• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

LG External Dvd Writer issues

bethany

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
15
#1
Hello, I was wondering whether anyone might be able to help me. I am not even entirely sure whether the issue is with my DVD rewriter or my computer! Also, please excuse my computer illiteracy in advance!!

Anyway, I've had an external DVD-RW drive (GSA-E20N) for about a year or so now and it's always worked fine, but suddenly about a week ago the computer stopped seeing it. The drive doesn't appear in My computer and I can't access it in any way (at least it already didn't autoplay things, so I don't think I can access it. It still opens and closes and sounds like it is working fine in itself when I put a disc into it but no programs seem to see the drive at all). If I unplug the drive then plug it in again I get a message saying "USB device not recognised" and it seems as though the drivers for the device have vanished, but I have tried to re-install what I think are the drivers (the only related cd I can still find with a driver folder on it) and while they install fine and say to reboot for the installation to be complete, it makes no difference and the computer still doesn't see the DVD drive and still doesn't think it has the drivers.

Thanks in advance if anyone can be of any help!

I've also looked for copies of the drivers online (not sure why that would make a difference, but anyway. I guess in case I re-installed the wrong thing or something! Though surely the CDs that came with the device only have the drivers for the device on them) but have only found sites where you have to register to download them, and registration on such sites has never worked (I have not recieved a registation e-mail). I also tried the LG site which seems to malfunction when I try to get into the support areas.

Once again, thank you so much if anyone can shed any light on the matter :). Oh, and if it makes a difference, my computer runs windows XP.
 
Last edited:
W

Wolfeymole

#4
Have you tried the drive in any other usb ports you may have Beth?

Also try uninstalling it in Device Manager, reboot then install the driver then re-attach the drive.
 

AdvancedSetup

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
819
Location
34° 12' 35" N, 118° 29' 21" W
#5
Please try the external drive on another computer if you can. If not then this is a long shot but aside from some time it won't cost you anything.

Try removing any policies, if that does not work then try scanning for and removing Malware.


It could be a policy setting, possibly caused by Malware as well.

Please give this a try and see how it works. You will need to restart your computer after applying this.

Copy and Paste the contents below into NOTEPAD.
Then save the file and in the Save as type: choose "All Files" and save it to your Desktop with a name like RemovePolicies.reg
Then double-click the file and it should ask you to save the information.
Click Yes and restart your computer.

Code:
[COLOR=BROWN]
REGEDIT4


[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{D82BE2B0-5764-11D0-A96E-00C04FD705A2}]
@="IShellFolderBand"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{D82BE2B0-5764-11D0-A96E-00C04FD705A2}\InProcServer32]
@=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
  00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,53,00,48,00,\
  45,00,4c,00,4c,00,33,00,32,00,2e,00,64,00,6c,00,6c,00,00,00
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"NoSaveSettings"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
"SystemTray"="SysTray.Exe"

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\StuckRects2\]

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\StreamMRU\]

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Streams\Desktop\]

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Explorer Bars\{32683183-48a0-441b-a342-7c2a440a9478}\BarSize\]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"NoBandCustomize"=dword:00000000
"NoMovingBands"=dword:00000000
"NoCloseDragDropBands"=dword:00000000
"NoSetTaskbar"=dword:00000000
"NoToolbarsOnTaskbar"=dword:00000000
"NoSaveSettings"=dword:00000000
"NoToolbarsOnTaskbar"=dword:00000000
"NoSetTaskbar"=dword:00000000
"NoActiveDesktop"=dword:00000000
"ClassicShell"=dword:00000000
"LockTaskbar"=dword:00000000
"NoTrayContextMenu"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Group Policy Objects\LocalUser\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
"NoCloseDragDropBands"=dword:00000000
"NoMovingBands"=-

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Explorer Bars\{32683183-48a0-441b-a342-7c2a440a9478}\]
"BarSize"=-
"Media Band"=""

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
"Shell"="explorer.exe"
"Userinit"="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\userinit.exe,"

[/COLOR]


.


If removing policies and rebooting does not help then try this cleanup routine.


Your computer could be infected with Malware.

