• Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

Monitor wont switch on (Solved)

PEV

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
PC Experience
Some Experience
I run windows XP and an old monitor!
For the 2nd time the monitor didnt switch on from the on switch on the monitor.
I have overcome the problem by. I checked all connections which are ok but I again overcame the problem by switching of my desctop PC at the box and then on again, whereafter the monitor then can be turned on at the switch.
Normally I turn the monitor off each time I close windows down but suppose a way round it is to never turn the monitor off?
I originally thought that the monitor was dying but seems strange that problem is overcome by turning on and off at the tower?
Any ideas please?
Ray
 

Ray1000

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Location
South Yorkshire UK
PC Experience
Hi Ray,

I have a master switch on the desk that controls the power to everything, so I have never had to use the switch on the monitor ... it is permanently on.

Having said that I have recently had a similar problem ... listed elsewhere ... my tower will start up properly, indicated by the windows tune playing, but the screen will have been blank from the point a few seconds in when the Microsoft Inc screen has finished.

To solve it I need to disconnect and reconnect the VGA cable while the tower is still running ... the screen instantly springs into action.

Presumably yours is completely blank from the start, or is it that you turn the monitor on later and haven't yet noticed that it starts, then stops.

Ray
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
I am in a similar situation to Ray, I have a surge protection multi socket on the end of a short lead, the multi socket has its own on off switch which shuts everything down once the computer is off. I never leave power on to the computer overnight or at any time when I am away from home due to the computers power supply is still active, though the computer is shut down. I once found the power supply had blown while I was away, which also blew the motherboard making it an expensive repair. Besides which, turning all off at the end of the day saves me a surprising £20.00 a quarter on my electricity bill.

Nev.
 

PEV

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
PC Experience
Some Experience
Thanks for your input Ray.
What is the VGA cable?
I find that when the problem occurs (twice so far) the only way to get the monitor screen to come on is to tun off ar the towe and then on again and it boots up after the standard message that windows was not closed down properly.
As I think I have said I now keep the monitor switched on so it goes on and off when I turn off the PC correctly from the screen prompts after clicking the 'turn off' prompt at the Start menu. Si I'm still puzzled why it happens but seem to have found a way round it.
Oh and I really must think about getting a flat screen monitor to replace the acient one I have any suggestions? -- I heard you can pick them up from 'freecycle' etc?
Ray
 

Ray1000

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Location
South Yorkshire UK
PC Experience
The VGA cable is the multi pin signal cable connecting the video card or the motherboard at the back of tower to the monitor.

You can disconnect it at either end, whichever is the easiest ... it is a better option than switching the tower off, providing it has the desired effect of bringing the screen back to life.

Ray
 

Ray1000

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Location
South Yorkshire UK
PC Experience
Ray,

You've unwittingly halved my problem while posting yours :) ... when my monitor has failed to start I've been dragging the tower out and removing and replacing the VGA cable ... I now find, that like yours, it has the same effect simply switching the monitor power button off and back on. It otherwise remains a mystery:(

Ray
 

Ray1000

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Location
South Yorkshire UK
PC Experience
.... well it did just the once .... now I'm back to the VGA cable method as the monitor button wouldn't do anything the next time it failed to start.
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
Hi to both, a little puzzling is this and confusing now as I am now talking to two Ray's :D

However, Ray PEV has said he is still using an old CRT type monitor and to be honest a new flat screen would possibly solve his problem.

Is yours also a CRT type Ray 2000?

The older CRT types do generate more heat, which eventually does change component values over time, therefore making things unstable.
Used to be a real problem with the older CRT televisions did that, and if I may show my age, when TV's were full of glass bottles all glowing orange, the heat build up was even worse. I have found electronics resistors have really wandered well away from their original values in those older all valved telly's.

Any way, a new LCD flat screen monitor will give a much clearer picture. Unfortunately, they are no longer as cheap as they once were, so a well looked after second hand one may be worth looking into.

Nev.
 

Ray1000

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Location
South Yorkshire UK
PC Experience
Thanks Nev,

Mine is a 17" LCD flat screen ... Samsung SyncMaster 172v

It fails to go beyond the "Microsoft Corporation" screen about 1 in 4 times. I understand from Kernel on the other thread this is the point at which the OS loads the video driver and sets the display resolution to what was chosen.

I have tried rolling back the driver from its 2008 version to 2006 but it made no difference.

The tower and its video card were only next door before I started using it and it never had this problem ... having said that it was coupled to a different monitor, slightly older, and with a different type cable ... the one with an extra pin at the side of the 15 standard pins (DVI?)

Ray

 
Last edited:

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
Hi Ray, have you looked at the refresh rate, the normal setting is 60HZ, is it set at that?
Also have you looked at changing the resolution and tried that?

Nev.
 

Ray1000

FPCH Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2013
Location
South Yorkshire UK
PC Experience
Hi Nev,

I think I've tried all the screen resolutions that are the right shape (squarish) it's currently on 1152 x 864 and it just started with no problems.

The two refresh options are 75 and 70 ... it's on 75Hz at the moment.

It could easily fail to go beyond the Microsoft Cooperation screen the next time I start it ... it seems totally random.

Ray
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
Hi again Ray, have you tried the option of 70Hz? I am a little surprised at it being a full fifteen Hz above the usual.
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
Good to hear Ray, that at least is one problem sorted, till we hear anything from the other Ray.

Running at the wrong or too high a frequency is quite often a cause of this sort of trouble.

Nev.
 

PEV

Free PC Help Contributor
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
PC Experience
Some Experience
Guys
The problem for me is solved as my dear son went out and bought a flat screen monitor from a car boot for a fiver which fixed things and the old monitor has now gone to that place in the sky where all old fashioned monotors go ==== local tip/recycle heaven!
Thanks as usual to all who took time to advise me.
Ray Pev
 

Plastic Nev

Deceased - sadly missed
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
Lancashire
Thanks for the update Ray, I can mark this as solved now for both Ray's.
You may now find that the room is a bit cooler now as well, without the heat from the old CRT monitor.

Nev.
 
Top Bottom