• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

I've lost options to view control panel

fsyozabil

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
PC Experience
Some Experience
I'm using Windows XP Home and I have previously viewed Control Panel in Classic View and Category view. I seem to have lost the option to view both and Control Panel just comes up in Category View(I think-lots of icons on a white background).:eek:
 

fsyozabil

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks Goku for your reply. I tried the link, but it didn't help. It sent me to the registry to delete foreclassiccontrol in the following location_ HKEY_CURRENT_USER \ Software \ Microsoft \Windows\CurrentVersion \ Policies \ Explorer. Here I didn't find the line to delete, and in the next location_
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ Software \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion \ Policies \ Explorer, I didn't find Explorer at all, only NonEnum and Ratings and System in Policies. I haven't the experience to mess around in the registry without guidance of an exact nature. If you can tell what might be wrong from what I have at these locations, I'll be very glad:confused:
 

Goku

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Location
India
OK, let us give this another try. Please download the attachment to this message and extract the archive. You should obtain a file labeled Fix Control Panel.reg. Double-click on the file and you will be asked whether you want to import the information into the registry or not. Answer Yes to the prompt and sometime later another dialog box will pop up informing you that the operation was successful. After you have done the above, reboot your computer. Are you able to switch to Classic View now?

-- Goku
 

Attachments

fsyozabil

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks again Goku, but still no good. I did find that when I went into the registry this time, I found in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE a eperate entry for Windows instead of clicking on Microsoft, and then I found in policies Explorer, but still without the suggested entry, only Browser Helper Object. :confused:
 

Goku

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Location
India
Fix Control Panel View

Hello Syoza, did you try the registry entry I attached in my previous message? If yes, then what were the results? If no, then try it and see if it fixes the problem or not.

If the previous fix did not work for you, then please download the archive attached to this message and extract it. If you are unsure on how to open the archive, use the instructions from herehttp://support.microsoft.com/kb/306531 and continue. Within the archive, you will find two files namely Force Classic View.reg and Fix Control Panel.reg. First, run the file labeled Force Classic View.reg and reboot the computer. Access your Control Panel. Is it any different now?

If the changes are not implemented even after you have rebooted the computer, then run the file labeled Fix Control Panel.reg and reboot your computer again. That should probably fix the issue.

Another thing I want to ask is did you change anything at all before you first encountered the issue? Post back the results and the required information as soon as possible.

-- Goku
 

Attachments

fsyozabil

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
PC Experience
Some Experience
will try your latest help

Yes Goku I did try the registry entry you attached in your last message but it didn't help. I will try the archive you've attached to this message, but I'll have to do it tomorrow . I think I probably did something to lose the option on viewing the control panel, but I really don't know what! :rolleyes:
 

fsyozabil

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
PC Experience
Some Experience
Problem Solved!

Thank you Goku. Your final link to the jason slater site proved a success. I decided to try that before the longer task of scanning for malware. I simply had to change a setting in the folder options menu to show common tasks. I'm very glad that you took the time to go through the different possible solutions until we arrived at the right one. Thank you again. :D
 

Goku

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Location
India
Glad you got it resolved. Feel free to ask any more doubts or queries you may have. :)

-- Goku
 

fsyozabil

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2008
PC Experience
Some Experience
system restore needed

Goku, I couldn't connect to the internet today, and when I unplugged the modem, the PC restarted, and a box told me to check anything I'd done recently, so I thought about the changes I'd made to the registry, and I selected system restore to a week ago and now I can connect. I mention this just as feedback for you to know, in case it happens again to someone else. :)
 

Goku

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Location
India
Thank you very much for the alert Syoza. I am sure that information will come in useful some time. :)

-- Goku
 
Top Bottom