• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Message forum access problem

BackwoodsMom

FPCH New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2006
Messages
4
#1
I am trying to access a message board (chfweb.net) but get a notice that says :

"Login Form
ERROR: Insufficient Privileges
Anonymous users are not allowed to create topics.
You are not logged in. This could be due to one of several reasons:
Your cookie has expired, and you need to login to renew your cookie.
You do not have permission to access the requested resource as an anonymous user. You must login to gain permission.

Login Want to register?
Password: Forgot password
Use cookies
If you're using a public terminal such as a computer in a library, school, or Internet cafe, it is recommended that you uncheck this option for greater security.
If you leave this option selected then you will be automatically logged-into the forum the next time you visit. "

This comes up even when I just click on the "login" icon on the site. I am registered and my screen name is listed on the bottom of the forum page as members online. I have tried several options and the administrator of the site has even worked on the problem. He can access through my account on his pc but I can't get to it on mine.

Any help?
Thanks
 

Santa

FPCH Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
20
Location
Runcorn, UK
#2
Hi
Have you tried deleting your cookies? (Start | Control Panel | Internet Options | Delete Cookies...) Do this and then try to log in on chfweb.net again.
Hope this helps,
Liam.
 

BackwoodsMom

FPCH New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2006
Messages
4
#3
Thanks, Liam, but I've tried that. We have the cookie setting such that when the web browser is shut down, the cookies are deleted.
-Ruth
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#4
Hi everyone;

I'm not sure what I can offer but it might help others to know just a few things first. The information you supplied so far is good but a little more might help.

Are you using Windows XP? XP has a built in firewall that might be causing a problem.

Do you have another firewall installed? I have seen this problem before with other third party firewalls. ETrust comes to mind as of late. Once it was disabled logon problems were solved. It did have settings for cookies and sessions cookies.

Are you using Internet Explorer 6 as a web browser?

Are you using a cookie manager? This would save some cookies even if you chose to delete from IE Options.

If you use IE and MANUALLY deleted cookies AND temporary internet files did you also delete all Off Line content when prompted?

Have you checked your security settings in IE?
Make sure your settings are not set to high.
That is make sure cookies are allowed at an appropiate level.

Do not confuse Clear History at shutdown with delete cookies. They are not the same thing. Delete cookies and temporary internet files as well as Off Line content manually from within IE options.

Santa is right. Start with the basics. Properly delete content first.
Then check all of the IE settings.
Then consider other program settings.

Antivirus Suites.
Firewalls.
Cookie managers.
etc.

Post back with more detailed info on what you have tried and what other programs you have installed.

If you need more info on how to perform steps perhaps we can also help you with that too.

Eventually though it my be a problem with the site server. That we can't help you with. But there is much more to try first.

RandyL
 

BackwoodsMom

FPCH New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2006
Messages
4
#5
I"ll try to give a bit more info.

We use XP, IE 6.0.

We do have an ETrust Firewall. It is on but the Windows one is off. We have noticed that it ETrust affects some programs, i.e. Rosetta Stone. (The Internet lock cannot be engaged to run Rosetta Stone.) I have tried disabling ETrust firewall but I still can't post.

I've played around with the cookies settings, both in IE and ETrust, to try to access the posting option on the site.

Each night that my dh shuts down the computer he manually deletes cookies and temp. files. I"m not sure about the Off Line content.

What problems have you seen with ETrust?

Thanks!
-Ruth
 

RandyL

Administrator
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
4,878
Location
USA, Nebraska
PC Experience
Very Experienced
#6
Hello again:

Thanks for the additional information. I think it does help narrow down the issue but I don't think I can help you with it.

The mere fact that out of the blue I asked if you used ETrust Firewall and you said yes leads me to believe that is indeed the problem.

As I said before, not being able to log on to some forum sites with this firewall seems to be a problem. Obviously not a problem with this forum site though.

You said that you "TRIED TO DISABLE" the firewall. Did you disable it? Or did you just hide the system tray icon?

I don't use ETrust firewall but have checked out their settings from their very poor support pages. The one single person that replied to my emails and forum posts reported back that disabling the firewall fixed the problem.

I still think the firewall may be the problem but it is possible it is some other program. But since I can't sit down at your computer I can only guess.

Since I suspect a problem between eztrust and the forum you are trying to access I would deal with them directly. I know you said you dealt with the forum techs already but did you tell them you used the ETrust Firewall?

You could also try using the Live Chat with Tech Support (Free!) for your firewall.
http://home3.ca.com/Support/TechSupport.aspx

As a last resort for trouble shooting you could try disabling or uninstalling all security programs (antivirus, firewall, popup blockers, host files, active x blockers, etc). Then try to access the site. If you can access it then one by one reinstall the programs untill you come accross a problem.

This last step is an extreme draconian measure which could leave you temporarily extremely vulnerable.

In closing I still suspect your firewall but I could be completely wrong. After all I haven't got much feedback on this issue.

Good luck for now;
RandyL
 

BackwoodsMom

FPCH New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2006
Messages
4
#7
Thanks, Randy, for your help. I think we may have a friend come up and check on our computer. (He used to work for Microsoft.) Perhaps he can find some "hidden" things that are affecting our pc, including the firewall.

Thanks again for your patience! :)
Ruth