• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

How Do I Remove "noscript"

ONY

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
190
Location
UNITED KINGDOM
PC Experience
Some Experience
#1
Hiya all, i just read Seth's post about installing Adblock and Noscript and installed them both but can't get on with that Noscript one at all as it keeps wanting to block everything i normally go on, even though i checked the box "allow from my bookmarks". This is taking forever to surf the net if i have to allow and disallow every site as my Spyware already does that to me as well. How can i remove it please?.....your help would be much appreciated, thanks.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
#2
Hi Ony.

I think you have me confused with someone else, as I don't recall mentioning that.
 
Last edited:

ONY

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
190
Location
UNITED KINGDOM
PC Experience
Some Experience
#3
Hiya Seth, i do apologise for that....just tried checking back over the posts but cant find it now...It was on one of Bowlers posts earlier that i was reading where two links were given to go to download Adblock and Noscript.
 

ONY

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
190
Location
UNITED KINGDOM
PC Experience
Some Experience
#4
Yep just found it and it was Advancedsetup, so SORRY, SETH.


Sorry to have been a pain, ive just managed to uninstall it. Thanks all the same. Cant delete this post though, sorry.
 
Last edited:

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#5
Yes it was me. Sorry you had issues with it - I just click on the bottom icon and say allow or not even with sites I have book marked.

The nice thing about this utility is that even for sites that I allow there are still MANY other scripts that try to run that it blocks for me.

As an example, here on FPCH I allow them but I block the Google Syndication Ads from running.

On some other sites that I allow there are still like maybe up to 20 other scripts or places that try to run on that page but I block them as well.

So yes it is a bit of an advanced tool, but once you get the hang of it I think it has to be one of the best little tools out there.
 

ONY

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
190
Location
UNITED KINGDOM
PC Experience
Some Experience
#6
Thanks for that Advancedsetup, i do appreciate your advice. Maybe i will get it at a later date but i did keep that "Adblock". It makes sense what you say but it can be awkward when you have more than one program running that keeps asking to allow/disallow. I do respect the fact it all makes for safer surfing though.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
#7
Yep just found it and it was Advancedsetup, so SORRY, SETH.


Sorry to have been a pain, ive just managed to uninstall it. Thanks all the same. Cant delete this post though, sorry.
No worries. Free PC Help feeds on such "pain".:)

Advanced Setup is a well...umm, an "Advanced" tech.