• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Help Which wiwre goes where please?

JagiBear

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
30
#1
Hi Guys, Please could you tell me which ide fittings go to which part?.
i know that the blue one, goes to motherboard, then last plug goes to hard drive.
now i have a cd drive and dvd drive. how should that be wired up? Also please, does it matter which power lead goes where? do i plug together cd, floppy and dvdv rom on same bunch of wires? and just plug the hard drive on its own?

i am just confudled which goes where?
Thank you in advance, how would we survive without you computor brains. xxxx
JagiBear
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#2
Hi Jagi.

I've moved your post to the correct forum.

The power plugs for the hard drive and optical drive are the same, so it doesn't matter which one you use. The floppy drive's power connector is different however.

Jumper the optical drives as Cable Select (CS). You'll see the jumpers on the back of each drive. The data cable for these drives use the same type of connection (IDE) as the hard drive.

You should have a second ide connector on the main system board. Use it and an ide ribbon cable to hook up the optical drives. The cable should have three connectors: 1 for the main board and two others closer together for the two optical drives.
 

JagiBear

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
30
#3
RE: Wires

Hi Seth, did as you said, now pc is just getting past post, then keeps rebooting itself? can you help me please?

JagiBear
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#4
Do you see the image that says Window's XP?
 

JagiBear

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
30
#5
RE: Wires

Hi Seth, no its gets past post then still on black screen says Boot from CD: then just restarts itself?
JagiBear
 

JagiBear

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
30
#7
RE: Wires

I am trying to install windows xp on a formatted disk, sometimes it lets me get to starting windows then just reboots, then reboots, and so on? Helppppppppppppppppp? lol :)

JagiBear
 
W

Wolfeymole

#10
Ok go into the bios and change the boot order to cdrom first ok.
The shot below is similar to what your bios boot sequence will be.

Make sure you have a full genuine copy of XP in the cdrom before you do so.

When it asks to; "Press any key to boot from CD" press it only once ok.

 

JagiBear

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
30
#11
RE: Wires

Hi did the boot sequence in bios, tried again with genuine xp cd, it just booted came up on first black text, rebooted, and it did same again, i took out cd, brought up page DISK BOOT FAILURE, INCERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER. I wonder if i have put the right ide plugs in the right cdrom and dvd rom?
JagiBear
 
Last edited:

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#12
Ok on the motherboard you have this:


And you have a cable like this (or 2 cables like this):


Plug the one cable in the Hard drive on the connector on the end (the black one in the picture) and plug the blue end into the blue connector on the motherboard.
Make sure the jumper on the Hard drive is set to Master.

Then plug the other cable in the CD-ROM on the end connector (the black one again) and the other end (blue) in the other connector in the motherboard.
Make sure the jumper on the CD-ROM is set to Cable Select or CS
 

JagiBear

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
30
#13
RE: Wires

Hi Thank you for putting me right which way i do the ide cables. I can now get as far has setup is copying files, then it goes to setup is starting, then it reboots again?
Please help.

JagiBear
 
W

Wolfeymole

#14
Jagi
Depending on your hardware XP could take over an hour to install.
It should also reboot about 3 times during that process.

When its asks you at the very beginning to "Press any key to boot from cd" do so.

It will ask again on subsequent reboots, PRESS NOTHING

Just let it carry on installing.
 

JagiBear

FPCH Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
30
#15
RE: Wires

Hi Guys, thank you all, i have managed to install windows, downloaded updates etc, online, i am not sure if this is a clue to my cd rom/dvd rom are faulty just tried to bring up a cd software and before it has had chance to run pc reboots and as done more then once, but it does sometimes runs and lets me use what i have put in?

could my cd/dvd drives be faulty?
JagiBear