• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Internet Explorer Not Working

tommyd

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
8
#1
Hi - this is my first post. A week and a half ago my Internet Explore suddenly started acting strangely. I am running under Windows XP Media Centre Edition with Service Pack 2. I have never had a problem before but suddenly the PC was taking minutes to load up my Home Page (Virgin Media). I was using Version 6 Explorer. I upgraded to Version 7 but with the same result. I then uninstalled Version 7 but 6 was still reacting the same. I had my PC serviced by my supplier but even he was unable to get to the root of the problem. He re-installed Version 7 and now when I click on the icon the window flashes up for a fraction of a second then disappears. I am now accessing the internet using Firefox which was on my PC before my problems. The evening before this happened there was some activity on the PC using Microsoft FrontPage by my son and I did see something on the Microsoft site which gave some indication of certain problems using some FrontPage procedures. Can anyone throw some light on this problem? Thanks in anticipation.
 
Last edited:

maynardvdm

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
3,117
Location
South Africa
#2
Hi

You can try and restore Internet Explorer's settings by going to Tools and select Iinternet options then click the advanced tab and click on restore advanced settings.

I would also just do these scans to rule out malware as the cause :

Malware is the term used to describe computer infections such as Adware, Spyware, Viruses, and Trojan Horses.
You will need to run at least two malware scanners as well as an Antivirus scanner that are listed in the following instructions.
Anti-Malware and Anti-Virus scanners perform different tasks.
The reason to run multiple scanners is to ensure that no single scanner is missing something.

The time it takes will vary depending on your system and your internet connection.
Typically the SUPERAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes scanners will take between 30 and 90 minutes.
The Eset online scan should take between 1 and 3 hours.
In most cases, these scans will suffice to clean and disinfect your computer.

For best results print the following instructions and bookmark this Web page
To keep this guide printer-friendly, use your cursor to highlight the contents below.
From your browser select File - Print and in the printer dialog box under "Print range"
click the Selection choice to print out these instructions for removal of malware.




----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  • Follow these instructions carefully.
  • Download ATF-Cleaner from Snapfiles.com to remove "junk" files from your computer that may contain malware.
  • You can also download it from Majorgeeks.com
  • When you run ATF-Cleaner, check the items as shown below for Main.
  • For FireFox, be sure to click on the FireFox tab on top and check the items as shown below for FireFox
  • NOTE: If you don't have FireFox or Opera installed then they will be grayed out and can be ignored
  • Then click on "Empty Selected".
.



----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  • Install and run the free version (not the Professional version) of SUPERAntiSpyware from SUPERAntiSpyware.com - AntiAdware, AntiSpyware, AntiMalware!
    • Accept any prompts to allow SUPERAntiSpyware to install the latest rules and infection definition files.
    • You do not have to send them your e-mail address, just click next.
    • You can leave the automated check for updates on.
    • You can uncheck "Send a diagnostic report to research center" if you don't want to send the information.
    • DO NOT allow SUPERAntiSpyware to protect your Home Page settings.
    • On the Top Left select the Scan your computer button.
    • Make sure there is a CHECK MARK on all Fixed Drives.
    • Click "Perform a Complete Scan". Click "Next" and reboot the computer when prompted to do so.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  • Disable your internet security by right clicking on its icon (usually located in the system tray next to the time display) and choosing "Exit", "Disable", or "Shut Down".
  • Run an online scan with Eset from Free Virus Scan: Use ESET's Online Antivirus Scanner
  • You must use Internet Explorer for this online scan. FireFox, Opera, etc will not work for this scan.
  • Accept the terms and click "Start".
  • Once the scanner is ready, check "Remove found threats" AND "Scan unwanted applications".
  • Click "Start" to begin the scan.
  • When completed restart your computer
Make sure your internet security is enabled, and then please return to Free PC Help and tell us how the computer seems to be operating.
At that time, you will receive instructions to assist you in removing malicious programs from your Add/Remove program list if warranted.
 