  • Malware is software designed to infiltrate or damage a computer system without the owner's informed consent.
    It is a combination of the words malicious and software.
    The expression is a general term used by computer professionals to mean a variety of forms of hostile, intrusive, or annoying software or program code.


  • Required Cleanup Steps
    1. Run a Temporary files cleaner
    2. Disable the Spybot Search & Destroy TEA TIMER if enabled
    3. Run 2 Anti-Malware scanners
    4. Run an Online Anti-Virus / Anti-Malware Scanner
    5. Clear out old System Restore points
    6. If continued Malware type activity is present you may be asked to post a TrendMicro™ HijackThis™ Log file

The reason to run multiple scanners is to ensure that no single scanner is missing something.
The time it takes will vary depending on your system and your internet connection speed.
Typically the SUPERAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes scanners will take between 10 to 90 minutes.
The ESET online scan should take between 1 to 3 hours.
In most cases, these scans will suffice to clean and disinfect your computer.
Heavily infected systems or slower PCs can take much longer to scan and clean.

For best results print the following instructions and bookmark this Web page
To keep this guide printer-friendly, use your cursor to highlight the contents below.
From your browser select File - Print and in the printer dialog box under "Print range"
click the Selection choice to print out these instructions for removal of malware.​



__________________________________________________​

STEP 1

  • Disable Spybot Search & Destroys' TEA TIMER: (if installed)
    1. Run Spybot-S&D in Advanced Mode.
    2. If it is not already set to do this Go to the Mode menu select "Advanced Mode"
    3. On the left hand side, Click on Tools
    4. Then click on the Resident Icon in the List
    5. Uncheck "Resident TeaTimer" and OK any prompts.
    6. Restart your computer.
__________________________________________________​



STEP 2
  • Follow these instructions carefully.
  • Download ATF-Cleaner from Snapfiles.com to remove un-needed temporary files from your computer that may contain malware.
  • You can also download it from Majorgeeks.com
  • When you run ATF-Cleaner, check the items as shown below for Main.
  • For FireFox, be sure to click on the FireFox tab on top and check the items as shown below for FireFox
  • NOTE: If you don't have FireFox or Opera installed then they will be grayed out and can be ignored
  • Then click on "Empty Selected".
.

__________________________________________________​


STEP 3
  • Install and run the free version (not the Professional version) of SUPERAntiSpyware from SUPERAntiSpyware.com
    • Accept any prompts to allow SUPERAntiSpyware to install the latest rules and infection definition files.
    • You do not have to send them your e-mail address, just click next.
    • You can leave the automated check for updates on.
    • You can uncheck "Send a diagnostic report to research center" if you don't want to send the information.
    • DO NOT allow SUPERAntiSpyware to protect your Home Page settings.
    • On the Top Left select the Scan your computer button.
    • Make sure there is a CHECK MARK on all Fixed Drives.
    • Click "Perform a Complete Scan". Click "Next" to Repair issues found and reboot the computer when prompted to do so.
__________________________________________________​



STEP 4
  • Install and run Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware from Malwarebytes - (direct download)
    • Accept all defaults for the installer
    • Allow the program to update the definitions
    • Click on the Quick Scan and click Next.
    • If any items are found allow it to clean them and then Reboot your computer.
__________________________________________________​


STEP 5
  • Run an online scan with ESET from Free Virus Scan: Use ESET's Online Antivirus Scanner
  • You may have to disable your Firewall to operate this Online Scanner
    • You must use Internet Explorer for this online scan. FireFox, Opera, etc will not work for this scan.
    • Accept the terms and click "Start".
    • Once the scanner is ready, check "Remove found threats" AND "Scan unwanted applications".
    • Click "Start" to begin the scan.
    • When completed restart your computer
__________________________________________________​


Make sure your internet firewall security is enabled, and then please return to Free PC Help and tell us how the computer seems to be operating.
At that time, you will receive instructions to assist you in removing malicious programs from your Add/Remove program list if warranted.

If required this is the download link for TrendMicro™ HijackThis™
Unless instructed to by the Technician helping you then do not download this tool.

Once you and the Technician agree that your system appears to be clean then you should delete all your System Restore points and recreate a new one.
Please follow the instructions here
How to turn off and turn on System Restore in Windows XP
How to turn off and turn on System Restore in Windows Vista

 
Last edited:

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#6
To uninstall from Device Manager in XP Right click My Computer. Select Properties. Select Hardware and click on Device Manager.

