• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

help needed please

D22D

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
7
#1
my pc has been working fine but just recently when i go to turn it on power goes on fan comes on but no BEEP! and machine does nothing
have checked all conections etc
does anyone out there have any ideas as i am stumped
using vista premium
thanks
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#2
Welcome to Free PC Help D2.

Unfortunately, there isn't much you can do other than swapping parts to find the culprit.

1) Unplug the computer's power connector for 30 minutes and try it again.

2) If you have more than one ram stick, then try the computer with one at a time.
 

D22D

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
7
#3
thanks for the reply
i have done that with the memory 3 sticks and nothing still comes on but no beep
all i have in machine is graphics card 2 hard drives and 2 dvd writers
could my main hard drive be faulty?
will try power off for 30 mins
anything else help wise would be great
 
W

Wolfeymole

#4
Even though the PSU is powering up it may only be doing so partially. The board could also be at fault.

Have you EVER seen an onscreen error messages at all?
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#5
Wolfey is correct. The two most likely cuplrits are the psu and the mobo.

If you have onboard video, then remove your video card and try it...or another card if you can.

BTW-No, the hard drive doesn't have anything to do with the post (bios) screen.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#6
You can also reset the bios by pulling the mobo battery for 30 minutes. It's a long shot, but worth trying if you have no other options.
 

D22D

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
7
#7
i have just instaled a new graphics card on tuesday there and machine was working fine untill this morning
i am not pc tech minded
so machine was working fine but it will power up but no first beep
i have not had any error messages at all
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#8
D22D said:
i am not pc tech minded
The fact that you thought about the ram and swapped it out, is pretty darn good :)
 

D22D

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
7
#10
Yes, its secure. I'm really at a loss now. Do you think a new hard drive would solve the problem?

Really grateful for all your advice!
 
W

Wolfeymole

#11
No I would definitely not buy a new hard drive.

Both Seth and I would concur I feel, that it is either your power supply unit or the motherboard.
The PSU could have caused issues with the motherboard and both could be cooked.

Can you hook the monitor to a friends pc to check that that is ok.

To be honest D22D my moneys on the PSU.

What make and model of pc do you have?
 

D22D

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
7
#12
hi
going to take out chip and get it tested tomorrow and will let you know
pc is fuijitsu seimens pentium 4

can i just say thanks for all info etc and to say one of the best forums i have been on
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#13
You're welcome.

Are you referring to the ram? If so, the only proper way to test it is by trying one stick at a time. Which you've already done.
 
W

Wolfeymole

#14
Thank you for your kind words D22D, they are most appreciated.

However I still think it's either your PSU or the board that is shagged.
 

Tony D

Free PC Help Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2007
Messages
704
Location
Malvern, PA (USA)
PC Experience
Some Experience
Operating System
OSX
#15
We introduced a new video card. Maybe it draws more power than the PSU is willing to give easily causing the PSU to eventually fail.
 

D22D

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
7
#16
well guys who had there money on the motherboard well that what it was it blew and destroyed all memory sticks.......got new one so back to normal

anyway just thought i would keep you upto date on this prob and to say thanks as i would have rushed out to buy new parts when i did not need them......thanks again and keep up this great forum
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#18
Thanks for the update.

As a side note, my computer shop no longer replaces motherboards.

Reason being, the whole process is very precarious and you don't know what other devices the mobo pooched until you replace it.
 

D22D

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
7
#19
hi again
as you know i have replaced motherboard and memory so when i turn on pc and is working fine it now says i only have 2 days left to activate my windows vista...but when i do it says this key is already in use ?
any help on this one please