• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Laptop Memory options

joddle

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Location
Spain
PC Experience
I have a Dell 6320 laptop which is running pretty well although it only has 4gb of ram installed as two 2gb cards. On my desktop machines I need to install put memory modules in matched pairs, but as the laptop often only has one slot filled this perhaps is not so important in this type of machine!

My question therefore is; Is it possible to remove one of the 2gb cards and replace with a 4gb card to give me a total of 6gb of ram (i.e. unmatched cards) - I would like really to replace both with 4gb but that means junking two good 2gb cards.

The machine is supposed to have a max of 8gb of ram but I have also read in several places that despite what Dell says, it is possible to load 16gb on the machine, but as this is an expensive option to go wrong I am not going to try it unless I can be sure it would work OK. - One option may be to get a single 8gb card and put it in with one of the 2gb cards to see if indeed the machine can run with above 8gb specified - but that will depend on if it is essential to have matched ram modules.

Any thoughts please!
 

Rustys

Joined
Aug 28, 2017
Location
Here since I am not there
PC Experience
Very Experienced
What Operating system and Version?
32 or 64 bit?

As far as matching the GB no. Using a stick that is not made or matching the other that is in the system then yes there could be issues.
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
I looked at the M-Board specs for your laptop.
The specified M-B that I found suggested 8GB max.
If this is the case then if you put more in - it would not be recognised.

If you put your specific details into this Crucial site this will confirm - click here
You can input the details or download the scanner on the right hand side [ or both ]
[ you need to agree to the terms and conditions ]
 

joddle

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Jan 5, 2011
Location
Spain
PC Experience
Thanks for the above. I am using w10 64bit with all the latest upgrades and updates. The machine has an i5 processor.

I am aware that both Dell and Crucial say the max is 8gb - but one can find many of these machines for sale already loaded with 16gb and on the web there are several forums where people have stated they are using 16gb without any issues. So why do Dell say one thing and people discover something else?

My second point is that at the moment I don't want to waste too much money on making all my old memory redundant - so is it viable to add just one 4gb chip to replace one of the 2gb modules - or do I need to replace both? - in which case I will have 8gb but also two redundant 2gb cards!
 

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
If you use the Crucial scan [ download ] it should indicate if the RAM needs to be a matched pair.

It is good practice to have a matched pair of modules installed.
If the RAM is not matched then the system will run slower.
2 x 2GB is better than 1 x 4GB
This may not be noticeable - it obviously varies from machine to machine.

If you are going to up-grade then you may as well do it properly.

I have looked again and cannot find anywhere that says that you can go above 8GB with your machine.
 
Last edited:

KenB

Administrator
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Wirral UK
Depends on the Motherboard that is fitted.
It is the M-B that decides the max RAM

Download Belarc from here - click here
Install and run it.

It will analyse the hardware on your laptop.

What does it say under "Main Circuit Board" ?
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom