• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

local area network

postie1

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
9
#1
First of all would like to say hi to all the members, as this is my first post.Havin problems with pc,what happens is i cant connect to internet,it is not the connection as i run my other pc from it,it seems to be my lan connection. It states there is no connection,i tried repairing it then it says doesnt know ip address.ive done all the usual stuff like disable lan,turn modem off,back on,waited 30 secs.Basically my comp isnt registring with the connection.i really hope some 1 can help me,thanks for your time
 
W

Wolfeymole

#2
Welcome to Free PC Help postie

Enjoy your stay with us.

Networking is not my forte unfortunately but I would ask that you call back shortly, or hang around and I feel your issue will be answered very soon.
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#3
Hello Postie.

It sounds like there may be a problem with the network card on your computer.

Right click on My Computer and choose Manage>Device Manager. Click on the plus sign beside Network Adapters. Right click on your Network Adapter and choose Uninstall. After it's uninstalled, right click anywhere on the list and choose Scan For Hardware Changes to reinstall the network adapter. Does your internet work now?

If not, go back to Device Manager and post back with what is listed under Network Adapters, Unknown Devices, or anything that has a "!" or "?" in front if it.

If Device Manager looks ok, then we can check your TCP/IP settings. But let's see how the above works out first.
 

postie1

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
9
#4
Seth said:
Hello Postie.

It sounds like there may be a problem with the network card on your computer.

Right click on My Computer and choose Manage>Device Manager. Click on the plus sign beside Network Adapters. Right click on your Network Adapter and choose Uninstall. After it's uninstalled, right click anywhere on the list and choose Scan For Hardware Changes to reinstall the network adapter. Does your internet work now?

If not, go back to Device Manager and post back with what is listed under Network Adapters, Unknown Devices, or anything that has a "!" or "?" in front if it.

If Device Manager looks ok, then we can check your TCP/IP settings. But let's see how the above works out first.
thanks for the help,i tried what you said and still the same.ive gone to the lan settings and clicked on details..physical address-00-11-11-27-a8-eb
ip address-169.254.225.244
subnet mask-255.255.0.0
i tried to repair but no joy,under network adaptors it says intel(r) pro/100 ve network connection,hope you can help me,,much apperciated
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#6
The 169...IP means that either your computer is not requesting an IP address or your modem (or router) is not sending one to the computer.

Are you using a router, router/modem combination, or just a modem?

Is your network card built into the main board, or is an add on card? Is there two high speed ports on the back of the computer or just one?

If you haven't already, try a known good ethernet cable.

If you're on standard phone or cable DSL, then right click on your Local Area Connection and choose Properties. Highlight Internet Protocol TCP/IP and choose properties. DNS and IP should be set to auto. Click on Alternate Configuration. There should be a check on Automatic Private IP Address.

To confirm, you uninstalled the network adapter right? Device Manager should show the network adapter as working properly. Please confirm.
 

postie1

FPCH Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
9
#7
Seth said:
The 169...IP means that either your computer is not requesting an IP address or your modem (or router) is not sending one to the computer.

Are you using a router, router/modem combination, or just a modem?

Is your network card built into the main board, or is an add on card? Is there two high speed ports on the back of the computer or just one?

If you haven't already, try a known good ethernet cable.

If you're on standard phone or cable DSL, then right click on your Local Area Connection and choose Properties. Highlight Internet Protocol TCP/IP and choose properties. DNS and IP should be set to auto. Click on Alternate Configuration. There should be a check on Automatic Private IP Address.

To confirm, you uninstalled the network adapter right? Device Manager should show the network adapter as working properly. Please confirm.
Thanks again for the advice,managed to get connectrion through lan,it seems fixed on that front,im lacking in the intenet explorer,cant seem to get on line,yet lan states i have internet,n e help would be grateful....would like to wish all members a happy xmas
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#8
Merry xmas to you as well.

What is your IP address now? If it's not 169... and you still can't get online, try another browser such as FireFox from www.mozilla.com.

Also go to start>Run, type in cmd and press ok. At the black screen, type in:

ping www.yahoo.com

The site made the above into a link with an underline so don't let that confuse you.

You should get 4 replies with numbers and no time outs. This step is important as it will confirm that you are actually connected to the internet.