• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Internet explorer

nuttyhaze

FPCH Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2008
PC Experience
Beginner
Hi I'm in need of help again, please.I recently changed from "freeserve" to Tiscali and it seems that somehow freeserve still is providing my internet explorer, as its showing in my top bar.:mad:
 

BeeCeeBee

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
its showing in my top bar
Do you mean the very top bar where it actually says Internet explorer?

I suspect that you downloaded IE7 from a tiscali site such as a welcome page. For years I had the wording Internet Explorer provided by .........

It is really nothing more than advertising. As long as your ISP connection is as it should be there is nothing to be concerned about. If it troubles you you can always uninstall IE7 and reinstall it directly from microsoft.
 

nuttyhaze

FPCH Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2008
PC Experience
Beginner
Thanks for your help,guys,if its nothing more than advertising, and wont effect the running of my comp. I might leave it alone, dont want to cause anymore probs. and as you know, I'm a real novice, so best left alone!!!
Happy new year to you all.
Haze
 
W

Wolfeymole

It's just locked in a registry key Haze, if your not happy interfering with the registry, and I don't blame you, then leave it alone.

Happy New Year to you too.
 

BeeCeeBee

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Good decision, it certainly isn't worth going into your registry over and even a reinstall will normally mean that you have to fool around with your settings.

It isn't a virus and it isn't malware so best leave it.
 

Goku

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Location
India
Hello Nutty. This site provides a utility to remove the branding. Please use that if you are annoyed with the problem and want to remove it without editing the registry.

Hope that helps. :)

-- Goku
 
W

Wolfeymole

With respect Goku I think you may have missed the word "manually" off the end of that last statement.

Using the zip file shown in that link will still alter the registry Haze.

If you are still uncomfortable using even that then don't bother.
 

Goku

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Location
India
Using the zip file shown in that link will still alter the registry Haze.

If you are still uncomfortable using even that then don't bother.
Well, venturing into the registry is what most people are afraid of. If the registry is left on its own, most Windows problems cannot be solved. Therefore, removing the branding through the utility is still a much safer bet than venturing into the registry and editing it manually, though it is not remotely "risky".

-- Goku
 

BeeCeeBee

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Gentlemen,

Shall we remember that this thread was started based on a concern that service from a previous ISP may still be operational. That concern has been allayed and the rest of this (while interesting,) is immaterial.

The member is happy and so should we all be! :)
 
Top Bottom