• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Hardware Temps.

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
1,345
PC Experience
Some Experience
#1
I ran SIW, and concerned the CPU Temp, on my Desktop, may be too high.
Wondering what is the accepted limit,and if you Guys think too high,what should I do? Thanks.

 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
1,345
PC Experience
Some Experience
#3
Under Hardware C/F Temp Sensors,That is all that is listed.
Clicked on the rest and nothing related to CPU Temps.
Any other way of checking?Wolfey.Thanks.
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
1,345
PC Experience
Some Experience
#5
CPUID My PC runs 18hrs a day and the longer it goes the lazier it gets.Thats why I wanted to check .How does this look? Thanks.
Information.
 
W

Wolfeymole

#6
There's absolutely nothing wrong with them Dougie mate. :)

When's the last time you had the side off to dust it out?
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
1,345
PC Experience
Some Experience
#7
About a month ago, I blew everything out with compressed dry air and a soft brush.Full of Cat hair and the fans were pretty choked with dust also.
Did find today the Ram sticks were different speeds so if the temps are ok, I read somewhere they should be matching.I have 2 sticks in total of 768. Upgrade to 1 gig,you think may help?If not,I will look for a new machine.
 
W

Wolfeymole

#8
If TMPIN2 is indicating the second slot Dougie then get the correct speed, either one or the other.
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
1,345
PC Experience
Some Experience
#9
Thanks so much for that help Wolfey.Much appreciated. One final question, if you don't mind. How do I tell how much Ram this system can handle?
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
1,345
PC Experience
Some Experience
#11
Run scan.Mother board only has 2 slots. System can take 2048 MB
I have 768mb,so will get 2x1 Gig sticks.Should see an improvement. Thanks Wolfey for sorting this out so fast.
 
W

Wolfeymole

#12
No problem mate. :)

Consider informing other quarters that the replies furnished with alacrity are the norm on a proper tech forum.
 

petef

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
184
Location
USA, NJ
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#13
CPUID My PC runs 18hrs a day and the longer it goes the lazier it gets.Thats why I wanted to check .How does this look? Thanks.
Information.
If you suspect that the computer is running slower over time as
a function of overheating, you could try recording the current
temperatures as your baseline data. Then open the case and
and aim a small household fan into the case while monitoring
the temperatures to ensure the computer is operating at a
lower temperature. If you could get the temps to run 5 to 10
degrees lower than your baseline data, that would be good for
this test. Then see if the computer is running any better over
time. If you see any improvement, the you will know it's a heat
related problem and not something else that is occurring over
a period of time.

---pete---
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
1,345
PC Experience
Some Experience
#14
Hi Pete,will do these tests. Bought 2 x 1 GIG DDR 400 sticks of ram today; and put them in.ATechy ages ago left the side off.He said it would run cooler. Will also replace side, and take some readings.Sorry,I was late responding to your Post.
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#15
Hi Pete,will do these tests. Bought 2 x 1 GIG DDR 400 sticks of ram today; and put them in.ATechy ages ago left the side off.He said it would run cooler. Will also replace side, and take some readings.Sorry,I was late responding to your Post.
Having the sides off does NOT make it run cooler. Cases are designed to optimize airflow over vital components. So its better to have the sides on.
 
Last edited:

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
1,345
PC Experience
Some Experience
#16
That's what I was thinking, Maynard.Cases are designed to have the sides on to get max circulation. Latest tests show system within limits but the TMPIN 2 slot is still running at 58c which is a worry.Same before I fitted the new Ram in that slot today.It's in firmly and the 2 white plastic holding clips are in place.Even with the cover on I'm sure it will have no bearing on this 1 slot.Will take another test and put the side on and see any difference.I have plenty of Fans that I have pulled out of huge copiers,so I will pick one with about 3500 and train it on the Mother Board where the Ram Sticks are.
If that makes little difference then I will just have to bear with this till something gives up.Thanks for your advice,much appreciated.
 

petef

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
184
Location
USA, NJ
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#17
Having the sides off does NOT make it run cooler. Cases are designed to optimize airflow over vital components. So its better to have the sides on.
Yes, it's often true that certain components will run cooler with the
case side in place if the case design is critical. However, it's not
always true and the best way to find out is by actually monitoring
temperatures of key components such as the CPU, and hard drives.
I've actually seen CPUs and HDs run cooler with the case side off,
but it all depends upon the case design.

For what DSTM is trying to do, I'm suggesting that he remove the
side cover and go brute force with a 6" to 8" household fan which
would circulates enough air to dramatically cool the entire PC.
This would help to determine whether he has a heat related problem
as he was originally suspecting. It the cooling the entire PC doesn't
make a difference in performance over a period of time, he will know
to look elsewhere for the problem.

---pete---
 

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#18
Good point Pete.

I was actually refering to more modern cases that airflow was actually considered unlike some old cases.

Lets see what DSTM says after a few days of monitoring.
 

petef

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
184
Location
USA, NJ
PC Experience
Operating System
Windows Vista - Ultimate
#19
I have plenty of Fans that I have pulled out of huge copiers,so I will pick one with about 3500 and train it on the Mother Board where the Ram Sticks are.
With that in mind, you could also aim the fan at other components, such
as the Power Supply (PSU) or the Hard drives to selectively cool different
components and see if the problem goes away. The PSU can also act
flakey if it gets too hot so don't rule that out yet. That's why I suggested
using a large enough fan to cool everything and save a lot of time cooling
individual components.

---pete---
 

DSTM

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
1,345
PC Experience
Some Experience
#20
Will give all these ideas a try. I have so many fans in the shed,all sizes,but not a household fan,so will try a few combinations.Thanks Guys and will check back when I run all these tests.