this time, hence good enough for normal use. I would like to find the correct inverter at some time but now not in a hurry. I still ask myself the question of-was the correct screen fitted in the first place.
Many thanks.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
You can adjust the brightness using the Fn key and ( on mine ) left and right arrow.

This may improve it a little more.
 

GRANDAD

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Location
Tyne & Wear
Yip, done that and have it at max now. Its more than usable--thanks.
Checking the internet for this make and model of laptop they say the inverter required is oh251m which is what i bought however the actual inverter is just a long winded number which i have recorded in a safe place--one day ill re find it.
Cheers
 
Top Bottom