Click on the + sign next to USB Devices. Look for Universal Serial Bus Controllers or Other Devices and remove or uninstall it.

Remove ALL USB devices and restart the computer.
 

bethany

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
15
#7
Oh dear, I now seem to have posed a bigger problem for myself! Firstly about the DVD drive - I tried it on this laptop and exactly the same thing happens here so it seems that the issue is with the drive itself?

Secondly, I went and did this before trying the DVD drive on my laptop:

Copy and Paste the contents below into NOTEPAD.
Then save the file and in the Save as type: choose "All Files" and save it to your Desktop with a name like RemovePolicies.reg
Then double-click the file and it should ask you to save the information.
Click Yes and restart your computer.
And now my computer won't reboot. It gets to the page where I click on my user account, then says "loading settings" and shows the background for my computer for a moment (but not any programs on it), then immediately says "logging off" and goes back to the initial account log on screen. I think I just followed the instructions, but seemingly I did something wrong!

Thanks so much for everyone's help. I don't know how I seem to have gotten myself into even more of a mess with it though!
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#8
Try this Bethany:

As soon as you turn on the computer, start tapping F8. A menu will appear in which you can use the arrow keys to choose "Last Known Good Configuration", then press "Enter".
 

bethany

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
15
#9
Try this Bethany:

As soon as you turn on the computer, start tapping F8. A menu will appear in which you can use the arrow keys to choose "Last Known Good Configuration", then press "Enter".
Thanks! I feel like I am moaning as nothing seems to work! Sorry!

Anyway, I tried this, but still no joy. Maybe it thinks it's still loading alright as it doesn't freeze or anything, it just says it's loading then immediately says it's logging off...?

I also tried starting in safe mode and, well, you get the idea - same story!
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#10
A System Restore should get the computer up and running again. It's easy to do and won't affect your personal data:

From the F8 menu, choose "Safe Mode With A Command Prompt". Now type in
%systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe and press enter. Choose a date just prior to when you did the registry change.
 

bethany

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
15
#11
:( It isn't going to a command prompt when I choose that option - it goes straight to the "to begin click your username" page (after listing a lot of things that say something like "multi drive partition sytem 32" or something along those lines)...
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#12
I've never seen that happen in my many years as a computer tech Bethany.

Are you sure you used "Safe Mode With A Command Prompt" and not "Safe Mode" or "Safe Mode With Networking"?

Please try it one more time.
 

bethany

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
15
#14
I've tried it again. I'm definitely pressing enter on the command prompt option. It does go to a black screen for a moment after I press this (either one that just says Safe mode in the corners, or one with a big long list of things in command type font), but it doesn't ever show a command prompt, just moves on to the choose yor account screen. I could very easily be soing something else wrong, but I am definitely entering on the command prompt option. :confused: Sorry to cause so much bother!
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#15
It's no bother. Thanks for trying again.

What is the make and model of the PC and do you have an XP cd?
 

bethany

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
15
#16
Thanks so much for trying to help! It's a Hewlett Packard Pavillion t250.uk, and sadly no I don't have an XP cd.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#17
Do you think it's possible to get an XP cd? Perhaps from a friend or neighbor?

If not, do you have the HP Recovery cd's?

Do you have or need any personal data such as pictures and documents stored on the computer?
 

bethany

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
15
#18
I could possibly borrow an XP CD from someone though not right away of course. And I should have the hp discs somewhere if I can find them, though I am not sure whether I will be able to find them! There are some documents that I could have done with not losing if it were at all possible.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#19
Well let's hold off before having to resort to the cd's, as Advanced Setup may have another method to fix the registry.

Your computer also has a built in recovery option that we will discuss if necessary.

Hmmm, from the F8 menu, try "Enable VGA Mode".
 

bethany

FPCH Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
15
#20
I'm guessing VGA mode shouldn't go to the same "welcome" account page? I see a recurring theme in what the computer is liking to do here! Again, I get a start up page, similar to safe mode (though safe mode had options to log on as me or as administrator), and again, it says it's "loading your personal settings..." then "logging off" and is back to the screen again.