• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Ethernet router, USB modem

herbal

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
5
#1
Hi

I have an ethernet (wireless) router but connect to the 'net via a USB modem. According to the manual for the router, I should connect the modem between the phone line and the router, ***umming the modem is of the ethernet kind. Could I use a USB/ethernet cable or is this setup doomed to fail?

(Am using XP home on both desktop and laptop, the latter having a wireless card fitted. Would like to be able to both computers talking on wireless home network and sharing internet access. I reckon that if this can be configured to work, the desktop would need to be on, acting as a server. That's ok.)

Thanks to anyone who can help...
 

Jamey

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
333
Location
Telford, UK
#2
Basically, there are two ways of doing things. Either you have the modem plugged in directly to your machine using the USB or Ethernet connection, or you have the modem plugged only into your router. Any machines then connect via the router using a wired Ethernet or wireless connection.

The connection between the modem and the router may be Ethernet or USB but obviously both devices must support the same type. Ethernet is probably the best and most reliable bet. Just make sure the modem cable is plugged into the "WAN" port on the router.
 

herbal

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
5
#3
Thanks Jamey for your reply but I don't think I've made myself clear as to what exactly I'm asking.

I have a USB modem (supplied by my ISP) but an ethernet router (originally bought to suit the wireless WAN type internet connection which I was using at the time). Unfortunately, the local company providing this service went belly-up so I am now connected through Tiscali (ADSL).

What I'm wondering is: Is there any way to use my current hardware? Could I connect the router and modem with a USB/ethernet converter cable? Or can I share my internet connection across the network and through the main PC and its USB modem?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
54
#4
If your old Router is an ADSL Modem/Router you will be able to - just input the settings provided by Tiscali into the router admin page. If you are not sure post back with the make/model and we'll try to help.

If not, the answer is no. The USB modem will need the software to work, which you cannot install on the wireless router. You'll need to buy one of these. I have this model router and it works flawlessly.

Good luck.

Andy
 

herbal

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
5
#5
Guess I'll just have to bite the bullet and buy some new gear (no modem in router)

Thanks Andy & Jamey

All the best

Al
 

alexia

FPCH New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
1
#6
Can someone help me please? I have a packard bell computer and want to get broadband on it. I was told to but an network ethernet card as my computer has none and my modem has an ether net port only. I ordered a network card from ebay but it doesnt seem to fit my computer i was told that they fit all any ideas? Its driving me mad!
 

peepe64

FPCH New Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
3
#7
bit worried now that my question sounds stupid but here goes!we have an ordinary recon computer that has windows xp, we have just bought my disabled daughter a lap top with wifi etc for her birthday. went out and purchased a belkin adsl modem with wireless g router and spent 6hours trying to connect it to my computer! do we need a stick thing(sorry!) for ours or am i doing something wrong?