• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to Free PC Help, a free PC Help forum to get help with your computer problems.

    Free PC Help is a community that offers free computer help and support for all users, all ages, worldwide.

    In order to start asking questions or contribute on someone else's post you will first need to register. Don't worry - it's quick and easy and once you have registered you will have instant access to the entire forum.

    If you do decide to join the forums you will not have the option to send Private Messages [ PMs ] or add a Signature until you have made 5 posts or more. This is an attempt to try to stop Spammers using the PM system or adding links to their Signature.

New-built PC won't reboot or boot properly

FatPat5

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
6
#1
I built a PC on tuesday (when I got all the parts) as my old one was slow, and just slowly going down hill. Anyway, these are the specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
Asus P5B SE Motherboard
Corsair 2048MB TwinX XMS2 6400 DDR2 Memory (2x 1GB)
Samsung 500GB SATA II 300 Hard Disk Drive 16MB cache 7200rpm oem
XpertVision Nvidia 8800GT 512MB
Lite-on LH-20A1S-11C SATA Retail 20x DL DVD +/-R/RW RAM
Atrix 9001C4 Black Gaming case 520W PSU
Windows Vista Home Premium

I also added 2 IDE harddisks, and a USB slot pci card to it.


My problem is this: basically, the computer does not reboot. If you alter something in the bios and click "save and exit", for example, the monitor will go off, but the PC will keep running, even though it is not doing anything. The same goes if you reboot Windows, in that case, all the "Windows is restarting" screens will come, and when its time for the computer to reboot, the monitor just goes off again, and the PC is still going. At that point, you have to switch it off at the button, and then on again.
Also, sometimes, when you turn it on, the monitor just stays off, and the PC is again on, but not doing anything (you can see that because the keyboard lights won't go on, and it is not proceeding to load up any of the other devices). Or, once the Windows Vista loading bar has come up, when that has finished it will do this thing.

This is really annoying, and I can't believe it is something fundamental that is wrong, as once it is actually running, everything is fine. I can play games, go online, everything. I was thinking it could either be the motherboard, the actual case or the PSU, but I hope it is something not too expensive, as I am unsure about whether this is covered by warranty, and as I am on a bit of a budget (I am a student).

Please, can anyone help me here?

EDIT: I just thought of another thing. Everytime I boot, I get a message saying "Overclocking Failed! Please enter setup and re-configure your system"; it then allows me to press F1 for setup, or F2 for default values, and if I press F2 it will go on to load Windows, and works, but I don't know if the motherboard is maybe then not running at what it should be running? The Asus board is overclocked (by ASUS, not me) so it can handle a FSB of 1333. What could be wrong there? Could it be related to my other issue?
 

Seth

FPCH Long Term Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
2,268
Location
Canada
Operating System
Windows Vista - Home Premium
#2
Hi Pat.

It's one of those problems that could be caused by just about any device.

I think it would be a good idea to start with the overclocking clue. Try going into the bios and disabling anything you find in regards to overclocking.

Also go to the following site and confirm that the ram is compatible with the mobo:

www.crucial.com
 

FatPat5

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
6
#3
I will have a look at the BIOS later, but I did now go onto the corsair website, and it does not seem to have my motherboard in their list. It does, however, have the standard P5B board, which seems to be the same as mine, except it will only support a FSB of 1066.
 

FatPat5

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
6
#5
Yes it is. I got it from here: http://microdirect.co.uk/(21206)Asus-Motherboard-P5BSE-P965-LGA775-Core2.aspx
 
W

Wolfeymole

#6
Have you tried to take it any higher than 1333 mhz?
I'd take it back to the 1066 setting mate.
 

FatPat5

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
6
#7
I don't have experience with overclocking (never had the nerve to try it). 1333 is what Asus set it to. I would not know how to set it back to 1066. Also, the processor has a FSB of 1333, will it still work if it was de-tuned?
 
W

Wolfeymole

#8
Did you do what Seth suggested in Post 2?
I agree your right in Asus overclocking the board, but why on earth they would do so is beyond me.
Hang around mate and allow others to comment further please.
 

FatPat5

FPCH Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
6
#9
I suppose they were trying to make some money cheaply without going for more expensive chipsets. I just bought it because it was within my price-range, and it supported an FSB of 1333, and ata-133 whereas the others only had ata-100, and an FSB of 1066. I wanted the most speed I could get for my old IDE drives. I hope there is nothing wrong with the board, it would be a pain to remove it now.