• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

HDMI no signal.

00Stefan

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2021
Location
Basingstoke
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi I am new to the group so am hoping have posted in the right place.
the problem I am having is with regards to my tv and hdmi signal.
when I switch on my tv and computer my tv states it has no signal. I have tried switching tv off at mains with hdmi lead out with no luck. I have tried the lead on my Xbox one and it works fine on the tv. I am wondering now if my graphics card has died. I am hoping someone can offer some advice or help. Thanks
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi -

You don't say if the HDMI has ever worked to your tv - has it ?

==========================

On my tv I have 3 options for AV
Have you tried selecting a different AV setting on your tv ?
OR
If you have more than one HDMI socket on the tv have you tried swapping the cable to a differt HDMI port?

==========================

check the following please: [I am assuming Windows 10 ]

Right click on the Speaker icon [ bottom right of screen ]
Click on "Sounds"
You will get a box appear.
Click on the "Playback" tab.

1630499887563.png

It should show as "Default Device" - if it doesn't please change it so that it is the default
Or - if an HDMI device is showing make this the default.

==========================

Connect the computer to the tv via the HDMI cable.

Type ......display ...... into the search box [bottom left of screen]
Scroll down to "Multiple Displays"
Now click on "Detect"


Let me know the outcome of the above please.
 
Last edited:

00Stefan

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2021
Location
Basingstoke
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi Ken thanks for replying. Yes the hdmi was working from my computer to tv and had been working for over a year. I am unable to check anything on computer now though as do not get a signal so nothing on screen
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Oh - not good :(

Will get back to you later - I am just on the way out.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Back again ......

Assuming that you have no other tv or monitor you can try ?

1. Are you sure that the computer is booting up?
If a desktop - do you get post beeps ?
Can you hear the hard drive spinning?

2. Is this tv used solely as a monitor?
Are you sure that the tv is working ok?

3. Does your video card have a VGA port?
1630514854687.png

If so ........
You can get a VGA to HDMI cable to connect to the tv.
This uses the VGA port and not the HDMI on the graphics card.

1630515110517.png

The cable is not expensive.
 

00Stefan

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2021
Location
Basingstoke
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi Ken. I couldn’t find a vga to hdmi while was out but found vga to vga. However same response tv is just showing no signal again
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Please confirm that your computer is booting up. [ previous post ]
Any beeps?
Spinning hard drive?
Internal fans spinning?

I assume that this is a desktop ?

Do you have another device to connect to the tv - just to make sure that the problem lies with the computer ?

=============

Just a thought:
Some desktops have onboard graphics as well as a video card. [ two sets of connections ]
If yours does I assume that you have tried both options?

=============

Try taking the graphics card out and re-seating it.
Don't forget to unplug from the wall first.
 
Last edited:

00Stefan

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2021
Location
Basingstoke
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi Ken sorry for delayed response.
yes it’s a desktop pc. its also a very old one. It’s a quad core cpu thou but graphics card would be over ten years old.
the tv works fine I tried the hdmi lead on my Xbox and it connected to my tv. As for drive spinning up it’s a quiet drive anyway so can’t tell that way. Fans are spinning.
money things I have noticed now though is when press power button it goes to start then stops then when you push again it starts.
I don’t want to fork out on a graphics card if it’s not that that is the problem.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Do you get any Beeps from the machine just after you switch on.
If there is an internal speaker [ on many older machines there was] you should get a Power On Self Test [ POST ] beep.

press power button it goes to start then stops then when you push again it starts
When you say it starts - do you mean that the fans are spinning - anything else to describe it "starting" ?

Have you taken the graphics card out and cleaned the copper contactes and re-seated the card?
Try putting the Video Card in a different slot - if one is available.

Do you get anything at all on screen just after you have switched on - other than the "No Signal" message?

================

I am thinking that it could be one of three or four things:

1. Graphics Card
2. Power Supply
3. Main Board
4 Cable

================

One more thing -
Plug the HDMI cable into both the tv and the computer.
Note the HDMI socket number that you are connected to on the tv.
Switch on the tv and select the correct HDMI socket.

1631962277317.png

Switch on the computer.

.
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom