• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Graphics Card Problems

steve161064

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
28
Location
england
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#1
hi to everyone new to the site.
thank you in advance for any help. my problem his i can not get my new graphics card to work. i did try a graphics card before this one but it was not compatible so disabled it in windows and got new card but when i put this card in i just get a black screen.
i have a sis 661fx chipset on my computer and trying to install a ati radeon rx 9250.
i have tried resetting cmos back to defaults. which i have done but still does not work.
i think im missing somthing in bios.
i dont know how to re enable graphics card. its an agp.
in bios its set to EGA/VGA.

THANKS STEVE...........:confused:
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#2
Hi steve

Welcome to Free PC Help.

Have you disabled on-board graphics? Make sure the graphics card is correctly seated.

Also have a look here.
 

JEBWrench

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
309
Location
Aperture Science
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Media Center Edition
#3
In your BIOS, there should be a setting for "Onboard Video" or "Integrated Video". That should be set to Disable.

Before doing that, to avoid complications, I would also suggest uninstalling the drivers for all other video cards and chipsets on your machine.
 

steve161064

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
28
Location
england
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#4
re.graphics card problem

i have disabled onboard graphics i think as graphics card worked before but not copatible so disabled it in windows.
thanks for getting back to me....onboard graphics worked fine till i disabled it.
 

steve161064

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
28
Location
england
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#5
re..graphics card

hi i have also found this in bios.....pnc/pci configeration....CLEAR ESCD......DISABLED..........PCI/VGA PALLET SNOOP...DISABLED.
THANKS IN ADVANCE FOR ANYMORE HELP.....STEVE.
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#6
You are still trying to install the new graphics card - Yes Click here

As you don't have an old card because its on-board, removing the old card in your case would be to disable it.
 

steve161064

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
28
Location
england
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#7
re..graphics card

hi sorry about this all this new to me(BIOS) .when i put graphics card in i just get a black screen so can not do anything .take it out and plug back into motherboard graphics and my computer displays ok.think this is what you mean by onboard graphics i hope.but dont know how to enable the other card which i put in.........sorry .steve.
 

steve161064

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
28
Location
england
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#9
re graphics card problem

ok i will try that tomorrow and let you know on this post thanks for all the help. thanks for getting back to me. im at work in morning at 4.30 am so dont think i have enough time to sort out tonight.......thanks.....steve.
 

steve161064

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
28
Location
england
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#10
re graphics card

hi tried going into pnp/pci it says...PCI/VGA .....DEISABLED. that is with no graphics card in my motherboard. will it show A.G.P. when i put graphics card in A.G.P. slot. it just says enable /disable. .thanks .steve.
 

steve161064

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
28
Location
england
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#11
re graphics card

do i just enable pci/vga and it will see my new graphics card .then install the drivers when i get back into windows....thanks.steve.
 

steve161064

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
28
Location
england
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#15
re graphics card problem

this is what i see in intergrated periferals.....
SIS ONCHIP IDE DEVICE.
SIS ONCHIP PCI DEVICE.
ONBOARD SUPER IO DEVICE.
INIT DISPLAY FIRST...(AGP)is this right do i just enable pci/vga in pnp/pci..
because in pnp/pci its somthing saying ESCD BUT THIS IS ALSO DISABLED. DO I ENABLE THIS TO....THANKS STEVE.
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#16
this is what i see in intergrated periferals.....
SIS ONCHIP IDE DEVICE.
SIS ONCHIP PCI DEVICE.
ONBOARD SUPER IO DEVICE.
INIT DISPLAY FIRST...(AGP)is this right do i just enable pci/vga in pnp/pci..
because in pnp/pci its somthing saying ESCD BUT THIS IS ALSO DISABLED. DO I ENABLE THIS TO....THANKS STEVE.
Does it have any options by :
SIS ONCHIP IDE DEVICE
SIS ONCHIP PCI DEVICE
ONBOARD SUPER IO DEVICE

Yes enable pci/vga.

You dont have to enable ESCD this is for storing information about Plug and Play devices in BIOS
 

steve161064

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
28
Location
england
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#17
re graphics card

hi thanks for all the help you have given me.....yes it does have options but not touched these........it just says press enter i am going to put graphics card in today again and try what you have told me. i will get back to you and let you know how i got on.
also i have told a few of my friends about the site and how helpful you have been..this site now is top of my favourits list.

thanks and keep up the good work..........steve...great site.
 

steve161064

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
28
Location
england
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
Windows XP - Professional
#19
re graphics card

hi me again enabled pci/vga.and still does not work still get black sreen...had graphics card tested no problems with graphics card.
is there anything else i can try......thanks steve.:confused:
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#20
Hi steve.

You are plugging the monitor cable in the new graphics card when you have it in your pc? Is there anything on the screen with the new graphic card in? Can you get into the BIOS with the new card?