tommyd

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
8
#3
maynardvdm

Thanks for this but I have been unable to follow all the instructions. I was able to do the ATF element but when I get to the bit about installing Malwarebytes I get an error trying to install it "unable to register DLL/OCX RegSrv32 failed with exit code 0x5. Also, my antivirus (Kaspersky 6.0) blocks the insatallation and if I ignore the errors I get a Run-time error '0' followed by '440' Automation Error. Finally, I cannot attempt to download the ESET free scan element as it requires Internet Explorer and this what is not working. I have reverted to Internet Explorer 6 and this will load up but only to whatever is listed as the Home Page (have tried several and they all load) but as soon as I try to navigate to any other page it won't do it. I have also tried deleting cookies, files etc and resetting to defaults all without success.

Any other suggestions?

Regards - tommyd
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#4
Well try downloading SAS and then disconnect your connection to the Internet and turn off or set to disable the Kaspersky software and then install and run SAS as it is without any updates and let it scan your system to clean it.

Let us know how that goes.
 

tommyd

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
8
#5
maynardvdm

Sorry for the delay but I've been away for a couple of days. I tried what you suggested and the scan did pick up 8 items which I quarantined then deleted. On rebooting, Internet Explorer is still reacting in the same way as I described in the last post. I did manage to run the ESETS virus scan but it picked up absolutely nothing.

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#6
Try an IE7 Reset:

1.Open Internet Explorer 7.
2.Click Tools, and then click Internet Options.
3.Click the Advanced tab.
4.
Under Reset Internet Explorer Settings, click Reset.
 

tommyd

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
8
#7
Seth

I had already reverted to IE6 and I have also deleted cookies, files and restored defaults under the Advanced tab. Still no improvement. I can still only load up the home page but when I try to select anything else from the Favorites it doesn't want to know. I am using Firefox for any other internet activity. What concerns me is that I may not be able to get any future Windows updates if Internet Explorer is useless.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#9
Seth

I had already reverted to IE6 and I have also deleted cookies, files and restored defaults under the Advanced tab. Still no improvement. I can still only load up the home page but when I try to select anything else from the Favorites it doesn't want to know. I am using Firefox for any other internet activity. What concerns me is that I may not be able to get any future Windows updates if Internet Explorer is useless.
In IE7, a "Reset" is very different than what you mentioned above.
 

tommyd

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
8
#10
Kelly

Thanks for this advice. I have looked at the article and have tried both Method 3 and Method 4. Unfortunately both of these ask me to insert my Service Pack CD. The only CDs I have are the original 2 Windows XP Media Center Edition CDs and both of these are rejected. I think that when XP MCE was initially installed Service Pack 2 was installed by downloading it from the Microsoft site.


Seth

I had another go at re-installing IE7 but when this is done and you try to run it, it loads up a window for a fraction of a second then it disappears. I have once again reverted to IE6 - at least this loads the home page but will not let you navigate to any other page.


I think I am going round the twist with this whole issue!
 

tommyd

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
8
#11
SORTED!

Great news! I have managed to get it fixed. I downloaded a version of RegClean and ran a scan which detected hundreds of problems. I then decided to purchase it to fix the problems and it worked a treat! The PC is also a lot faster as well and IE6 works as it did before.

Thanks to everyone who suggested different things to try and I will certainly recommend this site to anyone with problems.

I read a report about RegClean before I bought it and the article said it was the best one the writer had tried. HOW RIGHT HE WAS!

Thanks Again!

 

tommyd

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
8
#12
SORRY!

The product was actually called RegCure not RegClean! I think I was just so excited to have sorted the problem that I got the name wrong.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#13
If you're up and running the way you want, then it's all good.

BUT...

Something isn't adding up, as reg cleaners don't fix anything.

The registry is like a road map to a highway grid (the grid being your files, settings, programs).

Any registry cleaner just deletes the road map instructions to the part of the highway that doesn't exist any longer (programs that have been removed, but the program's uninstaller didn't remove the registry entries that refer to the removed program).