• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Internet Explorer 7

bigmack73

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
56
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#1
After installing Internet Explorer 7, it didn't put any icons to get to it.

Can anyone tell me where the shortcut to it is?

It's not on the desktop, the quick launch, or in the start menu.

I am running XP.
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#2
Try;
"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" then right click it and create a shortcut.

I'm guessing your IE7 is installed on a Vista machine.

If you want the full applet on the desktop instead of a shortcut you will have to modify the registry.

If you're using an older version of Windows, Control Panel>Internet Options>Advanced>Show IE on the Desktop.
 

bigmack73

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
56
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#3
I have looked everywhere. I know its installed. When I do a Windows update it shows as IE7

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe". That file is not there.

I am running XP not Vista. Don't plan on getting Vista at all. Don't trust it.
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#4
If drive C is not the drive that Windows is installed on then look in the correct drive. Drive X for instance.

Right click Explore. Navigate to the Program Files directory. Click on Internet Explorer.
It should be there.
 

bigmack73

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
56
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#5
I did a search for it, all it came up with is the one in the Windows folder.

And it was the wrong Internet Explorer. It was version 6 not 7.

Everytime I need to use IE7, I have to go to Windows Update.

Does anyone else have ideas where it might be?

I need help on this as it is very frustrating not being able to find it.
 

bigmack73

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
56
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#6
Just found out how to get them back.

All I did was went into the Add/Remove then Windows Components. Then check the Internet Explorer then the next button. That brought them back.
 

bigmack73

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
56
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#8
After I did that I couldn't run Java applications at all. So I removed the check mark, now it works great. Except I don't have any icons to access IE7 instead of clicking on Windows Update.

Does anyone else have any ideas on how to get IE7 to open without clicking on windows update all the time?
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#9
you could try this open notepad and copy this into it.....
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\NewStartPanel]
"{871C5380-42A0-1069-A2EA-08002B30309D}"=dword:00000000

save the notepad document as ie.reg. then right click the file and click merge.
You will need to refresh the desktop to see the shortcut.(right click your desktop then click refresh.
if you still have a txt document instead of a reg file you will need to do the following.go to my docs>tools>folder options>un tick "hide extensions for known file types".

see if that works...also do you use the quick launch bar...right click you taskbar and click on quick launch,there may be a internet explorer icon in there.
one other way to load internet explorer is to go to start>run and type in "iexplore.exe" that will load up your internet.i hope that helps.
 

bigmack73

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
56
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#10
The only thing that did work was loading in the "run" then typing it in.

Its not in the quick launch at all.

And also I thought I would check to see if I could create an icon on the desktop. It said the path does not exist.

All I know its on the computer somewhere. As it opens when I click on windows update and in start/run and typing in iexplore.exe.
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#11
try this go to start then run and copy this in "rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132 %windir%\inf\ie.inf" without qoutes ""....
now see if you have the icon in the internet explorer folder.
if not try another search..
beware you maybe prompted for your cd........
give that a try..
 

danzil

FPCH Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
885
Location
Gloucestershire
PC Experience
Operating System
#13
is it anywhere in C:\Documents and Settings\YOUR USERNAME\Start Menu\Programs
and start>accessories>programme files>system tools.....


download spyware sweeper ltest version and run that.
also download firefox that will getting you going for a while...whilst we think of more ideas....similar to IE 7
give them a bash first
regards
danzil
 

bigmack73

FPCH Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
56
PC Experience
Very Experienced
Operating System
Windows XP - Home Edition
#14
It was nowhere to be found, I even did a search. Nothing. So I had to put a check in the add/remove, got it back that way. Then I had to reinstall JRE. Now its working better, with no errors at all

I have been using Firefox cause I was getting errors, The only time when I have to use IE7 is my hotmail and to update. Then everytime I closed it, I would get a memory error. And also I couldn't run several java apps.

I can't download spyware sweeper, it doesn't like my system. I use Spybot all the time.