• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

How can I tell if this graphics card is compatible with my PC.

jankulosky1337

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
Hi, guys. First of all, I'd like to announce that I'm new to this forum. So, I'm worried that my PC would not run the graphics card I want to buy. Although, my PC's performances are very weak, but however I'm willing to get a new graphics card no matter what. I'm also scared about the fact that even if I get a "killer" graphics card, It'll not make any changes, because of the CPU.

The performances of my PC:

OS: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Version 2002
Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 3.20GHz
RAM: 1.5GB RAM DDR2 (I'm not quite sure about this, maybe It's DDR3)
Current graphics card: Intel(R) 82945G Express Chipset Family 128MB

Here is a link to the graphics card I want to buy:
http://set.com.mk/Proizvod.php?vrednost=10&grupa=17&si=16687

AFOX NVIDIA GT440 PCI-E 2GB DDR3 128bit

If you need any other performances of my PC, just ask and I'll reply quickly as I can.

P.S. Sorry about my bad English, it's not my native language. :)
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi and welcome to FpcH

There is a problem with your link.
I think this is the card you are looking at:
click here

other option
click here

Which one is it ?

I can't find any information on the recommended PSU for this card.
Guessing - I would suggest 450 - 500 Watts

What Power Supply Unit do you have ?

We need to know which motherboard you have - do you know what it is ?
Make and model number ?

Your English is very good :)
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi

it is my first link.

So, how do I know what kind of PSU and/or motherboard do I own?
Download Speccy from here
click here

It will report on what hardware etc you have on your system.
It should let you know the specific details of the motherboard.

The PSU has a sticker / label on it that will say how many Watts it is.
Failing this it will give you a product code so that we can identify it and locate the Wattage.
 

jankulosky1337

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
So, here is the motherboard:
EPoX COMPUTER CO.,LTD Intel I945 DDR2 : 5G945M (Socket 775)

If you need any other information and details about it, check this snapshot I took:
http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/8991/37372350.jpg

Uhm, and, if you think buying an AFOX NVIDIA GT440 PCI-E graphics card is a bad idea, I'll be glad if you recommend me another one. :)
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi

Still need information on your PSU.
If you up-grade the Video Card then it is more than likely necessary to upgrade the PSU to a higher Wattage.

is this your motherboard?


If it is - you have 1 PCIx16 slot ( the vertical black one ) which is where the video card will fit.


Some video cards need an extra 6 pin power connection from the PSU.

Please answer the following:

1. What do you want to do with this computer ? ( games for instance ? )

2. What is the wattage of your PSU ?
A photo of the label and PSU would be good :)

3. How much RAM do you have ? ( 1.5 GB from the first post ? )

I assume that the XP Operating System is 32 bit ?
click here

This is Vista but it should be the same for XP.
 

jankulosky1337

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
Well, mostly, I use the computer for gaming, such as DOTA 1, CS 1.6. CS:S, HL:2, Portal 1/2, L4D 1, DOTA 2(I'll play the last ones only if I can run them with the new graphics).

Where can I gather information about the wattage of the PSU? In what tab?

Total Memory: 1536MB DDR2 RAM

Here is a snapshot of it:
http://img842.imageshack.us/img842/9681/84821735.jpg

OS:Microsoft Windows XP Professional 32-bit
 
Last edited:

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
is this your motherboard?
Is it ?

We are just missing information on the PSU.

You will need to take the side panel off to see it.

If you post the make and model number of your computer - I may be able to locate the specs for it.
 

jankulosky1337

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
What I found in dxdiag was, System model: Goliath XD630. Reply if it was helpful enough.. :)
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Hi
The only thing I can find relating to what you have posted is Anhoch Goliath XD 630 but I can't find any details.

Is this a machine built in the Eastern Bloc ?
If so the Power Supply Unit may not be standard.
Some machines - especially by smaller manufacturers - are not designed to be upgraded

You are going to have to take the side panel off your machine and take a photo for me.

You do not want to buy a new Video Card if the PSU will not run it.

I have attached a pic of a standard PSU.

 

Helcaraxe

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Location
Taunton
PC Experience
Some Experience
I did a little digging to find some information on the AFOX NVIDIA GT440 and from what i can find it has a power consumption of 56w and takes it power from the PCIe slot.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
I did a little digging to find some information on the AFOX NVIDIA GT440 and from what i can find it has a power consumption of 56w and takes it power from the PCIe slot.
Hi Helcaraxe,

The 56W consumption must be added to the power used by the rest of the system.
So - for example - If the system uses 300 Watts without the card then it would need 356 Watts after inserting it.

This is why I am tying to find out what PSU is in the system at the moment :)
 

Helcaraxe

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Location
Taunton
PC Experience
Some Experience
I understand that Ken :)

Trying to find information on the internet for that Goliath system is like trying to find hens teeth.:(
 

jankulosky1337

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
PC Experience
Some Experience
Forget about it, guys. Yesterday I contacted the manufacturer and they said that it'll be the same with the new graphics because of the motherboard. Now I'm ****ed as *****. I can't afford a brand new PC. Although, I've learned many things from this forum and you KenB, thanks.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
PC Experience
Very Experienced
it'll be the same with the new graphics because of the motherboard.
I don't understand this statement sorry.

Your motherboard does have a PCIe x 16 slot.
The video card will fit this.

What we were concerned about was your Power Supply Unit.

I think this would need upgrading.

I cannot advise you any further if we cannot discover if your PSU is a standard one or not. ( see the photograph in my earlier post )
I also need to know the wattage of the PSU.
If you can supply this information we can take this further :)
 
Top Bottom